We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Awful Place!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Magic Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awful Place!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel is the worst that my family and I have stayed at so far on our travel around Costa Rica. This hotel needs to be renovated! The shower curtain has several big holes in it, the bathroom door is rusted, the moldings in the corners of the room needs to be replaced and the final shocker is that their are tiny ants running all over the room. (Disgusting!)

Room Tip: If you decide to stay her for some reasons, choose a room on the 3rd floor, because you can all see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonya531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    272
    77
    18
    12
See reviews for
170
291
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PNW
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed for three nights at Magic Mountain. We received a warm greeting at check-in along with a welcome drink. All the rooms face the volcano and the hotel is well designed. The pool and wet bar area look nice from the room balcony. I spent quite a bit of time in the wet bar. They have a happy hour each day from 5 to 6. Santos at the wet bar was very friendly and took good care of us. You can have food ordered to the web bar as well. Daily breakfast was pretty good with omelette station being the highlight. Since the breakfast area is semi open there are flies who conglomerate around the cut fruits. Not surprisingly there were not many takers for the fruit platter. The front desk manager is a hard and dedicated worker who seems to be there all the time.

On day two it rained in the afternoon like crazy. It was neat to sit in the wet bar with a drink in hand and see the rain drops bounce off the pool. Once the rain stopped and we were walking back we see people in other rooms taking pictures. We thought we were the celebrities only to realize that the clouds had opened up and Arenal was in full view. What a view! We could actually see steam coming out of the crater. The viewing lasted only a few hours before the clouds came back in but we got lucky as we later learned that it had been two weeks since the last sighting.

Room Tip: 1) Wifi signal is better close to the balcony. 2) There is a laundry shop right next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank searp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed in July in a standard double room for our family of 4 (2 teenagers). Clean, nicely decorated, large bathroom, hairdryer, shampoo/conditioner, room safe, TV, Fridge and Coffee Maker (comes with 1 packet of coffee....additional packets are $1.00 each). I believe that all of the rooms (not a huge hotel), face the volcano. The weather never let us see the view from the room :-(. There is a pool which was too cold for our taste, but alongside that is a large hot tub/pool that you can sit next to the bar for drinks. They have Happy Hour for certain drinks 2 x 4000 colones (about $8), but look at the menu as some drinks are much less even without the happy hour. A breakfast buffet was included, which had, coffee/juice, cereal/breads, fruit/pastries, rice/bean, some kind of hot dog meat, pancakes and eggs made to order. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant, but right down the street, a few minutes walking, are some restaurants and even a grocery store. We did walk all the way into the center of La Fortuna to look around and it took us 30 minutes one way. Be sure to have an umbrella/raincoat with you as it rains a lot in July....ponchos are $6 in town to purchase. I would stay here again if I was to do a lot of activities in the area. A suggestion for the hotel, would be to put a clothesline in the bathroom shower to hang your wet things.....they won't dry to well outside on the chairs.

Room Tip: We were on the bottom floor and the volcano never came out of the mist......I would think that if it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomInWA98391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Hotel Magic mountain is a great place for couples as well as other travellers. It is minutes away from other hotels and very popular hot springs in the area such as Tabacon hot springs and Baldi hot springs, (walking distance). In addition it is fairly close to the Arenal volcano observatory (although you would probably need to drive). A fair breakfast was provided and included in the cost of the room. The service staff are particularly helpful when it comes to inquires regarding reservations and activities in the area. Overall the hotel is very cozy and you get a lot of bang for your buck.

Room Tip: ask to face the volcano .. view is amazing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilenaMarkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I am a teacher and was traveling with a group of 24 teenagers on a school trip through Costa Rica for 10 days. We stopped in La Fortuna to visit the Arenal Volcano and stayed here for 3 nights. After our previous hotel didn't have any A/C and minimal internet, our group was relieved to get to a more modern hotel. We enjoyed the previous hotel, but were ready for comfort that we were more used to! All hotel rooms have a balcony that face the pool and volcano. The view is exactly what is portrayed on the photos on the website. The colors are so vivid and the view was incredible! When the sky cleared on a few occasions we were able to get some great pictures of the volcano. The pool area was nice and the students had a great time hanging out there and in the hot tub. Some of our students had problems with the A/C in their room and when we left for the day they told the reception. It was fixed upon their return. Several of us had trouble with the keys not opening the rooms and had to make several trips to reception to have them re-issue them. In our room, the tv didn't work and neither did the refrigerator. When I called to inquire about fixing the refrigerator I was told that someone would try to look at it the next day. Needless to say, it wasn't fixed over the course of our 3 night stay. Many of our students told us that their tvs weren't working either. For the most part, the staff was friendly. Although there was one extremely unfriendly man working at the reception that seemed annoyed to even be there, let alone helpful. Very rude and standoffish. Another employee started talking to our students and inviting them out with him that night, encouraging them to sneak out of their hotel rooms. Luckily, our students told us about him and would never go with him, but we didn't appreciate him even speaking to our UNDERAGED students. The location is right down the street to the city center of La Fortuna. It'd be a bit of a walk, but we took our tour bus and it dropped us off for dinner two evenings. The employees in the restaurant area were the most friendly and were mainly attentive. Unless you wanted coffee in the morning! Overall, the view from the rooms is great and it's a great location if you're planning to visit Arenal and do some hiking. A few of the staff members here and rooms leave something to be desired.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovethesun920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

4 of us stayed here June 17-21. We arrived to pouring rain, but were greeted by friendly staff and cocktails! Our rooms were clean and had everything we needed. We couldn't see the volcano the first day, but had gorgeous views after that. The pool was great, but only 1 of 2 hot tubs were working. Our breakfast was included, which was just a buffet but it was pretty good. The hotel is in a great location- only a $3 cab ride to the city (you could easily walk but it was raining most of our trip). The only concern we had was the front desk closing at 10pm so we had to wait for our airport shuttle outside in the rain. But overall, this is a great small hotel and I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony and view of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We spent two nights at the Magic Mountain hotel. It was very nice and within walking distance to town. A good walk though. The taxi ride back was relatively cheap just in case you are in a down pour. We did the 4x1 tour and had a great time. The tour takes you to the hanging bridges which was amazing, La Fortuna waterfall which is a must see. (bring your suits). We then ate lunch at this little place on a back road that our guide took us to. It was amazing food and the view was awesome. We then went on the volcano hike which wasn't much. Saw a better view from our hotel room and we got completely rained on the way back. We ended our day on a awesome trip to Tabacon Springs and relaxed there for a few hours and then had a great dinner there. A little pricey but worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the Volcano. Maybe they all face that way, I don't know but ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Riles13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,319 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,161 reviews
3.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,184 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,080 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#4 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Property: Hotel Magic Mountain
Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing