We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of the volcano”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Certificate of Excellence
Greenbelt, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view of the volcano”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

The hotel is located around 10 minutes from the heart of La Fortuna. A taxi costs around ~$3. The rooms are basic. You need to bring your own shampoo and conditioner. The room was slightly dank. Jenny is very pleasant and helpful. There is a supermarket right across the hotel. The soda next to the hotel also serves very good food. The free breakfast was very delicious.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    86
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
54
88
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

The biggest problem with this hotel is the noise. It sits right on the highway roadside, across from a woodworking shop and supermarket. The walls are extraordinarily good at passing sound, so you will hear conversations several doors down, cars rushing by at all hours of the night, not to mention the hammering and electric saws running as early as 6 am on a Saturday. Needless to say, it was not an ideal place to get any sleep.

As advertised, it did have a view of Arenal, and the rooms were clean. I found it a little inconvenient that there were no hooks or bars to hang clothing/towels. Considering the price, I would have expected more than a bare bones room.

The reception (Jenny) was quite friendly, but I learned over the course of my stay that if you asked to book something, she would call the most expensive option. I paid twice as much as necessary for a taxi that she called, and the same thing almost happened for the jeep/boat/jeep that I reserved. Make sure you have an idea of what something should cost before you book through her.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiting Indiana
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

The place was clean. the a/c and cable worked. Water pressure was a little off and you need to bring your own shampoo and conditioner as well as a wash cloth if you use one. But all that said. Jenny was great. My friend lost her wallet with her id, money and atm card on our first day there. Jenny pursued this for us and we got everything back the next day including all the money. She saved our vacation.
The breakfast option next door was good too. There is a small pool and Jacuzzi also on the property. We liked the fact that we could walk to town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amysmom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and I was very pleased with the cleanliness. Breakfast was delicious. Front desk was always helpful and spoke English.
Loud in the mornings because of the road but quiet during sleep hours. Pool was awesome! Overall, pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojomann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Quite by accident I came to Vista Del Cerro as the hotel I was suppose to stay at must have had had every marching band with amplified speakers surrounding it & I wanted quiet. What a wonderful place! It's family run & they were all so gracious, friendly & accomodating! I was so grateful to have discovered it. And because it was so nice I returned several times while in the area to the same treatment!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjs622013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean. Front desk was helpful in arranging tours. Internet worked great near the front. Breakfast was good. Was a long walk to town. Great view of Arenal. Refreshing pool. Only complaint is intermittent hot water.




  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly3341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and left feeling this was just an 'average' hotel. If you're looking for a clean place to sleep with hot water to shower, this hotel is an option, but may not be the best option for the price.

Location: About a mile or more away from La Fortuna town. Not a far distance if you have a car, but is a solid 20-25 minute walk.

Accommodations: Air conditioning and free wifi was the highlight for us. Other than that, the bed was OK and the room was average.

Owner/Manager: Jenny was nice but did not seem very knowlegdeable of the available tours in the area. Perhaps her limited English and our limited Spanish affected our communication channel, but we didn't feel she was a good resource for us to learn about the area and attractions available. She also did not go above and beyond to make us feel comfortable there.

Overall, average hotel, and we did not leave very impressed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#39 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#30 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#36 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Fortuna
Hotel Villa Fortuna
#37 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista del Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista del Cerro

Property: Hotel Vista del Cerro
Address: 2 miles west from la fortuna | (on the way to arenal volcano), La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vista del Cerro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Del Cerro is located in La Fortuna San Carlos Costa Rica, one of the most wonderful areas of the country.We offer very comfortable and spacious rooms where you can enjoy the most relaxing rest, while admiring spectacular eruptions of the Arenal Volcano, from the commodity of your room. In addition, we offer nature lovers a large variety of activities such us the La Fortuna Waterfall, ATV tours to the Arenal River, hot springs, or the fascinating Caño Negro Wildlife Refuge and for those who prefer thrilling adventures we have Canopy Tours and White water rafting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vista del Cerro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Del Cerro Hotel
Hotel Vista Del Cerro Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing