We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting and landscaping with full view of Arenal volcano”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Lovely setting and landscaping with full view of Arenal volcano”
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Arenal Manoa offers cottages with spacious rooms and bathrooms. The landscaping is beautiful and the manicured lawns are spread out over lots of acres. The staff is very helpful and patient in making arrangements for transportation and in arranging for the many activities available in the area. We are a family of six, three generations, and everyone enjoyed the time at the hotel and the many wonderful adventure tours we took from there.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby3303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,150
    507
    98
    22
    11
See reviews for
536
791
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2009

We were very surprised at how large and beautiful the rooms were. But most of all we loved our view of the volcano. The upper units have the best view. We enjoyed the restaurant and the pool and hot tub. The resort is very spread out but there are people with golf carts to get you where you want to go if you don't feel like walking. Wonderful memories!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beeridgemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2009

This is a great hotel and their website does not do justice to the beauty around it. The rooms are large with huge french windows that open into the green. The jacuzzi and pool are very well maintained. The staff is extremely helpful and the breakfast buffet is great. For the price, this is a steal !!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PP20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2009

Stayed at Arenal Manoa for three amazing nights in February 2009. We had luck to get our rooms in the very end of the complex near to the river with perfect view to the volcano. We woked up on the morning by strong voices of wild monkey family on the trees just 15 meters from our terrasse. Many wild birds, toucans frogs and by nights flashing insects iside bushes! Dont forget binoculars. Really nice and big rooms. Pool with view to the volcano. For going to the reception 1km away was possible to always order golf gab. Arenal Manoa is owned by costa ricans. Service and staff very helpful. Nice tours can be prebooked from there (Amazing canopy, trekking in wild parks around volcano and visiting terms (recomend to book not cheapest ones) City just 5 minutes away by taxi. Perfect place to stay with family. Highly recomended!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

My wife and I have just returned from CR, spent two beautiful nights at the Monoa, just right after being in the jungle for three days. We can only agree with all the other posts, there is a great view of the volcano from nearly every bungalow, I walked the entire complex and checked (Yeah I know!). Anyway our/my main like was the enormous shower in each bathroom, you will be literally 'blown' away.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldens Bridge, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2009

First- the hotel was great! Loved having our own little bungalo! Was really awesome. The porch had rocking chairs, you could sit, read, lookat the volcano. Incredible views! Pool was reallly nice (beware of bats after dark). There were bugs, but nothing awful. It's CR after all! The little tour the hotel gives for free is awesome. The nature trail to the farm. You learn a lot. This hotel is a great place. I took my kids, just me and them. We all had a really great time. And i did the get the room for a steal! We spent a few days here and I would totally go back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvsun76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Don't let the dirt trail running from the main road to the resort set your expectations for this resort. Imagine staying in a spacious bungalow and, after a wonderful night's sleep in a luxurious bed, opening your eyes to a postcard view of volcano Arenal, quietly puffing steam from its caldera, through an over-sized sliding glass door that faces your private sitting area. Make your way down to the open air restaurant for a wonderful hot/cold breakfast and continue to enjoy the view of Arenal and the surrounding region, as well as the beautifully kept grounds of the resort. Leave something for housekeeping and you may find how creative they are with towels, fresh flowers picked from around your room and maybe an item or two of yours incorporated, sitting on the corner of your bed. After a day of adventure, return to the restaurant for a full and creative menu featuring items both familiar and exotic, while the staff waits on you attentively. Other places nearby may have the steamy hot springs, but you can do like we did and visit those other places during the day and still stay here the night. We didn't regret it.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TerryS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing