We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Awesome view, great cabins, warm family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Campo Verde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Campo Verde
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome view, great cabins, warm family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Easy reservations & check in. Large cabin with private porch with expansive view of the volcano. Quiet yet convenient location on the main road to park & zip line. Easy choices for breakfast & relaxing with other mellow guests. Easy access to Liberia if you want to buy own groceries to keep in mini fridge. Great place to spread out & decompress!

Room Tip: Stayed in cabin 1 & it was fine!
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VaMarc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    135
    19
    5
    7
See reviews for
89
174
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We booked a Queen suite through Hotelclub for 2 nights (fully paid) and specified that we would be late arriving. We arrived at this hotel at 7pm and the young lady at the reception told us that the manager had given our room away by mistake. She said not to worry because the manager had already booked us another room at a nearby hotel. We checked and found out that hotel ranks 50 out of 62 on Tripadvisor. We didn't like how they solved the problem by sending us to an inferior hotel. We insisted on getting a better hotel and asked to speak to the manager but the young lady said the manager isn't answering her cell. We tried to contact the Hotelclub 24 hour customer service then found out that there's no contact for Costa Rica. Finally after more than 30 minutes the young lady got a hold of the manager and she offered us another hotel (ranked better but $25 cheaper). After much back and forth we finally got the refund in order to pay the other hotel directly and the owner from the other hotel came to pick us up. We wasted more than an hour because of this hotel’s poor customer service. We only spent time in the reception area but we noticed the old and dingy condition.

Room Tip: Just about all hotels in Aernal Volcanoes offer the nice volcano view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timbuk2Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Mold made us sick. Hard to sleep because of coughing. Overpriced. Noisy air condition. Breakfast was terrible; ham from a can mixed in egg and not fried properly. Burnt bread. We walked away hungry. I DO NOT recommend this place

Room Tip: Find something else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Very relaxing three day stay in bungalow #8 which had a lovely view of the volcano and surrounding countryside. The room was spacious with two queen beds, nice bathroom, coffee maker, safe, fridge, and private porch with two rocking chairs. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
During our stay we hiked the trails of Arenal park (not difficult) and drove to the village of El Castillo (dirt road but very scenic) as well as to Nuevo Arenal (also very scenic).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Landcruiser78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very nice cabins in a wonderful location. You can see the volcano (well, this is a lotery in Costa Rica) while sitting in the porche. Simple, clean, friendly staff, great value. Close to many interesting places to visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

At $80/night, these single detached cottages were both an excellent value, and a very comfortable place to stay. Nothing fancy, but clean, adequate shelving space for clothes, fridge, internet and an adequate breakfast every morning. Park near room. Also reasonably close to town. The staff does act like family - very friendly and accommodating. If you don't want a hotel type setup and enjoy cabin type rooms, you will like Hotel Campo Verde.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Campo Verde was all that it claimed to be and a little more. They advertise that you have great views of the Arenal volcano from their rooms and try to their word, on sunny clear days we woke up to a spectacular view of this Costa Rican wonder. The staff wore many hats which made it inevitable that we interacted with them on more than one occasion during the day. Especially if you take advantage of the tasty Typical Breakfast of rice and beans, eggs, toast, coffee and juice. The service always came with a smile and accommodated my modifications to their offerings. We consulted with the receptionists on a few occasions about the best companies to use for activities such as Zip lining, hanging bridge tours, and hot springs. We were never disappointed. The overall energy of Campo Verde was calm and welcoming. It was not unusual to be greeted with warm a "Buenos Dias" and a smile from other hotel guests having breakfast. The cabanas were very clean and the sincere effort to reduce the hotel's carbon footprint was evident. It probably sounds like I am paid to write this, but if I was I would not have this one recommendation... The mattresses could use an upgrade. I'm not sure if it's just poor quality, but they could definitely be more comfortable. I got used to it during our 5 night stay, but that is something that can be dropped in the "suggestion box". If you choose this hotel, you can't go wrong. - The Smiths

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sherene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,319 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,000 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#29 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 stars 1,010 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Campo Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campo Verde

Property: Hotel Campo Verde
Address: La Fortuna, Volcan Arenal | 9km oeste de la Iglesia de La Fortuna, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 67 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campo Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Campo Verde designed for the enjoyment of couples and families, located right in front of one of the world's most active volcanoes, the Arenal Volcano, just 10 minutes from the beautiful village of La Fortuna. The hotel is run by their owners, distinguished itself by its dedication to responsible sustainable tourism, and its personalized, quality service and attention to detail, making all the difference in our customer’s satisfaction.Hotel Campo Verde is a place where life is the purest of nature, with spectacular views of both the volcano and the mountains that surround it. The guest can enjoy the majestic volcano from their rooms. The Volcano´s ash explosions and lava flows, at night, give the impression of fireworks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Campo Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Campo Verde Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing