We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid Resort Choice in Fortuna” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Magic Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Solid Resort Choice in Fortuna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Not the fanciest of the resort properties located around Fortuna. However, it was very nice and had a great view of the volcano. You are close to town but probably will want to take a taxi (which was pretty cheap). If you are looking to spend a bunch of money and want to property with exotic features (animals on site, remote jungle feel) this is probably not for you. If you want to a good, clean, basic choice you can't go wrong with Magic Mountain.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    301
    92
    24
    14
See reviews for
187
324
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

This hotel was superb. The view from every room was breath taking all rooms have a sliding door facing the volcano. the rooms are clean and there is plenty of room. the pool was excellent and the happy hour at the pool was magnificent. The lady bartender was very friendly and knowledgeable. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel but I recommend venturing out in the town to find a variety of foods. The restaurant does have a theme dinner, Mexican, Italian, etc.
If you want over easy eggs in Costa Rica you are not going to find them unless you motion to the cook to turn over the eggs. LOL. Costa Rica's best resource are its very friendly people.

Room Tip: Ceviche at Nene's restaurant is magnificent. Ceviche is a local delicacy consisting of shrimp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was in a great location for being able to visit the national park and hot springs and also close to town making local restaurants and a local supermarket walkable. The hotel staff were very friendly and attentive. The buffet breakfast was solid. Only negative was that the hotel rooms while clean were a little dated. The view of the volcano and hotel's accessibility made up for that but not the most plush rooms we've stayed in while in CR.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Hotel was very clean, comfortable and a great value (of course, we were there in May). Balcony view of volcano and pool area is beautiful, unfortunately for us too many low clouds. Shower had good flow.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor for a better view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Magic Mountain in November, just 6 months ago, and enjoyed it so much we rebooked for this trip. Something has changed with management or ownership and this visit was not as enjoyable. First, I recommend you do NOT prebook. We originally booked 1 room for 4 people. On arrival we decided to get a second room, giving them extra business. Unfortunately, the premium for the room for 4 is not refundable, apparently because of the booking company commissions. On arrival they offer a complimentary drink and assistance with luggage. While this is great, staff should be aware of their guest to avoid overwhelming them - some people arrive very tired and or having to use baños. The first packet of coffee in the room is complimentary but we were told additional packets cost extra. What about a 1 night stay versus 3 nights? The room rates are the same! One day we asked the hours of a local hot spring company and we were encouraged to stay at Magic Mountain and use their services. Turns out the pool side bar service was closed because the bartender took a few days off. Meanwhile the adjacent restaurant servers were not busy and only started serving the pool area after we went and inquired. The room keys and or door locks need replacing - they fail quite a bit and it is worrisome if you arrive at your room after 10pm and there is no staff to assist. Towel and facecloths are not supplied in accordance with the number of people in the room. The elevator was not functioning properly and was not fixed after 3 days - visitors on the second floor could not go up to the 3rd unless you went down to the first. On arrival the wireless internet did not work. They worked quickly to fix it, however; by the second day it was so slow that I had to tether from my Claro 3G service to connect to servers to do some important tasks for work. Don't get me wrong, this is a lovely property with comfortable clean rooms and a view of the volcano. For this visit, they were either too busy or too short staffed to provide service we expected compared to a visit 6 months ago.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Nice clean rooms. Great view. Great breakfast buffet. Way better than expected. Tv's are a little small butt hey swivel and can be seen from anywhere in the room. Overall a great experience. Quick access to the volcano.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the jacuzzi. Its worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdJohnston33040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

It's an excellent option for enjoying the activities in the area of La Fortuna and El Arenal. The staff was very helpfull. Thanks to them my friends and I could enjoy of the canopy lines at Sky Trek and Sky Walk. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rocio H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
3.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,684 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
3.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#20 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Property: Hotel Magic Mountain
Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing