We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (859)
Filter reviews
859 results
Traveler rating
331
369
117
27
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
369
117
27
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarenal volcanola fortunacaravan tourcosta ricaswim up barjunior suitebeautiful viewwet barpool areahot springsnice poolclose to townroom keybreakfast buffethotel restaurantthree nightswelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
374 - 379 of 859 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed two nights at the hotel. We found the rooms to be clean, bright and spacious. Each room has a small balcony with two lounge chairs and table. The hotel is approximately one mile outside of town. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The pool is very nice and the water is clean. We recommend that you request for rooms facing the pool for view of the mountain (volcano)

Room Tip: Request for rooms facing the pool for the volcano view. Ask for second or third level rooms
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bang N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Clean, quiet room with small balcony facing volcano and pool. Stayed two nights and both nights full tour bus was in. Nice pool area with whirlpool and bar. Restaurant on-site but did not go in because it was a little crowded with tour bus folks and it did seem a bit expensive. Happy hour at the pool bar. There is a "sports bar" as well but we never went in. Breakfast buffet was nothing special although one morning omelettes were being made to order which was nice. Cats will clear the floor in the restaurant for you. You will need a cab to get to town. There is a very nice, reasonably priced, open-air pizza restaurant about 200m down the road towards La Fortuna also with friendly street cats. Nice wine selection, pasta, salads etc and wood fired pizza oven. Liked it so much that we went back a second time. There is a grocery store further up the road which has a large selection of snacks, beer, wine, rum etc.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ottawa012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have had a brilliant time, saw more wildlife in Arenal region than Monteverde! Just having a week on the beach before going back to uk. Magic Mountain, the staff were very helpful, everything was as we wanted, the view from the room amazing of Arenal!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of Arenal volcano, stunning!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JaneOShea44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We found the Magic Mountain Resort quite by accident.
So glad we did. Got real lucky. Every room faces pool and volcano. We were lucky enough to have sun so hit some fabulous pictures.
From reception to checkout everyone was friendly and made us feel like we were appreciated.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FallsGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We had a corner room on the third floor and a fantastic view of the volcano and the pool. The room was spacious and kept clean. The balcony was a nice addition and with the sliding glass doors open we got a refreshing breeze. The food was very good and right at the hotel. The staff was very friendly, especially Nancy at the front desk and Francini, bar tender at the pool bar. Yes, there was a bar at/in the pool. I would suggest that the management replace the shampoo/conditioner everyday instead of having to ask for it and they need to invest in a hair dryer for the rooms instead of having to borrow one from the front desk. Friendly, clean, and with a beautiful view I'd go back.

Room Tip: get on the top floor for the view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrFirebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews