We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Campo's :]” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Campo Verde

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Campo Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Happy Campo's :]”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay from the moment we checked in. The front desk clerk was very helpful with all our questions. The room was clean and comfortable. The grounds were lush and well cared for. It looked just like the pictures on their web site! We would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alysha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    145
    19
    5
    8
See reviews for
94
192
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the most peaceful, gorgeous places i ever stayed. The service was great. The breakfast very good (gallo pinto). The wi-fi was a huge plus. I miss the place already. Only downside to campo verde is that our house #8 had a bit of issues with the toilet. Sometimes it took long before the water level reduced. But after all i would really go back one day, but then for more then a day.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poeleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Easy reservations & check in. Large cabin with private porch with expansive view of the volcano. Quiet yet convenient location on the main road to park & zip line. Easy choices for breakfast & relaxing with other mellow guests. Easy access to Liberia if you want to buy own groceries to keep in mini fridge. Great place to spread out & decompress!

Room Tip: Stayed in cabin 1 & it was fine!
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VaMarc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We booked a Queen suite through Hotelclub for 2 nights (fully paid) and specified that we would be late arriving. We arrived at this hotel at 7pm and the young lady at the reception told us that the manager had given our room away by mistake. She said not to worry because the manager had already booked us another room at a nearby hotel. We checked and found out that hotel ranks 50 out of 62 on Tripadvisor. We didn't like how they solved the problem by sending us to an inferior hotel. We insisted on getting a better hotel and asked to speak to the manager but the young lady said the manager isn't answering her cell. We tried to contact the Hotelclub 24 hour customer service then found out that there's no contact for Costa Rica. Finally after more than 30 minutes the young lady got a hold of the manager and she offered us another hotel (ranked better but $25 cheaper). After much back and forth we finally got the refund in order to pay the other hotel directly and the owner from the other hotel came to pick us up. We wasted more than an hour because of this hotel’s poor customer service. We only spent time in the reception area but we noticed the old and dingy condition.

Room Tip: Just about all hotels in Aernal Volcanoes offer the nice volcano view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timbuk2Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Mold made us sick. Hard to sleep because of coughing. Overpriced. Noisy air condition. Breakfast was terrible; ham from a can mixed in egg and not fried properly. Burnt bread. We walked away hungry. I DO NOT recommend this place

Room Tip: Find something else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Very relaxing three day stay in bungalow #8 which had a lovely view of the volcano and surrounding countryside. The room was spacious with two queen beds, nice bathroom, coffee maker, safe, fridge, and private porch with two rocking chairs. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
During our stay we hiked the trails of Arenal park (not difficult) and drove to the village of El Castillo (dirt road but very scenic) as well as to Nuevo Arenal (also very scenic).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Landcruiser78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very nice cabins in a wonderful location. You can see the volcano (well, this is a lotery in Costa Rica) while sitting in the porche. Simple, clean, friendly staff, great value. Close to many interesting places to visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,684 reviews
1.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Campo Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campo Verde

Property: Hotel Campo Verde
Address: La Fortuna, Volcan Arenal | 9km oeste de la Iglesia de La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 70 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campo Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Campo Verde designed for the enjoyment of couples and families, located right in front of one of the world's most active volcanoes, the Arenal Volcano, just 10 minutes from the beautiful village of La Fortuna. The hotel is run by their owners, distinguished itself by its dedication to responsible sustainable tourism, and its personalized, quality service and attention to detail, making all the difference in our customer’s satisfaction.Hotel Campo Verde is a place where life is the purest of nature, with spectacular views of both the volcano and the mountains that surround it. The guest can enjoy the majestic volcano from their rooms. The Volcano´s ash explosions and lava flows, at night, give the impression of fireworks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Campo Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Campo Verde Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing