We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel for a traveler on a budget:)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista del Cerro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“good hotel for a traveler on a budget:)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

we stayed at vista del cerro late April 2012. There was 6 of us in our party. The hotel has friendly staff willing to give you good tips on "what to do" during your stay in La Fortuna. We took their advice and were very happy with our 2-day long visit in La Fortuna! the hotel is on the main street leading out to Arenal, so expect to hear road noise in the morning. We had our free breakfast at the Soda attached to the hotel, food was good, and people were friendly. overall, a wonderful trip, we would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tdkinyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    81
    22
    8
    3
See reviews for
50
87
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I found this hotel on this website while searching for a good but affordable place to stay in La Fortuna, Costa Rica. I was traveling in a group of 4 students, including myself, who are in Costa Rica for some time studying abroad. Because of its reputation and variety of activities, a few weekends ago brought us to the beautiful town of La Fortuna, where we were lucky enough to stay in this wonderful hotel Vista del Cerro.
The staff, although they don't speak much English (not a problem for us-- we're Spanish students), are incredibly friendly and hospitable. They were more than happy to find activities for us to do, such as rafting, repelling down waterfalls, hot spring resorts, etc. They booked it all for us with an affordable, discounted price that left us with no worries and limited damage to our bank accounts. The entire time there was so worry-free, we could not help but enjoy ourselves.
The rooms were simple, but very clean and welcoming. From our room we had the most perfect, breathtaking view of Arenal Volcano. They even opened the free breakfast for us an hour early so we could get some food before our 6:50 am departure to canyoneering.
A more family-like, friendly, and accommodating hotel could not be found for such a low price. Its central location made getting around town easy.
The only down-side is that it's a mostly cash-based operation and we had to do some convincing to use credit cards. Other than that-- I can't recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: Get one on the top floor so you can have a view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chico, california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We were given a recommendation to stay at this hotel by a relative of the owner. The hotel itself is very ordinary and on a busy street. We were shown a room and then given another upon checkin. There were no other patrons at the hotel. When asking for ice I was told to go across the street and buy some. And when asking about the possiblity of a rollaway was just told no. Three strikes. We paid the maid fee, left, and had a much more positive experience for the same rate up the road nearby.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbyhall5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Great staff although most do not speak English but very willing to assist. On main road (only road in town really) and can be noisy in morning with people going to work. Breakfast next door is nice with a few options (and the restaurant male owner was the nicest person I met in the whole country). Small and cold pool. Great views though from upper levels. There were some small bugs in our room but did not bother us. About a 10 minute walk to downtown La Fortuna. Grocery store across the street and some small soda stores in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top level for the view of Arenal. Would assume less critters too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bballer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I stayed in vista del cerro for the first time this week, i found it using my tripadvisor app.
Nice rooms
Friendly owners
Great breakfast
Nice little pool

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ticogringoteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Nice clean rooms at a reasonable cost, excellent food at the soda next door and friendly service make this hotel a good choice to stay in near Arenal. Rooms are basic but have TV and air conditioning and a nice little pool at the back of the hotel.
It's a 15 minute walk to La Fortuna or a short inexpensive taxi ride. Excellent view of Arenal Volcano from the rooms. Grocery store across the street is a big plus!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank next_holiday_dream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We stayed there on the way to the volcano the next day. For a night stop over, I would absolutely recommend. However, it's not a place where I would spend my honeymoon, but value for money (especially in the expensive town of la fortuna) is top.
People are friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and ok.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samthewill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.0 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#25 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Fortuna
Hotel Villa Fortuna
#38 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
1.0 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#33 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#35 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Fortuna
Hotel La Fortuna
#32 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista del Cerro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista del Cerro

Property: Hotel Vista del Cerro
Address: 2 miles west from la fortuna | (on the way to arenal volcano), La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vista del Cerro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Del Cerro is located in La Fortuna San Carlos Costa Rica, one of the most wonderful areas of the country.We offer very comfortable and spacious rooms where you can enjoy the most relaxing rest, while admiring spectacular eruptions of the Arenal Volcano, from the commodity of your room. In addition, we offer nature lovers a large variety of activities such us the La Fortuna Waterfall, ATV tours to the Arenal River, hot springs, or the fascinating Caño Negro Wildlife Refuge and for those who prefer thrilling adventures we have Canopy Tours and White water rafting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vista del Cerro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Del Cerro Hotel
Hotel Vista Del Cerro Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing