We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice rooms - great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Campo Verde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Campo Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Nice rooms - great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at Hoetl Campo Verde with 2 adults and 2 13 year old boys. Had a great experience - nice clean room with a beautiful view of the volcano. Staff was great at helping us with a airline luggage problem. Location was great - outside of the bustle of town but close enough to get at all the sights. Breakfast was excellent and the staff was delightful. Would definitely stay there again on any subsequent visits.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    135
    19
    5
    7
See reviews for
89
174
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Pros:
- Excellent views of the volcano
- Great breakfast
- Staff tries to be helpful

Cons:
- AC in our room didn't work, the staff tried to fix it and got us an additional fan. It was still hot until the maintenance was done the next day. They couldn't switch our room since the hotel was oversold
- Ants in our room! If Day 1 didn't have a functioning AC, Day 2 had ants in our room! Imagine coming back to your hotel after a tiring day and seeing ants all over the floor! Again, the staff tried to get rid of them
- Wifi doesn't work too well

Overall.... Disappointed staying here after reading the stellar reviews.
We asked the owner for a partial refund based on the above and we received a $10/day compensation.... it was an all or nothing offer. I'm sorry, but $20 doesn't make up for a hot room or ants! Had La Fortuna not been completely sold out of other hotels, we would have moved out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VibzN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you have a car and want to stay a little outside of town where it's quieter.... this is your place! Beautiful views of the volcano, very spacious rooms, comfortable beds, clean accommodations, and air conditioning... what more could you want? This place was perfect. We had booked all of our tours and really only needed a quiet and inexpensive place to stay and we found it here. The volcano views were great. Nothing more to say except that you won't be disappointed here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank courtwshr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed for 4 days in Hotel Campo Verde with my 17 year old son. As others have said, the location and the view are unparalleled. In fact, this was one of those cases where the photo from our room that we took to send back to mom was not nearly as good as the actual view. The room was clean and more than adequate. But I have to give 5 STARS and special thanks to the hotel staff, who went above and beyond. The night before our departure, we key twisted off in the room safe, leaving our passports and most of our money beyond reach. The outlook wasn't brilliant -- the town's locksmith wasn't available until AFTER our flight the next morning. So the hotel's handyman went to work for two hours that night. I thought to myself -- "No way!" But then he came back early the next morning and went to work. Again, I thought to myself -- "No way!" But after a couple hours he emitted a grunt of satisfaction and our valuables were liberated in time for us to have a leisurely breakfast and get to the airport on time. I was told by another Costa Rican that this is a Tico thing -- once a Tico gets started, you can't stop him. In any event, I think we had some responsibility for the affair. Although I would argue the key was a bit flimsy, there is no doubt we were too firm with it. I offered to help pay for the safe that was now in 100 twisted, pathetic pieces on the floor of our unit, but the hotel staff took full responsibility and was even genuinely apologetic for our mishap. With that kind of experience, I can't give Hotel Campo Verde anything less than 5 stars. Tip: the room safes can be operated with key or with combination -- use the combination instead of the key.

Room Tip: If you want a to-die-for view, you can't go wrong with Unit 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

With the most magnificent volcano views, spacious rooms, free wi-fi, breakfast included in the (very sensible) rate and super friendly staff, this place is worth staying at. Quiet, clean, comfortable, really, you can ask for nothing else!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I recently stayed three nights here on a vacation I went on with my mother in February. It was by far my favorite place that we stayed at during the trip. We were in cabin #7 which was on the side of the property closest to a farm pasture and farther back. It was so private and comfortable. Gorgeous, completely unobstructed view of the volcano here (see photos, though some cabins didn't have quite the same view). Typical breakfast that was served was very good and filling for a day of adventure. Staff was very friendly. Parking spot near each cabin. Also nice was each cabin had its own porch with seating and a mini fridge in the room. A cow from the neighboring farm did manage to get by the fence and onto the property which wasn't disturbing but was definitely a funny sight to see as he chomped down on the flowers. The birds start singing early in the morning and it is very audible but for me that added to the charm. Would definitely stay at this property again!

Room Tip: Cabin 7 was an awesome view, if you can request the best view do so!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel – a few miles away from the hustle and bustle of la fortuna – but that is a good thing. You would be hard pressed to find a better view of the volcano at this price.
The staff is exceptionally friendly. When we arrived, there was a mistake in our booking and we had a reservation for three people. The lovely girl at the frint desk, said whe would look into it and change the booking after she had ok’d it with her boss. The next day we were informed they had reduced the rate, saving us 150 Dollars.
The room and bathroom is very spacious. I loved the attention to detail , such as decorating with flowers and chocolates on the bed on valentines day.
The view of the volcano is wonderful – it is right in front of you !
Negative: the breakfast was nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,319 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,000 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#29 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 stars 1,010 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Campo Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campo Verde

Property: Hotel Campo Verde
Address: La Fortuna, Volcan Arenal | 9km oeste de la Iglesia de La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 67 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campo Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Campo Verde designed for the enjoyment of couples and families, located right in front of one of the world's most active volcanoes, the Arenal Volcano, just 10 minutes from the beautiful village of La Fortuna. The hotel is run by their owners, distinguished itself by its dedication to responsible sustainable tourism, and its personalized, quality service and attention to detail, making all the difference in our customer’s satisfaction.Hotel Campo Verde is a place where life is the purest of nature, with spectacular views of both the volcano and the mountains that surround it. The guest can enjoy the majestic volcano from their rooms. The Volcano´s ash explosions and lava flows, at night, give the impression of fireworks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Campo Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Campo Verde Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing