We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, fun pool bar.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Magic Mountain
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed here as part of a Caravan Land Tour. It is farther than I would have liked to have walked to get into town, They did have cab service, if that interested.
The air-conditioner is run with your room key card and there is also an associated remote for it. The guest rooms had a TV, no clock, a refrigerator, and coffee maker. You had to buy the coffee packets for $1 at the registration desk. I thought that was rather tacky, in a country known for coffee. All rooms had sliding glass doors with a little patio with a small table and two chairs.
The staff greeted us on the first day with small, tropical drinks and big smiles. We were only given what Caravan ordered for us - a buffet - for meals, so I can't speak to menu items in the large restaurant.
They had a pool bar with seating for only 4 outside the bar at the pool. Seats inside the pool more plentiful.
The grounds were well-manicured and very tropical.

Room Tip: It looked as if all the rooms (from the sliding glass doors) faced the Arenal volcano. Room 108 was...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retiredJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Magic Mountain
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 770 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

My friend and I came from San Francisco and Maryland to visit the volcano. We had the best time at your wonderful, clean and welcoming facility. The food was excellent and the hospitality was superb!
My birthday present was a hot stone massage that was the best I ever received! Keep working on your new spa and let us know when it's finished, as we plan to return!

Room Tip: A view of the volcano, of course!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lonna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Magic Mountain and what a great hotel experience. The hotel could not have better views of the volcano and our room (506) was just great. The whole staff seemed very keen to make our stay a memorable one.

Everything was clean and tidy and within a short stroll there are a few bars and shops.

If you are looking for the best in the area then this is it

Room Tip: All of the rooms have views of the volcano but being on the 3rd floor gives you the best view. The j...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGJ_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel is near enough downtown that you can easily get to restaurants and other sights. Rooms are comfortable and service was good. Breakfast was really nice. We were able to pick up and drop off a rental car here, and that made our trip easier. Enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terriandjakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

First and foremost, the people at Magic Mountain Hotel are awesome! Very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Frazier, Jaisen and Fran were more than accommodating to our group.....we felt like friends when we left. The rooms were a little dated, and the lighting wasn't great, but they were clean and comfortable beds. The grounds are beautiful, the view spectacular and walking distance to town...........we would come back to Magic Mountain for sure

Room Tip: The junior suites are nice...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rusty6026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed 2 nights as part of a tour. The hotel, rooms, pools, gardens are all well maintained and clean. The view of the volcano from the balcony, as the sun was rising, was beautiful. With-in short walking distance, there are a variety of little shops and restaurant/bars. Staff were friendly and attentive. This is a good central home base for touring around the northern countryside.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was a nice hotel. Rooms are sparse but adequate. The pool is beautiful with a view of the volcano. The breakfast was good. Furtuna is a small town and this hotel is not walking distance to the town. We were on a tour and stayed here 2 nights. We were happy with the room and free wifi. It is by no means a luxury hotel however it is a pleasant place to hang out by the pool and view the volcano.It's a good value for the money

Room Tip: The higher floors have a better view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,532 reviews
2.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,934 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,474 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#22 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,302 reviews
7.1 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Address: La Fortuna Rd., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $82 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing