We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of Arenal at Hotel Magic Mountain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Magic Mountain
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed one night here. Great view of hotel and beautiful pool area. Nice terrace outside to enjoy the view. I usually get annoyed when people write reviews and complain about little things. However, we looked forward to having coffee on our terrace in the early morning while enjoying the view, but there was no coffee next to the coffee maker. Thinking this an oversight, I went downstairs to the lobby to get some. The desk clerk asked the housekeeper and I was told they had no coffee for the rooms, but they might get some later. Not much help. They did have a good breakfast starting at 7am. Also, it gets light at 5:30 am, so it's great to get an early start sightseeing at Arenal. Would definitely stay here again (but might bring my own coffee for the room.)

Room Tip: Get the second or third floor for the view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pittpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Magic Mountain
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

446 - 452 of 770 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

You have a view of the volcano if not cloudy (volcano has been inactive for a few years now, but you see the cone of the mountain). Great pool. Walk to laundry service. Close to luxury. Modern rooms. Good restaurant and bar. Just watch out for the extra charges in the resturant. We ordered 2 glasses of wine and got a whole bottle and was charged $35 upon check out. The waiter added his big tip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I had an excellent stay at this place. The staff was very friendly a amicable. I had an excellent view from my suite on the third floor looking at the Arenal Volcano. This was breathtaking. It was close to many restaurants and to town as well. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dbo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My friend and I had a great experience here. The guy at the front desk was extremely helpful in giving us directions to our next destination, all the way on the other side of the country. Our room had a BEAUTIFUL view of the volcano. The pool bar was wonderful, and the bartenders are extremely friendly. (TIP It definitely helps here, and everywhere in Costa Rica, if you at least TRY to speak Spanish. Don't assume everyone knows English!). Breakfast was amazing - lots of black beans and rice, fresh fruit, tortillas, etc. Overall a very great hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My friend and I booked this hotel through a tour package we bought online. Little did we know that this hotel would be great!

Upon arrival, we were late in checking in due to our flight delays and long drive into the night from San Jose. The receptionist greeted us and immediately checked us in. He gave us a room on the first floor, which I will admit was a disappointment for both of us. The balcony door was wide open and the room didn't feel clean. It had a musty smell. We asked if we could get another room, but since we were the last to check in, no other rooms were available but the suites.

However, the next day, the same receptionist asked if we had changed rooms. When I said that we hadn't, he made arrangements for us to get another room. He placed us into one of the junior suites on the third floor, which completely blew our minds! It had a view that overlooked the beautiful pool, gardens and faced the volcano. It was truly picture perfect. Not only was the room much cleaner and larger, but there was even a jacuzzi in the room. We were ecstatic and so grateful!

Based on this impression, I was really impressed by how accommodating the hotel staff was. We enjoyed the other two days by the swim up bar. The service was a little slow and crowded during happy hours, but wonderfully relaxing. It was a great place to wind down and enjoy the scenery.

Also, we enjoyed the hot buffet breakfast each morning. The ham and fresh fruits were particular good!

Room Tip: Book a room on the second or third floors!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The staff at the hotel are very friendly and the rooms are nice. The location is a few minutes drive to the town and walking distance to some restaurants. The pool is very nice and the hotel is quite clean.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MitchellW102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We got to the hotel around 7:30 PM after driving 3 hours from San Jose airport. We couldn't really see much since it was raining and it was already dark. We were able to check in quickly with their prompt service. The next morning, when I went out to the balcony I was completely stunned by the view. The pictures and reviews I saw and read online before coming to Costa Rica looked this but the view was even better in person. The view was facing directly to the Arenal volcano mountain and it was outstanding. Our service was also outstanding and we loved the location. When we go back to La Fortuna, we definitely plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,527 reviews
2.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,926 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,469 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#23 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,296 reviews
2.0 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Address: La Fortuna Rd., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $84 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing