We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most amazing suite + view we ever had”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Magic Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Most amazing suite + view we ever had”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The title says it all, we took the suite and were totally surprised when we entered the room. You have a jacuzzi from where you can see the Arenal volcano, and the room is very nice and big. Nice balcony and a minibar in which you can store your own drinks if you want.

If you are bored with your own jacuzzi you can go to the nice swimming pool, this has two whirlpools and a bar. The restaurant for diner and breakfast was very decent.

For us this was the best room we had ever had in a hotel.

Room Tip: take the junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    307
    95
    25
    14
See reviews for
193
330
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed in a Junion suite which was lovely! As others mentioned, clean, great views of the volcano, nice balcony etc. Ground floor was nice as we were able to watch the humming birds work the garden. Nice pool, great included breakfast (didn't need to have lunch) close to the main town centre. Sports bar (attached to the hotel) had a great happy hour and yummy nibbles. Free internet in the lobby. Def. recommend to others!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Bea_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I absolutely loved this hotel, and area, and can't wait to return!

Rooms - upgrade to the suites, there are only a few of these rooms and you have to pay a little extra but they are definately worth it. Jacuzzi in the living room area, large sitting area on balcony, rooms very spacious and georgous!

Staff - very friendly and helpful, no complaints.

Views - SPECTACULAR! Every room has a balcony that faces Arenal Volcano. The best views are at night or really early in the morning. The volcano is usually surrounded by clouds at it's peak throughout the day.

Swimming - The pool and hot tubs were great. Swim up bar was a plus. Hot tubs were VERY hot!

Food - ok. Breakfast was basically the same each morning and was included in our 'package'. The dinner choices were good, large portions and tasty. We only ate dinner at the hotel one night. The other nights we went to the local restaurants. I would recommend the restaurant right next door (forgot their name...sorry) - I had the squid rice which they formed into a shape that looked like Arenal, cute, and it was very tasty. My husband had a burrito which was HUGE! Both came with fries (I suppose to appease the Americans...). Another local restaurant we located and LOVED was Lava Lounge. It is located more into town but is worth the short drive. Great atmosphere and good food, staff were very friendly. FYI - there are dogs everywhere in this town, we never really figured out who owned the dogs. We think that everyone just takes care of them since none looked emaciated. They will come up to you at the restaurants but I found that they did not beg for food, actually one of the dogs that came by the table at Lava Lounge refused the treat that I was trying to give him!

Another pointer - take a day trip to the Arenal National Park, it is a short drive around the other side of the volcano to enter the park and it is relatively inexpensive to get in. There are several very nice hiking trails that will be worth your time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBrinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here for two nights and were very pleased with our stay. Our room had a great room of the volcano, which we enjoyed for 30 minutes when we arrived before it disappeared for the remainder of our time in La Fortuna. The staff was nice and the room was very clean. We slept well. We did not use the pool or jacuzzi. It was about a 5 minute or 3 dollar cab ride into town or a 20 minute walk. The breakfast here was great, probably the best of our trip! They even gave us large to go boxes when we left early one morning. We did try to use the lounge to enjoy our free welcome drink, but it was closed for a private party.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler_MDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We spent 3 nights of a 10 night trip to Costa Rica at Magic Mountain. I don't have anything particularly good or bad to say about this hotel. It didn't impress, nor was it bad.
The rooms were mostly clean...we had a problem with ants on our first day. I mentioned it to the front desk and the ants disappeared, for the most part. There were a few roaming around afterwards, but the larger group was gone. Front desk was helpful for the most part. They weren't pushy as some had complaints about. They offered tours but ours were already booked so nothing else was mentioned.
Beds were okay. I got the impression handing out additional linens or blankets was frowned upon. When we asked for additional blankets, they were brought but I got the impression they weren't happy to hand them out.
Breakfast was okay.....nothing spectacular. Eggs of different varieties, some sort of sausage or hot dog like thing, pancakes, plantains, pancakes, yogurt and cereal, fresh fruit. Again, not great, not bad. Regular dinner menu was okay but more expensive than restaurants nearby.
Great view of the volcano from the balconies. Nice garden and pool area. Excellent pina colada made from fresh pineapple. Rates for alcohol were very reasonable.
I would probably recommend this hotel for families and would probably stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALJARN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We got here... management showed us our room. Room looked nice... not that great. Pillows on bed smelled... jacuzzi can't be turned on without the front desk which closes at 10. The management is pushy to make you sign up for their preferred tour groups.

Internet only in front lobby... which is closed at 10.

Delivered us moldy fruit.

The free breakfast is terrible.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moo7455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverhead, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed here for the first few nights of our two week honeymoon in Costa Rica. It was a great way to start it off! Beautiful view right outside your room! This was a great location because we could walk into La Fortuna town to grab some food or do a little souvenir shopping. All adventures pick you up right at the hotel which is so convenient! The national park is very close too! The restaurant and sports bar on site is very good! The pool and hot tubs are great and very clean! Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodale11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#21 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
2.5 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
2.0 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Property: Hotel Magic Mountain
Address: La Fortuna Rd., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing