We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Magic Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
“FANTASTIC!!!”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This hotel was perfect, food, customer service, the area, the place. Everything was excellent. I will always select this hotel when I will do to fortuna in Costa Rica. I will always recommend this place because this people really know.

Room Tip: All the rooms have the perfect view to the Arenal Volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    307
    95
    25
    14
See reviews for
193
330
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Perfect hotel for our honeymoon. We stayed in a suite, which was a great room with a jacuzzi. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Definitely check out their great happy hour at the pool. The bartender makes a mean tequila sunrise!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleefaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was nice and the staff excellent. It's not fancy, but very comfortable, clean and accommodating. The views are amazing, breakfast is good and we always had fun at the wet bar! A long walk into town, but still close, without being too busy of an area or too far.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LalaSierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

It was awesome! It has everything in one place! Restaurant, bar, bar in the pool, jacuzzi, spa... Great place to stay and relax... We took one of the rooms with jacuzzi and it was so nice, you could even move the tv to watch tv in the jacuzzi...

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaoNLuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The room is better than imagine. Because i am expect room withoutbjacuzzi and for my surprise I am hostage in a junior suite with jacuzzi. Its clean, nice and romantic for a honey moon. I recommended of course and i want to return soon.

the clean service goes some latr but in general is good

great place

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squidlinux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Edison deserves all of the credit for our stay at Hotel Magic Mountain. We thought the jr suite was elegant and the views were spectacular. We plan to return to enjoy Fortuna in the future. Many thanks for having excellent employees and a beautiful facility. Muchas Gracias.

Room Tip: we did not take advantage of fitness center and spa, but are sure they are very bit as lovely as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were on our delayed honeymoon and spent the active portion of our trip to Costa Rica in La Fortuna and Magic Mountain Hotel. From here we did all sorts of things around the volcano and in the area from zip lining and rappelling to horseback riding and soaking in the natural hot springs. We loved the hotel and its staff…super friendly and willing to practice their English with us as we practiced our Spanish (or in my case, my Spanglish). The room was great up on the 3rd floor with a view of the pool, beautiful landscaping, and of course Arenal Volcano. We woke up to birds singing every morning followed by a great breakfast of local food. We already miss the Gallo Pinto and sweet plantains. The wet bar had good food as well and a friendly bartender. Unfortunately the jacuzzi tubs weren't hotter than lukewarm and we had issues with our room key not working several times. But those are the only reasons we didn't rate it a 5 star stay. It was a simple hotel…not too packed…great amenities…great staff and would definitely stay there again. Thanks for an amazing stay in Arenal!!!

Room Tip: 3rd floor has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BTFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#21 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,343 reviews
2.5 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
2.0 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Property: Hotel Magic Mountain
Address: La Fortuna Rd., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing