We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean rooms!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista del Cerro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean rooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and I was very pleased with the cleanliness. Breakfast was delicious. Front desk was always helpful and spoke English.
Loud in the mornings because of the road but quiet during sleep hours. Pool was awesome! Overall, pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojomann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    80
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
50
87
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Quite by accident I came to Vista Del Cerro as the hotel I was suppose to stay at must have had had every marching band with amplified speakers surrounding it & I wanted quiet. What a wonderful place! It's family run & they were all so gracious, friendly & accomodating! I was so grateful to have discovered it. And because it was so nice I returned several times while in the area to the same treatment!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjs622013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean. Front desk was helpful in arranging tours. Internet worked great near the front. Breakfast was good. Was a long walk to town. Great view of Arenal. Refreshing pool. Only complaint is intermittent hot water.




  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelly3341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and left feeling this was just an 'average' hotel. If you're looking for a clean place to sleep with hot water to shower, this hotel is an option, but may not be the best option for the price.

Location: About a mile or more away from La Fortuna town. Not a far distance if you have a car, but is a solid 20-25 minute walk.

Accommodations: Air conditioning and free wifi was the highlight for us. Other than that, the bed was OK and the room was average.

Owner/Manager: Jenny was nice but did not seem very knowlegdeable of the available tours in the area. Perhaps her limited English and our limited Spanish affected our communication channel, but we didn't feel she was a good resource for us to learn about the area and attractions available. She also did not go above and beyond to make us feel comfortable there.

Overall, average hotel, and we did not leave very impressed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent 2 nights here, family of 3. Friendly staff, clean rooms, hot shower. Breakfast incl at the restaurant next door, limited menu but very good and friendly. Pool and patio were enjoyed, although it was a little cool when we were there. Arenal cleared only a few times for a picture. A short drive to La Fortuna and hot spring attractions in the area. Great wood working studio down the street, lowest priced, good quality wood souvenirs - salad bowls etc. Very nice location, great value, quiet when we were there. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fav4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Nice location, very clean well-kept facility and grounds. The front desk personnel were very friendly and extremely helpful in providing assistance, information and recommendations. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sct319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Basically the best experience one can get in this beautiful Costa Rican adventure town of La Fortuna. Awesome close location to Arenal, a tad away from downtown so its quiet, beautiful (only like 5-10 min walk to dt?). Overall best value and quality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.0 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#23 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#20 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rey Arenal
Hotel Rey Arenal
#43 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Fortuna
Hotel Villa Fortuna
#37 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
1.0 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#33 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#36 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista del Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista del Cerro

Property: Hotel Vista del Cerro
Address: 2 miles west from la fortuna | (on the way to arenal volcano), La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vista del Cerro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Del Cerro is located in La Fortuna San Carlos Costa Rica, one of the most wonderful areas of the country.We offer very comfortable and spacious rooms where you can enjoy the most relaxing rest, while admiring spectacular eruptions of the Arenal Volcano, from the commodity of your room. In addition, we offer nature lovers a large variety of activities such us the La Fortuna Waterfall, ATV tours to the Arenal River, hot springs, or the fascinating Caño Negro Wildlife Refuge and for those who prefer thrilling adventures we have Canopy Tours and White water rafting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Vista del Cerro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Del Cerro Hotel
Hotel Vista Del Cerro Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing