We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Campo Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Campo Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Coral,fl
2 reviews
“Breathtaking Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

We travelled to Costa Rica last month and booked Hotel Campo Verde online from reviews. Not only was our stay reasonable but the views of Volcano Arenal were spectacular. We were at the foot of the volcano and were able to view the top of the volcano from our patio. The cottages were private with plenty of space. The Manager was always there to help us with our accomodations and provided us with a home cooked breakfast each morning. The grounds were great for walking and viewing a wide variety of birds. We had a great time and would like others to stay in this mountain retreat.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alliecapecoralfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    147
    19
    5
    8
See reviews for
96
195
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

Stayed here 3 nights with my mother. The rooms were very comfortable, spacious, and well lit. The bathroom was clean and the hot shower had strong water pressure. The rooms are complete with an safe and small fridge also so you can have a cold drink. Coffee maker in the room was appreciated since we enjoyed having a cup of coffee and watching birds on the lodge grounds both early mornings and in the afternoon. Bedding and towels were clean and soft. The desk help was pleasant enough, but not overly helpful in suggesting/arranging tours. They did call a driver for us when we needed to go to town. Free internet is available. We ate at the steakhouse across the road one evening since it was the only restaurant nearby. The included breakfast was good and plentiful. This place was quiet and we slept well. Had a great view of the volcano from our patio!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TayDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

We really liked this place. The cabinas are spacious and clean with coffee makers, refrigerators, and a good, hot shower. Each room has an outside patio with comfy chairs to enjoy the AWESOME views of the volcano. The grounds are planted in LOTS of flowering shrubs and fruit trees that attract lots of hummingbirds and other wildlife.

On my previous trip to Arenal, I stayed at Lomas Del Volcan. It was new at the time, and pretty cheap. We stopped by this time, and their rates were well over $100 now (rainy season rates)! The funny thing is - Campo Verde is almost a mirror image (on about half the acreage) around the hotter side of the volcano - and for around $50 a night! The host spoke very little English, but she was very nice, and we all muddled through. I would definitely recommend this place!

One word about the "rainy season". I noticed some people complaining about the volcano being clouded over in the dry season. Let's face it, weather is always a crap-shoot. This was my second trip to CR in the so-called "rainy season" and we had plenty of sunny days, both trips, even at the volcano! Now, I'm from Florida, so I'm used to afternoon rain in the summer - but still - considering the discounts during the rainy season, I think it's worth it. We were in CR and Nica for almost 3 weeks and never had a single day where it rained the entire day, or ruined our plans.

By the way, as far as the 'green side' versus the 'hot side' of the volcano. You are probably more likely to get a clear sunrise on the south and east (green side) of the volcano, because it's less likely to be rainy/cloudy in the morning. But if you get lucky and get a clear sunset on the rocky north/western side, it looks like this (see my pic).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed at Campo Verde for 3 nights in August 2010 and had a great time. The cabin we had (#7) was completely private. We were as close to the volcano as you can get! No one was ahead of us so we had great views of the volcano. All around the property in the back are cows and horses. At night we could see the volcano spitting out rocks and during the day we had a great view of smoke coming out from the top. The shower had great water pressure. The breakfast was good--3 choices. The office closes at night so you can't have internet access at all hours. There also is not wifi in the room. That's the only complaint I had! Would be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeBroda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

This was our third trip to the Arenal area, and this was the worst hotel by far. Live bugs (big ants in addition to the "normal" rainforest bugs that can't be helped), dead bugs (that were not removed from day to day), trash cans not emptied, bathroom only superficially cleaned, and an overwhelming and pervasive smell of must and mold in the room. We had to fight with the shower faucet to get hot water. Our room overlooked the main road so there was the constant noise of traffic. The front desk, if it happened to be open, had no English-speaking help. On the positive side, breakfast was decent with fresh fruit and 3 choices of entree, and a computer with free Internet if the front desk is open.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank majorcubfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fransico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2010

Hotel Campo Verde is a very simple hotel. Decent place to stay if you are not expecting too much. The gal at the front desk was nice and friendly and offer us a great deal to Baldi Hot Springs, which made our first day in CR a good experience. Its not too far from town and the Arenal volcano.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michi415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2010

This place was great, the staff was very helpful, everything felt fresh and clean (it's new, so it basically is). The grounds were pretty, and the view of the volcano was great. I can see why other people complained about the noise, but there weren't many people in the cabins around us so we didn't experience it. It was far enough away from town to feel secluded, and about 10 minutes away from the park entrance, driving. Overall, a great value.
Tip: At night, take the gravel road to the park, and continue past the park for about 5 minutes til you hit a bridge, it's apparently a prime lava-viewing spot (when there IS lava, and when the fog isn't covering it).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonoraryTica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
1.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
4.4 mi away
Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa
Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa
#1 of 71 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Campo Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campo Verde

Property: Hotel Campo Verde
Address: La Fortuna, Volcan Arenal | 9km oeste de la Iglesia de La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 71 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campo Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Campo Verde designed for the enjoyment of couples and families, located right in front of one of the world's most active volcanoes, the Arenal Volcano, just 10 minutes from the beautiful village of La Fortuna. The hotel is run by their owners, distinguished itself by its dedication to responsible sustainable tourism, and its personalized, quality service and attention to detail, making all the difference in our customer’s satisfaction.Hotel Campo Verde is a place where life is the purest of nature, with spectacular views of both the volcano and the mountains that surround it. The guest can enjoy the majestic volcano from their rooms. The Volcano´s ash explosions and lava flows, at night, give the impression of fireworks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Campo Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Campo Verde Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing