We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Magic Mountain
Nearby Hotels
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$152
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$158
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$240
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$114
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$211
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$241
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$202
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$332
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (839)
Filter reviews
839 results
Traveler rating
326
358
113
27
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
358
113
27
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarenal volcanobalcony overlooking the poolla fortunacosta ricaswim up barcaravan tourbeautiful viewjunior suitewet barhot springsnice poolclose to townroom keybreakfast was includedhotel restaurantvery nice hotelbreakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
452 - 457 of 839 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Nancy at the front desk was a doll. She was always smiling and helped us planning activities.The view from our room was beautiful. The grounds of Hotel Magic Mountain were lovely. The sound of the birds every morning with my coffee was magical. Thanks for the great tme..

Iris Whatley and Jason Rohr

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Iris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Iris Whatley and Jason Rohr,

Our goal is to make you experience an unforgettable time at Magic Mountain, that´s why we try to serve you doing our best.

We expect to see you again soon to bring you a wonderfull time.

Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The Hotel was better than advertised. Reception was seamless and the front desk very attentive to all our needs. Although the reception and Lobby area are small, the room was extremely clean and well appointed. The bathroom was ample and clean and the beds and pillows were clean an everything was in good condition. The Grounds were perfectly trimmed and manicured and there were flower and tropical paths through out the property. There is a nice Restaurant on site where the included breakfast is served. In our estimation, this was by far the highlight of our Budget Lodging in Costa Rica. Would definitely stay here again when I return to CR.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank vitin1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Guest.

In Magic Mountain we try to keep our facilities in the best conditions for your enjoy, and we feel glad that this made you experience a good time in La Fortuna.

Thanks for choosing us, hope to see you soon.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent three nights at Hotel Magic Mountain.It was an extremely good place to stay and we would stay again. It is central to all of the area attractions The reasy to find. Finding many places in Costa Rica requires a GPS! The rooms are clean and comfortable and fairly modern. It is quiet at night so it is a great place to sleep. They have free WiFi although the signal was low in our room and one night the internet was not available. They have cable TV and it has at least three American network affiliates as well as CNN. The pool area is beautiful and the gardens are well maintained. If you want to read in bed, bring a book light. There is only one overhead light. That is my only serious criticism. The staff is very hospitable. We had a car and wanted to do some things on our own and needed to be persistent to get directions. They prefer to book tours for patrons and we did book one tour through them and it was outstanding. Breakfast was included with our room and they have a buffet and wilThel cook eggs and oemlets to order. We would recommend this place with no reservations. We were booked here as part of a vacation package and didn't expect it to be a nice as it was.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackofPBFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Hello, greetings from magic Mountain Hotel...

Is a pleasure read your very good comments about us and our staff, we work every day to give our best and make of your stay something magic.
We really are proud of we could give you a good time.

We hope see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Hotel Magic Mountain is a comfortable and clean hotel a short distance from the centre of La Fortuna and makes a great base for exploring the area. Apart from the ground floor rooms, all the rooms have balconies facing the Arenal Volcano and are well furnished with all the amenities you would expect to see in a hotel of this calibre.The only thing to be careful about are the ceramic floors in the bathroom which we found to be very slippery when wet.

The gardens are not large, but they are attractively laid out around the swimming pool, wet bar and jacuzzis. Although the hotel is on the main road the building faces away, so noise is not an issue, and the rooms are well insulated.

The restaurant is airy and seems well-priced, though with so many eating options in La Fortuna there is no need to be confined to eating here. Breakfast was pleasant enough, with the usual gallo pinto available, and it is nice to see the addition of an egg station, rather than scrambled eggs sitting for hours in a warming dish.

This is our second stay at Magic Mountain and it is a good solid choice, value for money and conveniently located. It may not have much in the way of local ambience, but it is a dependable place and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Would probably try and avoid a ground floor room. The junior suites are excellent with in-room jacuzzis facing the volcano.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Stewart79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Stewart, thanks so much for your comments, comments like this make us happy... That is sign we are improving, and we hope improve each day.

We are proud of you had a very nice stay at Magic Mountain, hope see yo soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had check a few other hotels for a single night stay. This was the last place we checked and I'm glad we found it. Also, we had no reservation. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The grounds are beautiful. We had an incredible view of the volcano from our balcony. The food in the restaurant was great. We would absolutely stay here again without question. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Second floor 211 great view of pool, spa, volcano and grounds.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank LawrenceV419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Estimated Lawrence.

We are happy that you chose Magic Mountain as the place to stay in La Fortuna.
We know that our visitors wants a calm place to rest after a trip from home or after any tour here in La Fortuna, that´s why we try to keep a relaxing atmosphere.
Thanks for come, hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews