We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Magic Mountain
Reviewed May 11, 2011

The staff was friendly and very helpful with planning tours for us (Leonardo) I would definately reccomend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdsmyth21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (793)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

541 - 547 of 793 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2011

Magic Mountain hotel was clean and comfortable. The view of the volcano was great and the landscaping was very pretty. There were good photo opps at this location. The kids loved the pool and the bird watching was nice as several birds were nesting in the palms around the pool.

Breakfast included with our room price was good but the dinner was not edible. Way too much salt was added and the kids burgers had onions in the meat which they do not like.

The desk was very helpful with booking excusions. They are able to get discounted tickets to Baldi Hot Springs and always promptly called taxis when asked. Hot springs are a novelty but are really hot! We spent most of our time in the cool springs. The lunch they provided was great at Baldi.

We really enjoyed the Arenal lava hike which I had pre-booked through our travel agent at Latin Destinations.

Room Tip: Second floor provides a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theowensfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

I had all my cash stolen by a maid named Shirley. During the trip I kept my cash and passport in a case around my neck. This unfortunate day I left the case in my room. Shirley was still on duty when I got my passport back at the front desk and I wanted to confromt her. The hotel "owner" said "This could never happen here." yeah. right. desk clerk was her friend and obviously didn't want me to find her. The story kept changing about just when and where my passport was found. A total cover-up. The tour guide was just as blase and unapologetic. When I left, Shirley's friend the clerk said, "Well, she is a single mother." Sorry but I'm not a rich American. I wouldn't have taken a Caravan tour if I were.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
7  Thank Gail94103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

This hotel was part of my Caravan tour. I was quite pleased with the hotel.

Rooms - very clearn with balcony's all facing the volcano for a lovely view. Room had a fridge and safe which you enter your own digital password.

Free internet (1 computer in the lobby.) Laundry service is reasonable.

About a 10 minute walk to the town. There is a supermarket a couple of mintues away.

Servive was good and food (we had buffet) was adequate.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesab33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

The rooms are beautifully appointed, and the view of the volcano from your balcony will blow you away. The hotel has a lovely pool and landscaped grounds. The only down side is that is a small property located just off the main road. This means that you cannot go out for a walk at night because the property is very small, and there are no sidewalks on the main road.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bitbytravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Loved everything about Magic Mountain Hotel. We looked at other places to stay and accidently noticed the Magic Mountain sign. The manager showed us a couple of rooms and 'walla' we were impressed. Our 4 days stay was perfect. The staff was not only friendly but helpful in giving us ideas on what to do. The room was extra clean and
the food was excellent at breakfast and dinner. We made friends with the different travel groups who stayed there. Great place!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Located within long walking/short driving (maybe 2 miles) distance from a charming downtown. The area is very safe and quiet at night. Fantastic view of the Arenal volcano from breakfast and every single room. Great little pool with the freshest juices delivered to you. Great swim up bar. Order the pina colada for $4 and you will not be disappointed. We literally watched the bar tended crack open a fresh coconut for us then and there. A cute little garden and campus is very clean and quiet. We did not take advantage of the spa, but the continental breakfast was good. Typical fresh fruit salad, coffee, scrambled eggs. The service in the restaurant was the best we had during our entire Costa Rican adventure. Prices are ok - not great, which is the case for much of the LaFortuna area. The front desk recpetionists were all over the top friendly and helpful, fluent in English and committed to you enjoying your stay. Personally, my favorite part of this hotel was the vast array of excursions they offered with transportation (horseback riding, hot springs, hanging bridges, caves, rafting, kayaking, hiking, shopping, waterfall hike, biking, ATVs, zip lines). They were very accomodating and flexible with times. They arranged all of the details and charged it to the room - couldn't have been any simpler for us! You should spend at least 3 days in the area - it is gorgeous and there is so much to do here! I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiffanyinBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,614 reviews
7.1 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
851 reviews
2 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,905 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,397 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#31 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Mountain

Address: La Fortuna Rd., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 00000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $96 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Magic Mountain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Magic Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Mountain Hotel
Hotel Magic Mountain Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing