We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfortable with helpful staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Magic Mountain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Magic Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Canton, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable with helpful staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Magic Mountain mostly for its location (close to the Arenal Volcano) and its cost (low average, compared to U.S. hotel rates). The attendant at the front desk (Carina?) was extremely (I cannot say this enough) helpful. She very patiently helped us choose and book tours in the area. The room was clean, with a balcony overlooking the pool. I saw a few reviews saying that there were ants in their room. We saw two of the tiniest ants you could ever imagine. Not a big deal. It is the jungle, after all. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant and dinner there one night. The food was very good, and breakfast was complimentary, which is always a plus.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyDiBattista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    301
    93
    24
    14
See reviews for
188
324
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Magic Mountain Hotel. It has very good views of the volcano and friendly staff. The pool was nice and the swim up bar was nice. The breakfasts were very good and the location was great. Next door to a local type restaurant (soda) and a 30 second walk to Pizza Vagabono which was great. The walk to La Fortuna was only 30 minutes or so but not so bad. A taxi was only 4-5 bucks. Soda La Parada in town was very good and affordable. The hiking near arenal was great and dont foget the hot springs!! We went to Eco Termales and recommend it highly.........beautiful, not crowded, and the dinner there was also good. Our room had a hot tub with views of the volcano which was cool. The water wasnt warm at first but within an hour it was too hot and the temperature had to be turned down. The ladies at the front desker were nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mls1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

The staff was friendly and very helpful with planning tours for us (Leonardo) I would definately reccomend to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdsmyth21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

Magic Mountain hotel was clean and comfortable. The view of the volcano was great and the landscaping was very pretty. There were good photo opps at this location. The kids loved the pool and the bird watching was nice as several birds were nesting in the palms around the pool.

Breakfast included with our room price was good but the dinner was not edible. Way too much salt was added and the kids burgers had onions in the meat which they do not like.

The desk was very helpful with booking excusions. They are able to get discounted tickets to Baldi Hot Springs and always promptly called taxis when asked. Hot springs are a novelty but are really hot! We spent most of our time in the cool springs. The lunch they provided was great at Baldi.

We really enjoyed the Arenal lava hike which I had pre-booked through our travel agent at Latin Destinations.

Room Tip: Second floor provides a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theowensfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

I had all my cash stolen by a maid named Shirley. During the trip I kept my cash and passport in a case around my neck. This unfortunate day I left the case in my room. Shirley was still on duty when I got my passport back at the front desk and I wanted to confromt her. The hotel "owner" said "This could never happen here." yeah. right. desk clerk was her friend and obviously didn't want me to find her. The story kept changing about just when and where my passport was found. A total cover-up. The tour guide was just as blase and unapologetic. When I left, Shirley's friend the clerk said, "Well, she is a single mother." Sorry but I'm not a rich American. I wouldn't have taken a Caravan tour if I were.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Gail94103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

This hotel was part of my Caravan tour. I was quite pleased with the hotel.

Rooms - very clearn with balcony's all facing the volcano for a lovely view. Room had a fridge and safe which you enter your own digital password.

Free internet (1 computer in the lobby.) Laundry service is reasonable.

About a 10 minute walk to the town. There is a supermarket a couple of mintues away.

Servive was good and food (we had buffet) was adequate.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesab33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

The rooms are beautifully appointed, and the view of the volcano from your balcony will blow you away. The hotel has a lovely pool and landscaped grounds. The only down side is that is a small property located just off the main road. This means that you cannot go out for a walk at night because the property is very small, and there are no sidewalks on the main road.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bitbytravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
3.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,684 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
3.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#21 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Property: Hotel Magic Mountain
Address: La Fortuna Rd., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing