We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (857)
Filter reviews
857 results
Traveler rating
330
368
117
27
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
368
117
27
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarenal volcanola fortunacaravan tourcosta ricaswim up barjunior suitebeautiful viewwet barpool areahot springsnice poolclose to townroom keybreakfast buffethotel restaurantthree nightswelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
372 - 377 of 857 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a Caravan tour. I was on the 2nd floor with a killer view of the Arenal Volcano. Room was nice enough, although the bathroom was basic and visitors were told not to flush toiler paper. You had to put used TP in a little garbage can near the toilet which would be emptied by hotel staff. Pretty creepy.

Although internet access was available for free at a lobby computer, I had to try several e-mail addresses before I could send an e-mail. What should have taken 5 minutes took 40.

Buffet breakfast was terrible...no yogurt, no papaya and no take-away fruit. Also, hot offerings were limited and the cereal selection was merely cornflakes and some other low-fiber stuff.

On the plus side, there is a supermarket to the right of the hotel, about a 10-minute walk.

Room Tip: Go for a 2nd floor room for privacy and a better volcano view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serpentine215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed two nights at the hotel. We found the rooms to be clean, bright and spacious. Each room has a small balcony with two lounge chairs and table. The hotel is approximately one mile outside of town. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The pool is very nice and the water is clean. We recommend that you request for rooms facing the pool for view of the mountain (volcano)

Room Tip: Request for rooms facing the pool for the volcano view. Ask for second or third level rooms
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bang N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Clean, quiet room with small balcony facing volcano and pool. Stayed two nights and both nights full tour bus was in. Nice pool area with whirlpool and bar. Restaurant on-site but did not go in because it was a little crowded with tour bus folks and it did seem a bit expensive. Happy hour at the pool bar. There is a "sports bar" as well but we never went in. Breakfast buffet was nothing special although one morning omelettes were being made to order which was nice. Cats will clear the floor in the restaurant for you. You will need a cab to get to town. There is a very nice, reasonably priced, open-air pizza restaurant about 200m down the road towards La Fortuna also with friendly street cats. Nice wine selection, pasta, salads etc and wood fired pizza oven. Liked it so much that we went back a second time. There is a grocery store further up the road which has a large selection of snacks, beer, wine, rum etc.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ottawa012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have had a brilliant time, saw more wildlife in Arenal region than Monteverde! Just having a week on the beach before going back to uk. Magic Mountain, the staff were very helpful, everything was as we wanted, the view from the room amazing of Arenal!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of Arenal volcano, stunning!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JaneOShea44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We found the Magic Mountain Resort quite by accident.
So glad we did. Got real lucky. Every room faces pool and volcano. We were lucky enough to have sun so hit some fabulous pictures.
From reception to checkout everyone was friendly and made us feel like we were appreciated.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FallsGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews