We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view and location, but that's about it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Magic Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Spectacular view and location, but that's about it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I am a teacher and was traveling with a group of 24 teenagers on a school trip through Costa Rica for 10 days. We stopped in La Fortuna to visit the Arenal Volcano and stayed here for 3 nights. After our previous hotel didn't have any A/C and minimal internet, our group was relieved to get to a more modern hotel. We enjoyed the previous hotel, but were ready for comfort that we were more used to! All hotel rooms have a balcony that face the pool and volcano. The view is exactly what is portrayed on the photos on the website. The colors are so vivid and the view was incredible! When the sky cleared on a few occasions we were able to get some great pictures of the volcano. The pool area was nice and the students had a great time hanging out there and in the hot tub. Some of our students had problems with the A/C in their room and when we left for the day they told the reception. It was fixed upon their return. Several of us had trouble with the keys not opening the rooms and had to make several trips to reception to have them re-issue them. In our room, the tv didn't work and neither did the refrigerator. When I called to inquire about fixing the refrigerator I was told that someone would try to look at it the next day. Needless to say, it wasn't fixed over the course of our 3 night stay. Many of our students told us that their tvs weren't working either. For the most part, the staff was friendly. Although there was one extremely unfriendly man working at the reception that seemed annoyed to even be there, let alone helpful. Very rude and standoffish. Another employee started talking to our students and inviting them out with him that night, encouraging them to sneak out of their hotel rooms. Luckily, our students told us about him and would never go with him, but we didn't appreciate him even speaking to our UNDERAGED students. The location is right down the street to the city center of La Fortuna. It'd be a bit of a walk, but we took our tour bus and it dropped us off for dinner two evenings. The employees in the restaurant area were the most friendly and were mainly attentive. Unless you wanted coffee in the morning! Overall, the view from the rooms is great and it's a great location if you're planning to visit Arenal and do some hiking. A few of the staff members here and rooms leave something to be desired.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovethesun920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    271
    77
    18
    12
See reviews for
169
290
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

4 of us stayed here June 17-21. We arrived to pouring rain, but were greeted by friendly staff and cocktails! Our rooms were clean and had everything we needed. We couldn't see the volcano the first day, but had gorgeous views after that. The pool was great, but only 1 of 2 hot tubs were working. Our breakfast was included, which was just a buffet but it was pretty good. The hotel is in a great location- only a $3 cab ride to the city (you could easily walk but it was raining most of our trip). The only concern we had was the front desk closing at 10pm so we had to wait for our airport shuttle outside in the rain. But overall, this is a great small hotel and I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony and view of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We spent two nights at the Magic Mountain hotel. It was very nice and within walking distance to town. A good walk though. The taxi ride back was relatively cheap just in case you are in a down pour. We did the 4x1 tour and had a great time. The tour takes you to the hanging bridges which was amazing, La Fortuna waterfall which is a must see. (bring your suits). We then ate lunch at this little place on a back road that our guide took us to. It was amazing food and the view was awesome. We then went on the volcano hike which wasn't much. Saw a better view from our hotel room and we got completely rained on the way back. We ended our day on a awesome trip to Tabacon Springs and relaxed there for a few hours and then had a great dinner there. A little pricey but worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the Volcano. Maybe they all face that way, I don't know but ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Riles13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Very helpful staff at this beautiful motel. They really went out of their way to make sure we got to see and do some fun activities. We had a great view of the volcano, had a great time watching soccer at the wet bar and had an excellent breakfast each day. Had a great river safari and saw the great waterfall! A trip we will never forget!

Room Tip: Great views all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iowarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We spent two nights at this location as part of an Air Canada Vacations Ecotour in March 2014.

Our room had a wonderful view of the Arenal Volcano from our balcony, which also had a table and 2 chairs, which was great for sitting outside and relaxing. I recommend that you keep the drapes closed and the light off, however, as many bugs are attracted to the light. Inside, the room was "OK". There was wall damage where a safe was once located, and there was a large empty cupboard in the room, where a mini-fridge may have been once located.

We ate breakfast in the restaurant both mornings, which was a decent buffet with good service. We did not eat any other meals here.

The pool area was small, but relaxing nonetheless. We found the pool bar service to be "OK", certainly nothing spectacular.

The hotel is a 30 minute walk from town, which is safe, but one section of the road is dark near a farm. I would recommend a flashlight to some extra light, expecially as the sidewalks are not in great condition. We enjoyed going into town, eating at some of the local restaurants and browsing through the shops.

Overall, a nice hotel. I wouldn't rush back here, but it was fine for what we needed, as we were gone for most of the day and spent our evenings in town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doucetja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed here with Caravan Tour, we were looking to stay at this hotel just because of the name, everything was magical in this area, the view of the big volcano was beautiful. The food and service were good. The rooms felt like a private house in a magical location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigmanTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great place, comfortable, clean, and in excellent condition. There were only a few other families there, which made it nice and peaceful for our stay. The grounds, while in the beginning of off-season, were still clean and in great condition. The pool was very relaxing, and additionally so when the bar was open. :)

The views of Arenal were unbeatable, and it was close enough to town to walk down for necessities and for touristy stuff to bring home.

2 huge bonuses at this resort:

First, my wife and I got massages while there, and both were amongst the best massages we have ever had. My massage therapist was Margarita, and she had a very peaceful touch. I left the massage perfectly relaxed!

Second, the restaurant was out of this world! I had the garlic/seafood concoction, and my wife had a daily special with shrimp, flambeed at the table. The dinner was amazing, and the table service was very professional!

Check out Hotel Magic Mountain, you will definitely enjoy it!

Room Tip: The closer the room you get is to the front desk, the better the view of Arenal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanDougherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,317 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,158 reviews
3.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,181 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,071 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#4 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Property: Hotel Magic Mountain
Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing