We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year's Eve at Arenal Manoa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
LA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve at Arenal Manoa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

Incredible hotel with lush grounds: Very helpful and courteous staff, very clean rooms and grounds, good offerings for meals (buffet), and nice location. Free internet at the lobby was convenient; there is no transportation offered by the hotel to get to town - you'll need to hire a taxi.

We spent two nights here, enjoying New Year's Eve at the hotel restaurant, which had live music after dinner and a spectacular fireworks show at midnight. There were 4 other fireworks shows going on in town so it was breathtaking to have a full moon and fireworks galore (volcano couldn't be seen due to clouds, of course).

Note: Your room has two glass walls, which won't be entirely covered by their wall curtains so beware if you want complete privacy. It wasn't a big problem, though. And take time to relax on your patio and watch wildlife right in front of you. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    489
    97
    21
    11
See reviews for
515
765
37
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bothell, WA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

Arenal Manoa was beautiful. The landscaping and views of the volcano were breathtaking. We were lucky enough to see the volcano every day of our stay.

The staff commented that the hotel was full but you definitely couldn't tell. The pools weren't overcrowded, there weren't any delays in service - front desk or restaurant...we felt like we had the enitre place to ourselves. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Agoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

Our son got married at Arenal Manoa on Thanksgiving weekend. The accomodations for our 40 guests were wonderful. Everyone loved the large bright rooms with that panoramic view of Arenal Volcano. The staff, especially Roy in Reservations, were all courteous and most helpful, and understanding of last minute changes etc. Our events included a casual cocktail party on Thursday evening. Wait staff was very attentative but not intrusive. The following day we had the wedding ceremony in the section of the dining room that has the volcano in the background. The decorations for the ceremony and dinner were by Vitelio Arroyo, who was recommended by Manoa. There were spectacular, arrangements of colorful heliconias everywhere. After the ceremony coctails were served in the adjacent bar/lounge area. The plentiful hors d'oeuvres were delicious and then------the climax-a wonderful fireworks display that everyone could view right from the lounge. Fireworks are a tradition at Costa Rican celebrations.
We then adjourned to the beautiful private dining room for a delicious "served" dinner. We chose from a menu the bride selected and everyone was raving about the food. There was dancing with a band and DJ music, and a most unusual luscious wedding cake, adorned with sugared heliconias. All in all, it was a wonderful, memorable event for our families and friends and Arenal Manoa was a perfect place to have it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OcalaColibri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

Arenal Manoa offers cottages with spacious rooms and bathrooms. The landscaping is beautiful and the manicured lawns are spread out over lots of acres. The staff is very helpful and patient in making arrangements for transportation and in arranging for the many activities available in the area. We are a family of six, three generations, and everyone enjoyed the time at the hotel and the many wonderful adventure tours we took from there.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby3303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

We were very surprised at how large and beautiful the rooms were. But most of all we loved our view of the volcano. The upper units have the best view. We enjoyed the restaurant and the pool and hot tub. The resort is very spread out but there are people with golf carts to get you where you want to go if you don't feel like walking. Wonderful memories!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beeridgemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

This is a great hotel and their website does not do justice to the beauty around it. The rooms are large with huge french windows that open into the green. The jacuzzi and pool are very well maintained. The staff is extremely helpful and the breakfast buffet is great. For the price, this is a steal !!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PP20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2009

Stayed at Arenal Manoa for three amazing nights in February 2009. We had luck to get our rooms in the very end of the complex near to the river with perfect view to the volcano. We woked up on the morning by strong voices of wild monkey family on the trees just 15 meters from our terrasse. Many wild birds, toucans frogs and by nights flashing insects iside bushes! Dont forget binoculars. Really nice and big rooms. Pool with view to the volcano. For going to the reception 1km away was possible to always order golf gab. Arenal Manoa is owned by costa ricans. Service and staff very helpful. Nice tours can be prebooked from there (Amazing canopy, trekking in wild parks around volcano and visiting terms (recomend to book not cheapest ones) City just 5 minutes away by taxi. Perfect place to stay with family. Highly recomended!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.8 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,686 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing