We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Magic Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Rowland Heights, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were at the hotel Saturday, June 1 - Tuesday, June 4, 2013. Great location within walking distance to the town of La Fortuna. The rooms were nicely decorated and clean. We had a third story room and a beautiful view of the Arenal Volcano. My hubby was having a couple issues with the in room safe and each time we called the front desk they were pleasant and sent someone within minutes. The pool and the surrounding areas were very nice and clean. It was also a bonus to have (free) access to a computer that is located in the front lobby. Our package included breakfast which was pretty basic, but decent. The first two mornings someone was their to make omelets. There was always "Pinto Gallo" which is a typical Costa Rican dish of black beans and rice. The breakfast also included fruit, pancakes, sausage, potatoes, plantains and juice/coffee.
For our third and last breakfast we were informed that breakfast was going to be "Ala Cate", which meant that our choices were limited to eggs, pinto gallo, potatoes and fruit. From the hotel we traveled to Arenal National Park and hiked on a (easy) trail that took us to a set of stairs up to the most beautiful view of Lake Arenal. If you plan on taking a hike, make sure you bring bug repellant. We also went to the Butterfly Conservatory, if you like to see beautiful butterflies and just as beautiful grounds, spend the $14.00 per person entrance fee; it took us about an hour or so to walk the grounds (in pouring rain). Overall, I would recommend Hotel Magic Mountain because of the staff, clean rooms, very nice grounds and great location.

Room Tip: Higher floors are best for a view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director General at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Customer
The Magic Mountain Hotel appreciates your visit.
Your comment is very important. The staff works hard to provide customers the best of the best.
The friendly staff is something that defines us.
Thank you so much for all the good things mentioned in your comment. And thank you for recommend us. We really appreciate this.
The Magic Mountain doors are open for your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    273
    78
    18
    12
See reviews for
170
293
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Delights: Staff is WONDERFUL! Very courteous, friendly, gracious. Adrian and Nancy greeted us likes kings and queens. Nancy is a top notch concierge and helped up plan day trips. Leo ran a hospitable front of house. Rooms comfortable, clean. Patios and views are extra special! Great pool.

Disappointments: Tune steak not recommended. Food good, not great.

Enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Customer
The Magic Mountain Hotel appreciates your precious visit.
Your comment is very important. The staff works hard to provide customers the best of the best.
The friendly staff is something that defines us.
We apologize for not meeting the expectations of the food quality . We are working to improve.
The Magic Mountain doors are open for your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Okay, I'm writing this on the first night, so it's possible that my views will change. However, the service and room so far have been excellent. Clean rooms (huge bed!), polite staff, a pool with a swim-up bar. Now, take all this with the knowledge that I've never really used a booking agency before, so I tend to find myself the cheapest hotel with a/c and internet that I can. Maybe for people who are used to higher-end resort stays this place isn't so special. Nevertheless, I'm impressed and our room has a lovely balcony looking out on the Arenal volcano! Oh, did I mention the complimentary drink when we arrived?

Update: my views did not change

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolanta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Customer

The Hotel Magic Mountain appreciates your visit
It's a real pleasure to meet your expectations from first moment.
Our staff works hard to provide the best of the best and that our customers feel at home.
Thanks for mentioning the details that make us an excellent choice of quality and price.
The doors are open for your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here at the end of May 2013. The hotel is great! It is in a great location, within walking distance of La Fortuna and amazing views of the Arenal Volcano. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. We were there in the slower season, so the pool and wet bar were never too crowded. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Customer
The Hotel Magic Mountain appreciates your precious visit.
Thank you very much for your kind comment. The details you mention are part of who we are and what we offer to our customers and that make a big difference.
The staff work with a positive attitude always trying to convey to our guest. The friendly service for part of the staff is characteristic that we want for our customers to feel at home.
Mountain Magic doors are open for your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in May 2013. It is in a great location, close to all activities. The staff are super friendly and the continental breakfast is great. It was slow season so there weren't many people there. We never saw anyone using the pool or at the bar. The WiFi is free which was great. Our room had a great view of the Arenal Volcano. I felt it was the best hotel in the area. We only stayed for 3 days but had a positive experience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Shawna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Customer

The Hotel Magic Mountain appreciates your precious visit.
We greatly appreciate your comment, it helps us grow and improve day by day.
We work hard to provide the best service because our customers deserve the best.
Each comment that speaks of good staff, service and hotel quality brings us more and more customers, but mainly we are required to give the best to everyone.
The Magic Mountain doors open for your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Magic Mountain with my significant other for a few days in May. The hotel is beautiful with a wonderful view of the Arenal volcano. The front desk was very helpful, Nancy was wonderful. The included breakfast buffet was also quite good. The room was clean and had a wonderful view of the volcano. The air conditioning could only be utilized when you are present in the room (you must use your key card to access it, and they only provide one). This is kind of exasperating when you are coming back from a long trip and the room is very humid. However, I think air conditioning is considered somewhat of a luxury so we did not mind much.

The only downside we experienced was when a tour was incorrectly booked by the front desk staff (not Nancy) but it was then rectified and we were able to still do the tour, just on another day.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice, clean, hotel right in the Arenal volcano area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Customer

The Hotel Magic Mountain appreciates your visit.
Our customers are the reason for being and our goal is to provide them the best service possible.
Thank you very much for the positive and negative details listed for you. This helps us to realize that we can improve for our customers that deserve the best.
We will work on refining small details that can make a big difference.
Mountain Magic doors are open for your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This place is voted excellent in its own category. Do not except the Four Seasons, but for what it put out to do, it does it well. The service here was above par than most hotels. A gentleman named Carlos helped me and my friends with all of our questions; we bugged him day and night. The pool was super nice and had a great view of the volcano. There was a swim up bar and two hot tubs. The hot tubs were not really hot though; they were around 96F I would say. They had security there at night and we felt safe in our room. Our room included a safe, fridge, two beds, two night stands, balcony, a desk, and a few lamps.

One thing I didn't enjoy was that if you lost an extra key made for you, you would have to pay for it. Being that I work in the hotel industry, I thought that odd, oh well it is different everywhere. Additionally, there was no person at the front desk at night. We needed someone around 1:00 am and no one was there. Usually there is at least one person running night audit. This is not a big deal though. The breakfast was fresh and cooked well. They have a bar upstairs, but both times we went it was pretty dead. Be careful, for little bugs. We left a piece of food out on accident and by the morning there were these little tiny bugs on the food. It wasn't thing horrible.

Overall, great place to stay. The guest service was great. The location is pretty great as well. It was close to a few hot springs and not far from the city.

Oh yeah, the staff spoke English pretty well and were kind to us when we tried to speak our borken Spanish to them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericka A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Customer.
The Hotel Magic Mountain appreciates your precious visit.
We are proud to provide our customers good service and comfort during your stay.
We appreciate your good comment and all the details mentioned on it. We are working on the keys situation and from now we will give 2 keys to the clients.
We really sorry about that.
The staff works hard to give the best to our customers who are the reason for being.
Mountain Magic doors are open for your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,341 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
3.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,184 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#5 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Property: Hotel Magic Mountain
Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#18 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing