We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pura Vida”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Magic Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pura Vida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I took my daughter to Costa Rica for her graduation present. Our first three days in this beautiful country were at the Magic Mountain Hotel. What a fantastic way to begin our adventures. The staff was attentive from check-in, to check-out. Breakfast (excellent); Dinner (excellent); poolside bar (excellent); Room (excellent ). Views......Excellent. I even got to practice my spanish with the staff. Your service, food and room (junior suite), made our Costa Rica vacation an overall excellent experience. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rojoloco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
To Magic Mountain hotel is a pleasure that you choose our hotel during your visit to La Fortuna. Also we want to express our appreciation for you flattering comment to us.
We're glad to exceed your expectations and turn your experience at Magic Mountain to a wonderful time.
We inform you that we are improving day by day to benefit our guests, because are our reason to be, so you deserve the best.
Thanks a lot to mention all that distinguish us from the others and that makes us the best hosting option.
We thank your recommendations, it is too important for us.
Hoping you come back once again, we express our gratitude to you and our compromise to keep improving our service.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    305
    94
    25
    14
See reviews for
190
328
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was not only my favorite hotel on the trip but also Arenal is amazing! If you're thinking of visiting Costa Rica, please go to Arenal! Okay so more about the hotel.. the room and bathroom was very clean, friendly staff, yummy breakfast buffet, and it's close to most activities/hot spots. The view of the volcano from the balcony is just breathtaking. I'm hoping to visit again very soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanoori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
To Magic Mountain hotel is a pleasure that you choose our hotel during your visit to La Fortuna. Also we want to express our appreciation for you flattering comment to us.
We're glad to exceed your expectations and turn your experience at Magic Mountain to a wonderful time.
We inform you that we are improving day by day to benefit our guests, because are our reason to be, so you deserve the best.
Thanks a lot to mention all that distinguish us from the others and that makes us the best hosting option.
We thank your recommendations, it is too important for us.
Hoping you come back once again, we express our gratitude to you and our compromise to keep improving our service.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This Hotel and the staff got an A+. Great location very closed to everything. Breath taking view of the Arenal Volcano. Super clean and safe. The staff is beyond friendly, from the people who checked us in (Jeison & Leo) to Erika & Nancy at front desk, and Javier at the restaurant, I can not decide who is more friendly. They all went out of their way to make sure our stay was the best one ever!!!!! Thank you all !!!
The Breakfast buffet is delicious, a great variety to choose from and a great taste.
The tours very fun and safe. I recommend you reserve your tour at the front desk for various reasons we wasted one day for trying to do things on our own. The water rafting is a very fun tour.
Already planning to go back in May to this same hotel. Definitely LOVE IT!!!

Room Tip: Any Room on the Third floor have a great vie to the volcano and the pool, which by the way is beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Google Translation
Hola Sandra.

Un placer saber de usted.
En nombre de todo el staff de recepcion, queremos agradecerles su preciada visita.
Fue un verdadero placer el poder atenderles. Nosotros nos esmeramos en dar una agradable servicio y cuando la respuesta de los clientes es tan positiva nos alegramos mucho ya que para eso trabajamos para hacerlos sentir bien, como en casa.
Nos complace saber que superamos sus expectativas y que pronto volverán a visitarnos.
Muchas gracias de verdad por mencionar en su comentario todo aquello que nos define y nos diferencia de los demás. Ademas de agradecerle sus buenas recomendaciones.
Las puertas quedan abiertas para su próxima, entonces nos vamos a esmerar en mejorar para que su visita sea lo máximo.
Nos vemos pronto

Saludos Cordiales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The service at Hotel Magic Mountain is beyond compare! Our group lost our tour information and the hotel staff quickly called the booking company to get them to send over another copy of our tour information. Since none of the tours were through the hotel we were skeptical that they would be so willing to help but they did!

Everyone else was super friendly and always willing to help us when we had a puzzled look on our face. They gave us recommendations about restaurants to go to and places to shop. The folks here were amazing and I can't wait to go back to Costa Rica and Hotel Magic Mountain!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doarntih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
To Magic Mountain hotel is a pleasure that you choose our hotel during your visit to La Fortuna. Also we want to express our appreciation for you flattering comment to us.
We're glad to exceed your expectations and turn your experience at Magic Mountain to a wonderful time.
We inform you that we are improving day by day to benefit our guests, because they are our reason to be, so you deserve the best.
Thanks a lot for mention all that distinguish us from the others and that makes us the best hosting option.
We thank your recommendations, it is too important for us.
Hoping you come back once again, we express our gratitude to you and our compromise to keep improving our service.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

My traveling companion and I arrived at Hotel Magic Mountain on Friday, August 9th, 2013 after a four hour transfer from San Jose airport. The staff was very welcoming, although they did have difficulty bringing the welcome drink - I imagine it was a busy check-in time and they made it up to us.
We stayed in room 302, which I highly recommend. The balcony view was superb! Anytime we wanted to see Volcan Arenal, just open the shades and/or your eyes.

The one complaint I do have was that the hot tub was not working. Normally, I would not find issue with this, but after day long active tours, the muscles would have benefited from a relaxing hot tub.

Stay here and enjoy your time in La Fortuna with a short walk to the main town area.

All of the staff was super friendly and I would definitely go back and stay in this hotel on my next trip to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Room 302 has a beautiful view and is near the stair well for easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
To Magic Mountain hotel is a pleasure that you choose our hotel during your visit to La Fortuna. Also we want to express our appreciation for you flattering comment to us.
We're glad to exceed your expectations and turn your experience at Magic Mountain to a wonderful time.
We inform you that we are improving day by day to benefit our guests, because they are our reason to be, so you deserve the best.
Thanks a lot for mention all that distinguish us from the others and that makes us the best hosting option.
We thank your recommendations, it is too important for us.
Hoping you come back once again, we express our gratitude to you and our compromise to keep improving our service.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We went to 4 cities and Arenal is my favorite! You must stay here for the views and the spectacular service. Our balcony opened up to the Volcano view and the pool below. The rooms were extremely clean and the bathroom was clean and very modern. We weren't in the room very much so the small size didn't bother me.

We had fruit juices on arrival and a fast check in. Breakfast every morning was really good and a variety of choices from fruits to pancakes. If I went back to Arenal, I would most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Customer.

Hotel Magic Mountain appreciate your visit.
Thank you for your comment.
We are glad to know that we meet your expectations. Everytime that we read a comment like this we feel so happy, because this is the reason we work for.
Thank you for mentioned all the good things we have for offer. We try to improve every day in benefits of our clients.
The Magic Mountain doors are open for your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here for a night and it was a wonderful experience. We were met with delicious glasses of fruit juice upon arrival and went through the check-in process quickly and smoothly. The volcano view is spectacular. The buffet breakfast was also very good.
Bottom line, we would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maileenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Customer.

Hotel Magic Mountain appreciate your visit.
Thank you for your comment.
We are glad to know that we meet your expectations.
Thank you for mention all the good things we have to offer.
We work hard to provide the best service and improve in benefit of our customers.
We really appreciate your recomendations.
Magic Mountain doors are open fopr your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#20 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
2.5 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
2.0 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Property: Hotel Magic Mountain
Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing