We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Magic Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Hotel Magic Mountain is a comfortable and clean hotel a short distance from the centre of La Fortuna and makes a great base for exploring the area. Apart from the ground floor rooms, all the rooms have balconies facing the Arenal Volcano and are well furnished with all the amenities you would expect to see in a hotel of this calibre.The only thing to be careful about are the ceramic floors in the bathroom which we found to be very slippery when wet.

The gardens are not large, but they are attractively laid out around the swimming pool, wet bar and jacuzzis. Although the hotel is on the main road the building faces away, so noise is not an issue, and the rooms are well insulated.

The restaurant is airy and seems well-priced, though with so many eating options in La Fortuna there is no need to be confined to eating here. Breakfast was pleasant enough, with the usual gallo pinto available, and it is nice to see the addition of an egg station, rather than scrambled eggs sitting for hours in a warming dish.

This is our second stay at Magic Mountain and it is a good solid choice, value for money and conveniently located. It may not have much in the way of local ambience, but it is a dependable place and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Would probably try and avoid a ground floor room. The junior suites are excellent with in-room jacuz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Stewart, thanks so much for your comments, comments like this make us happy... That is sign we are improving, and we hope improve each day.

We are proud of you had a very nice stay at Magic Mountain, hope see yo soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    301
    94
    24
    14
See reviews for
188
325
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had check a few other hotels for a single night stay. This was the last place we checked and I'm glad we found it. Also, we had no reservation. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The grounds are beautiful. We had an incredible view of the volcano from our balcony. The food in the restaurant was great. We would absolutely stay here again without question. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Second floor 211 great view of pool, spa, volcano and grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LawrenceV419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Estimated Lawrence.

We are happy that you chose Magic Mountain as the place to stay in La Fortuna.
We know that our visitors wants a calm place to rest after a trip from home or after any tour here in La Fortuna, that´s why we try to keep a relaxing atmosphere.
Thanks for come, hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, UT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We were so happy with everything about the hotel. The location was perfect, our room was clean and comfortable, the view of the pool and volcano were beautiful, and the employees at the hotel were friendly and helpful. We want to return to Costa Rica in the future and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool and volcano, so you really can't get a bad one. I would recommend the 3r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank stampsinyourpassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hello, is a pleasure for us you can stay again at Magic Mountain...

Is excellent hear your good comments about us, our mission is make our guest happy and get them relax.

Thanks again for your comments, hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and were very satisfied with the hotel. Plenty of space in the room, great view of Arenal, very pleasant capable staff. Beautiful grounds, well maintained. The pool was well maintained and very refreshing after an afternoon's hike. Did not realize there was a hot tub; would have liked a soak on cool mornings. Breakfast included with room rate, very nice although they ran out of some of the food by about 8:30 and did not replenish when asked. We had dinner in the restaurant one evening, the sea bass was rubbery and chewy so we did not have dinner there again. We did not hear any loud music from the pool bar. Nice location at the edge of town away from traffic and noise, but close enough for a quick ride to a restaurant or shop.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Sue, thanks for your comments....
Exactly that is Our idea, be close from town and from the main street without cause problems or noise.

We are relly happy to hear you had a great time at Magic Mountain, thanks for recommend us.

Best regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for three nights while on a tour. It was one of the best hotels on the trip. It was clean and looked fairly new. The staff were courteous and helpful. The rooms had great views across to the volcano and the grounds were well kept. One thing to be aware of is that it is about 15 minutes walk from the La Fortuna town centre. We would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EasyDuzzit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello, Is good hear your very nice comments, you are the most important for us, Our priority is that you can always be comfortable and you can have a pleasent stay.
We are proud of have met your expectations. We hope see you soon again!

Warm greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a great view of Arenal from our room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We loved the breakfast (it was included). Also very good location just outside of La Fortuna on a nice, paved road! We had a junior suite which was much roomier. Our room did smell a tad bit like mildew but it was super clean. If you ran the AC the smell disappeared.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janelleran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Regards from Magic Mountain Hotel!!

Is a pleasure hear you had a good time with us, just one thing, We think is something wrong about the breakfast, because each of our guest has breakfast incluided always.
We are really proud of you enjoyed the stay; We hope see you soon!

Best Regards!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at this hotel while on a tour with G Adventures. All rooms at this hotel face Arenal Volcano--the views are spectacular. Each room also has a balcony or terrace facing the pool. The rooms are spacious and clean, the bed was very comfortable. The location is pretty good--not right downtown, but there are a few shops and a supermarket within walking distance. We did walk all the way into town one day, took about 20 minutes.

Breakfast was delicious--even have made to order eggs and omelets! Free wi-fi throughout hotel!

Ask for a room on the 3rd floor (highest) to get the best views of the volcano.

Highly recommend this hotel!

Words of Wisdom: Don't lose your room key or they charge a fee.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TempAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina F, Director de Recepción at Hotel Magic Mountain, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hello, thanks so much for your comments!!

Your suggestions are the most important for us, Is good to know you had a great time at Magic Mountain Hotel.

We are really proud of hear we are doing a very good job.
Thanks again, and hope see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
3.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,692 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
3.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,264 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#21 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Property: Hotel Magic Mountain
Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing