We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March in La Fortuna”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Magic Mountain
Georgetown, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“March in La Fortuna”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a weeklong trip to Costa Rica. Our first stop was in La Fortuna and we were fortunate enough to find a room at Magic Mountain. It provided one of the cleanest and more modern Hotels in the area. They have one of the best locations, with great views of the Arenal Volcano. Each room has a balcony facing the pool with the Volcano in the background. Wonderful breakfast included with nice restaurant for both lunch and dinner. Their happy hour provides a great transition from a full day of activities, and we enjoyed ours from the swim up bar at the pool. I would recommend for anyone staying in this area of Costa Rica. Rutledges from Texas

Room Tip: Standard rooms have plenty of room but the corner suites give you a bit more room to spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rutledges_from_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    317
    96
    25
    14
See reviews for
199
339
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Missed the view of the Volcano due to clouds but has nice garden pool area for relaxing and two for one happy hour at the pool bar.

Nice rooms with terrifc outlook,

Room Tip: Ask for a view toward the pool and volcano which are no the same side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiskatinaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeForest, WI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days before heading to the beach. We had a nice room, I was a little disappointed with two double beds instead of a king and there were little tiny bugs in the bathroom but they didn't bite so no worries. The bartender at the pool was very nice and we enjoyed trying to speak Spanish as she was learning English. Overall it was a nice place to stay!

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tfeldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We enjoyed this smaller hotel. It had a great view of the volcano. We also really enjoyed the pool area. The pool was a bit cold but the pool and entire area around it was very clean and in good condition.

We had very good food at the pool area and in the restaurant.

The room was nice, my only compliant was that there were tiny little bugs in the bathroom. I chalked it up to being in the tropics, but it was annoying none the less.

The hotel was also easily accesible to the town.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisanddenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We were on a Caravan tour - loved this small hotel, amazing views, nice refrig, 5 blocks to a grocery store to buy wine, beer or liquor. Unfortunately, as some have said, the hot tub is COLD - the reason why is that the heater is BROKEN. What a shame as there are two hot tubs with a spectacular setting. The buffet has few choices, one am all the food was cold and another am the only cereal (this is a tour of 44 adults) was fruit loops!!! With a few impovements, this could be a perfect hotel, unless you like the big properties. The volcano is right out the window and all the grounds are beautiful, with even a guard walking around the property.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good - tho on a busy street we did not hear any street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I have stayed at a lot of places. Magic Mountain has excellent service, very clean, good-sized rooms, and superb views. There is also a very nice restaurant and their buffet is exceptional. I enjoyed the hot tub and pool and could come up with no complaints. Also really liked the native flowers around the grounds. Fortuna is a good jumping-off place to visit Arenal Volcano and sites to the east. I especially enjoyed Tortuguerros.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paintbydesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pound Ridge, New York
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

My husband and I arrived at Magic Mountain and were pleased to hear we had been upgraded to a suite for free and for no apparent reason (although we were not complaining). The room was large and clean. The breakfast was great and the hotel was well-maintained. Beautiful gardens, fair price. Excellent volcano views. Within (a long) walking distance of the downtown (20-25 min walk). Would definitely stay here again. I am a tough critic and had only two minor complaints (neither of which would change my recommendation to stay here)- the front desk staff was not the most friendly or helpful and our key card only worked 1 in 10 times, but overall, definitely enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a volcano view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ogramrebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,508 reviews
2.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,432 reviews
7.1 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
819 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#23 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Property: Hotel Magic Mountain
Address: La Fortuna Rd., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing