We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“great resort under the volcano” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“great resort under the volcano”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

This was really a great place in many ways. The room was large, luxury, clean with all the little goodies like shampoos, soaps, soft towals, large beds, etc. The view of the volcano was, well "wow"

I saw some complaints of the distance and shuttles, etc. The shuttles came really fast for us, but we only used them for checkin/checkout, as its really not that far to walk....don't be lazy, its such a beatiful place, with all kinds of flowers and trees, its great to walk around and just see/smell nature.

The pools are great. there was a cold one, for our kids to have fun with a swimin bar (hey i had to do something while watching the kids play). the other pool is a hot springs, nice and hot from the volcano, very relaxing to stay in there for a while, even the kids like getting in for a bit.

the front desk was very nice and helpful. Laundry was very expensive ($36) but all places are like that i guess.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexCedeno, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Arenal Manoa Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your comments


we are glad that your stay was incredible , it was a pleasure assist you

Best Regards
Hotel Arenal Manoa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,019
    456
    91
    20
    10
See reviews for
486
696
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed here for six nights, at the beginning of a three week, tour of Costa Rica and loved it. Great location, about 10 mins taxi ride from La Fortuna, which has lots of restaurants, a bank, gift shops and a beautiful little main square where the locals meet at night. We had a junior suite for two adults and three children, which turned out to be one large room with two double beds and a single - not ideal. However, the hotel was able to rent us the room next door to our original accommodation which made life far easier. Arenal hotel is really a little complex of houses in beautifully tended tropical gardens, clustered around two swimming pool areas, which both have hot tubs and bar services. All rooms seem to have a great view of the volcano (when it finally breaks through the cloud) and the main restaurant is a fantastic vantage point too. Food was high quality and plentiful, although the buffet worked out to be the most expensive option. This is an excellent base for exploring the Volcano and surrounding area and seems to suit families and couples alike.

Room Tip: The in room coffee provided is wonderful and the tap water completely safe to drink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perpetuallyjetlagged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexCedeno, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Manoa Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Guest
thanks for your comments we appreciate your comments .. thanks for visit us you are welcome anytime... Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POTOMAC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were here for 5 nights. The hotel is very nice; rooms and bathrooms were spacious and clean, the grounds are beautiful. There is a regular pool, but we spent most of our time in the thermal pool with a swimup bar and hot tub. The restaurant was ok; the buffet breakfast was adequate, but a bit unexciting. There were always very good plantains and fresh fruit, but otherwise mediocre rice and beans, bread, and over cooked sausages. The dinner menu was a little monotonous, so we alternated dinners there with eating in la Fortuna for a change. The best thing about Arenal Manoa is it's location. We did great trips, very easily organized by the front desk staff. We did a rafting trip, a motorboat ride where we saw monkeys, iguanas, birds, and caimen. Both were great! We also did a half-day Arenal hike, and a walk through the hanging bridges. We enjoyed every single activity and would have loved to have one more day to explore a little bit more.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexCedeno, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Manoa Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for your comments and gland to meet with your travel expectation
we are working in your constructive criticisms .. greetings thanks for visit us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

This hotel is hours away from the airport. It has great pools, great dining and great rooms. We did see the volcano from our room which was really cool. also the view in the dining room is beautiful It is fun to swim up to the bar. I would definitely recommend this hotel to do all the adventurous activities in the surrounding area and come back for a great place to chillax.

Room Tip: we took advantage of the spa and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janemc02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexCedeno, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Manoa Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for your comments and we glad to know that you enjoy your stay .. thanks for visit us you are welcome anytime... greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights in July. The entrance to the hotel is unpaved and I was a bit apprehensive about how the hotel would be while driving in. All our fears were laid to rest when we reached my room. The room was spacious and beautiful as expected but the view of the Arenal volcano from the room was mind blowing. I have never had such a beautiful view straight from my room in any hotel ever.

The breakfast is complimentary and is very good. Parking is plentiful and you can pretty much park anywhere you want. We enjoyed the hot spring pool and the normal pool that the hotel has to offer. The hotel is quite large and there is a small river/stream that flows nearby. We saw plenty of wildlife in the hotel itself. I wish I could have stayed for a few more days here. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piyush C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexCedeno, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Manoa Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments and we glad to know that you you enjoyed your stay ... you are welcome anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

This hotel was such a pleasant surprise. We stayed 1 night for a quick trip to the Arenal area. The cottage-style rooms were beautiful, clean and spacious. The restaurant was great. Staff was so friendly. I highly recommend this hotel over the pricier options. Wish we could've stayed longer to appreciate it more. The free wifi & free breakfast was great, too!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCfamily0f4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexCedeno, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Manoa Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for your comments ,were glad that you have enjoyed your stay .. thanks for visit us ..greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband and I just celebrated 10 years of marriage at Arenal Manoa. It is a beautiful resort with very friendly and helpful staff. We loved seeing the volcano and watching the rain and the birds right off our balcony--such a relaxing place to stay! The food was also delicious! We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexCedeno, Guest Relations Manager at Arenal Manoa Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for choosing us to celebrate such an important in their lives as is his anniversary, thank you for reminding us so warmly and for your lovely comments ..Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing