We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent view, comfortable cabin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Campo Verde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Campo Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent view, comfortable cabin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I recently stayed three nights here on a vacation I went on with my mother in February. It was by far my favorite place that we stayed at during the trip. We were in cabin #7 which was on the side of the property closest to a farm pasture and farther back. It was so private and comfortable. Gorgeous, completely unobstructed view of the volcano here (see photos, though some cabins didn't have quite the same view). Typical breakfast that was served was very good and filling for a day of adventure. Staff was very friendly. Parking spot near each cabin. Also nice was each cabin had its own porch with seating and a mini fridge in the room. A cow from the neighboring farm did manage to get by the fence and onto the property which wasn't disturbing but was definitely a funny sight to see as he chomped down on the flowers. The birds start singing early in the morning and it is very audible but for me that added to the charm. Would definitely stay at this property again!

Room Tip: Cabin 7 was an awesome view, if you can request the best view do so!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    136
    19
    5
    7
See reviews for
89
175
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel – a few miles away from the hustle and bustle of la fortuna – but that is a good thing. You would be hard pressed to find a better view of the volcano at this price.
The staff is exceptionally friendly. When we arrived, there was a mistake in our booking and we had a reservation for three people. The lovely girl at the frint desk, said whe would look into it and change the booking after she had ok’d it with her boss. The next day we were informed they had reduced the rate, saving us 150 Dollars.
The room and bathroom is very spacious. I loved the attention to detail , such as decorating with flowers and chocolates on the bed on valentines day.
The view of the volcano is wonderful – it is right in front of you !
Negative: the breakfast was nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay from the moment we checked in. The front desk clerk was very helpful with all our questions. The room was clean and comfortable. The grounds were lush and well cared for. It looked just like the pictures on their web site! We would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alysha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the most peaceful, gorgeous places i ever stayed. The service was great. The breakfast very good (gallo pinto). The wi-fi was a huge plus. I miss the place already. Only downside to campo verde is that our house #8 had a bit of issues with the toilet. Sometimes it took long before the water level reduced. But after all i would really go back one day, but then for more then a day.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poeleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Easy reservations & check in. Large cabin with private porch with expansive view of the volcano. Quiet yet convenient location on the main road to park & zip line. Easy choices for breakfast & relaxing with other mellow guests. Easy access to Liberia if you want to buy own groceries to keep in mini fridge. Great place to spread out & decompress!

Room Tip: Stayed in cabin 1 & it was fine!
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VaMarc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We booked a Queen suite through Hotelclub for 2 nights (fully paid) and specified that we would be late arriving. We arrived at this hotel at 7pm and the young lady at the reception told us that the manager had given our room away by mistake. She said not to worry because the manager had already booked us another room at a nearby hotel. We checked and found out that hotel ranks 50 out of 62 on Tripadvisor. We didn't like how they solved the problem by sending us to an inferior hotel. We insisted on getting a better hotel and asked to speak to the manager but the young lady said the manager isn't answering her cell. We tried to contact the Hotelclub 24 hour customer service then found out that there's no contact for Costa Rica. Finally after more than 30 minutes the young lady got a hold of the manager and she offered us another hotel (ranked better but $25 cheaper). After much back and forth we finally got the refund in order to pay the other hotel directly and the owner from the other hotel came to pick us up. We wasted more than an hour because of this hotel’s poor customer service. We only spent time in the reception area but we noticed the old and dingy condition.

Room Tip: Just about all hotels in Aernal Volcanoes offer the nice volcano view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timbuk2Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Mold made us sick. Hard to sleep because of coughing. Overpriced. Noisy air condition. Breakfast was terrible; ham from a can mixed in egg and not fried properly. Burnt bread. We walked away hungry. I DO NOT recommend this place

Room Tip: Find something else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,340 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,007 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#31 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Campo Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campo Verde

Property: Hotel Campo Verde
Address: La Fortuna, Volcan Arenal | 9km oeste de la Iglesia de La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 67 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campo Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Campo Verde designed for the enjoyment of couples and families, located right in front of one of the world's most active volcanoes, the Arenal Volcano, just 10 minutes from the beautiful village of La Fortuna. The hotel is run by their owners, distinguished itself by its dedication to responsible sustainable tourism, and its personalized, quality service and attention to detail, making all the difference in our customer’s satisfaction.Hotel Campo Verde is a place where life is the purest of nature, with spectacular views of both the volcano and the mountains that surround it. The guest can enjoy the majestic volcano from their rooms. The Volcano´s ash explosions and lava flows, at night, give the impression of fireworks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Campo Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Campo Verde Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing