We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Magic Mountain
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hotel Magic Mountain provides a great view of the Arenal Volcano. The grounds are clean and the staff is friendly. It's a 4$ cab ride from downtown. The hotel has a great happy hour and facilities. We got a free upgrade to a junior suite which made our stay a lot better. However, 3 days into our stay, the jacuzzi broke and it was never fixed, but overall it was a really great time.

Room Tip: any room provides amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kiesh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear customer

To Magic Mountain hotel is a pleasure that you choose our hotel during your visit to La Fortuna. Also we want to express our appreciation for your comment.
We inform you that we are improving day by day to benefit our guests, because are our reason to be, so you deserve the best.
Thanks a lot to mention all that distinguish us from the others.
We thank your recommendations, it is too important for us.
Hoping you come back once again, we express our gratitude to you and our compromise to keep improving our service.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 355 of 780 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We try to visit the area once a year and return here all the time! There are cheaper places in La Fortuna but Magic Mountain is the BEST value for the price. Their food is good, their bar upstairs is great, and the grounds are beautiful! Most rooms have a private balcony I believe (every time we've stayed we've had one) and the rooms are more comfortable than other hotels we've stayed in with comparable pricing! We enjoy backpacking and hostels, but I always book at least a night or two at MM cause it is always a good time!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aslcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Customer

To Magic Mountain hotel is a pleasure that you choose our hotel during your visit to La Fortuna. Also we want to express our appreciation for you flattering comment to us.
We're glad to exceed your expectations and turn your experience at Magic Mountain to a wonderful time.
We inform you that we are improving day by day to benefit our guests, because are our reason to be, so you deserve the best.
Thanks a lot to mention all that distinguish us from the others and that makes us the best hosting option.
We thank your recommendations, it is too important for us.
Hoping you come back once again, we express our gratitude to you and our compromise to keep improving our service.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The pool area and swim up bar were the best parts of this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was just average, small and not terribly clean. It sounded like a good value, but in the end you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scurryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Customer

To Magic Mountain hotel is a pleasure that you choose our hotel during your visit to La Fortuna. Also we want to express our appreciation for your comment.
We inform you that we are improving day by day to benefit our guests, because are our reason to be, so you deserve the best.
Hoping you come back once again, we express our gratitude to you and our compromise to keep improving our service.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Great location , great view, they offer 2 for 1 drinks. The hotel staff is excellent, Nancy is extremely nice, she really knows the area and can help you choose a tour. The Housekeepers are very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miajustsaying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Customer

To Magic Mountain hotel is a pleasure that you choose our hotel during your visit to La Fortuna. Also we want to express our appreciation for you flattering comment to us.
We're glad to exceed your expectations and turn your experience at Magic Mountain to a wonderful time.
We inform you that we are improving day by day to benefit our guests, because are our reason to be, so you deserve the best.
Thanks a lot to mention all that distinguish us from the others and that makes us the best hosting option.
We thank your recommendations, it is too important for us.
Hoping you come back once again, we express our gratitude to you and our compromise to keep improving our service.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed 3 nights as part of a Groupon package. It is very well kept, clean room, very comfortable with refrigerator. Wi-fi, restaurant onsite and sports bar. Also breakfast buffet. Food was very good. Great balcony looking directly at the volcano and overlooking a nice pool. The location is perfect from town and other attractions. Just cost $4-5 taxi to go most everywhere. We visited another hotel for their hot springs and were able to notice a huge difference in service. At Magic Mountain the staff is soooo much nicer! So glad we stayed here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonoco2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Customer

Hotel Magic Mountain thanks your precious visit.
In the name of all front desk staff we want to say thank you for emphasize that our service was much better than other place.
We are glad to know that we meet your expectations and you will recomend us.
We inform you that we are improving day by day to benefit our guests, because are our reason to be, so you deserve the best.
Hoping you come back once again, we express our gratitude to you and our compromise to keep improving our service.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon for 2 nights and used it as a base to explore the Arenal area. The hotel and grounds are beautiful. The staff is very nice. The only issue we had was that our key did not work to let us into our room several times. We kept having to go back to the front desk to have it reset. Then, on at least two occasions, I tested that the door had automatically locked behind us as we left and the door was unlocked. I figured how to get it locked with the card but it should've locked automatically and, if we hadn't checked, someone could have gone in our room when we were gone. Other than the room locking/ key issue (we overheard another guest complaining to the front desk about the same thing), we really enjoyed this hotel and our stay.

Room Tip: Just make sure to double check your room is locked when you leave and be persistent about asking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Customer

Magic Mountain Hotel thanks your precious visit.
For us it is very important to the welfare of our guests during their stay.
Feedback from our customers helps us improve the quality of service provided, so it is of utmost importance.
We want to apologize for the keys situation, and we want to let you know that we are working on it.
Many thanks for mentioned the good things we have for offer.
We really appreciate your recomendations. It is too important for us.
Hoping you come back once again, we express our gratitude to you and our compromise to keep improving our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel exceeded expectations. Erika's front desk staff were friendly, informative, and helpful in every regard. The poolside bar was great, and Franciny was a pleasure. Breakfast was good, and we found it was only a short walkdown the road to a variety of restaurants. The walk into La Fortuna (downhill) was about 20 minutes, but it afforded shopping along the way--for local crafts as well as groceries for our room and travel snacks and drinks. The town is pleasant and offers even more in restaurants and shopping, with a taxi ride back "up the hill" for those who are "walked out." Try one of the many SODAS (small restaurants with local food) for a lot to eat at a small price. Van pick up for the next stop was on-time. If you do nothing else while there, do take the Volcano Hike--not strenuous, and very informative.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

To Magic Mountain hotel is a pleasure that you choose our hotel during your visit to La Fortuna. Also we want to express our appreciation for you flattering comment to us.
We're glad to exceed your expectations and turn your experience at Magic Mountain to a wonderful time.
We inform you that we are improving day by day to benefit our guests, because thay are our reason to be, so you deserve the best.
Thanks a lot to mention all that distinguish us from the others and that makes us the best hosting option.
We thank your recommendations, it is too important for us.
Hoping you come back once again, we express our gratitude to you and our compromise to keep improving our service.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,584 reviews
2.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,027 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#19 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,479 reviews
2.5 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,878 reviews
2.6 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Address: La Fortuna Rd., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $95 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing