We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Service, Poor Quality of Food, Unproffessional Management”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor Service, Poor Quality of Food, Unproffessional Management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2009

I just wanted to tell you how unhappy my stay was at your
hotel. I stayed two weeks ago with the caravan group.

1. Food selection was the worse at of all the hotels that we stayed that
week.
2. Food was overcooked.
3. Service just poor, I had to ask three different people in order receive a coke, by the time it arrived I was finished with my meal. Also I was never given a bill to sign, but you called my hotel at 9:00pm asking me sign the check, you also embarassed me and told other folk on my tour that I didn\'t pay the bill, I have never been treated this way after staying at over 100
hotels.

!!!!!SIGNED UNHAPPY CUSTOMER!!!!!

Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank aborowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,133
    502
    98
    21
    11
See reviews for
533
778
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2008

We stayed at the Arenal Manoa November 2007.

Rooms/Service - The cabin itself was very nice - roomy and clean with very comfortable beds. The bathroom was amazing - HUGE with a large walk-in shower with ample hot water and water pressure (no tub), beautiful tile floors and live plants. Downsides: Our cabin was a 1 minute walk away from the main house and the path leading to it (and all other cabins) is comprised of dirt and gravel (wipe your shoes on the mat before you head into your cabin!). The path is lit from the sides at night - a few footlights here and there - but it is still very dark and hard to see. We should have asked for a flashlight. We did have more than a few bugs and spiders in our room, which was kind of off-putting. Also, if you like to chill in your cabin and watch TV, be prepared to feel like you're in a hospital room as there is only a small TV suspended from the ceiling in a corner of the room. The front desk folks, though nice, didn't have a great command of English, but we communicated just fine with our Spanglish. They will also gladly help you arrange any activities.

Amenties/Food - There is a pool onsite (which we didn't have time to take advantage of, but it looked nice from afar). We also didn't have time to try out the restaurant for dinner, but the complimentary breakfast buffet was delicious and there was a large selection to choose from (eggs, sausage, plantains, rice & beans, pastries, fruit, juice, etc) - just make sure to get there early.

Surroundings - It was mostly cloudy when we stayed at the Manoa so we didn't see much of the volcano, but there is a good view from the cabins. As mentioned, the cabins are reached by gravel/dirt pathways so your shoes will get a little muddy. The area is surrounded by trees and nature - you will hear plenty of animals (monkeys, birds, insects, etc).

Location - It is about a 10 minute cab/van ride to the town of La Fortuna. Rides are longer/shorter depending on the location of the activities you take in. All the adventure companies that we used provided transportation to and from the hotel. If you want to go into town, you can call a cab, which will run you anywhere from $3 to $6 depending on how far away you are (the cabs are metered).

Price - We booked through the hotel website and I believe we paid around $130 per night for a double (taxes and breakfast included), although it looks like the rates have gone up to $160 now. Slightly pricey.

Overall I would recommend the Arenal Manoa. The location was great and the cabin was very comfortable.

  • Liked — Fabulous bathroom, great breakfast, nice surroundings
  • Disliked — Not enough lighting along path to cabins, bugs in room (not a huge deal)
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank justlovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2008

Our stay here was fine, but it felt a bit 'chilly' on the sevice, lacking a personal touch. Rooms are big, clean but kind of sterile and generic. Had to ask them to heat up the jacuzzi. Due to cloud cover, never did see the volcano, though our room supposedly had a great view of it. Positives- free use of computers, operational TV if you are into that, English speaking staff, ground are immaculate and the breakfast buffet was very good. We went on off-season and thus were spared the 'bus loads of tourists' probably expected in the high season.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank mariegtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, IA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

This was the first place my husband and I stayed on our vacation in CR and we really enjoyed it. The views are amazing. The breakfast was really good. The pool was nice and very relaxing. The road to the hotel was crazy-bad, very bumpy.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — wireless internet did not work
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shiny-shiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2008

After failed attempts to contact the hotel directly by phone and email, we ended up booking a room through expedia. The room (for 3 nights) was all paid ahead of time. When we arrived at the hotel, they couldn't find our reservation. We had brought all of our confirmation numbers/etc, but still they had zero record of us. Funny, since we had already paid them! Finally, the manager came out and said that they were overbooked with a big tour and that he had booked us into another hotel at no charge to us. Although we appreciated having a place to stay, we didn't like that it was done without consulting us at all. When we told him that we had booked through expedia, he said "oh yes, we have had problems with that. If you look it will say we have a room for tonight, but we are full." When I told him that we had booked more than 5 months in advance, he didn't really have a response. If there truly was a problem with the online reserve system, and they knew about it, why didn't they fix it?

As it turned out, we liked the place we ended up better than the Arenal Manoa. However, the cost of the stay there was less than what we had paid for our original reservation. All we were given in compensation was dinner at the Arenal Manoa (which was definitely sub-par compared to the rest of the food we had in Costa Rica; if you stay please don't eat there!) and a discount off of a tour that we had to book through the hotel. All in all, we were very disappointed with the Arenal Manoa, and were glad that we didn't end up staying there. If you want a generic hotel with bland food and hordes of "tour-bus tourists", then stay here. If not, please go somewhere else!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank saskgreenbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2008

We stayed four nights at the hotel in early November. The facility wasn't very crowded as it is a little "pre-season". As a result the staff was very attentive to our needs. The facility is beautiful and very clean. They appear to be in the process of building some new units on hill on the back side of the present property. Since the construction is on the back side you would really never even notice it from the other rooms. We stayed in room 101 which was very nice as it is the closet to the pool and restaurant area. The only drawback is that being that close to the pool you can hear the music from the pool bar from your room. So if you are into going to bed early stay in one of the rooms away from the pool. Other than that it is a great place to stay. You are a little bit away from the downtown area, which from our persepctive was nice as it was very relaxing at the hotel. A really nice place to stay.

  • Liked — The location, the view of the volcano.
  • Disliked — Not very well identfied with signs on the main road coming into town, easy to miss the first time.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CFtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2008

This is a nice hotel, very typical for the area, and seems to have prices that are slightly below the area average.

I'm very mixed on whether it was a good place to stay or not... First (and most importantly), the lava flow from the volcano has shifted to the opposite side of the volcano recently. Some of the other reviews for places in the area probably mention this. This has completely changed the dynamic of all the resorts on this side (the majority). Even if the cloud cover does lift (which it does every once in a while), don't expect to spend any evenings lounging in the pool watching the lava flow.

Second, it's on a dirt road about 1/2 km or so from the main road. Cab rides are EXPENSIVE. I think it was $15 whenever we wanted to leave the resort. Almost makes me feel that staying in town would've been a better option. Either in town or at a place within walking distance of the park / springs.

Keep those two things in mind if you decide to stay here. Otherwise, it has all the amenities you would expect. Beautiful rooms with towel animals and large window-doors to see the volcano. Really quite nice.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank PolyAnalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing