We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your ordinary hotel”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Port Wentworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not your ordinary hotel”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

This was one of my favorites during our visit to Costa Rica. All rooms are spacious, private and overlook the volcano. Hot springs feed pool with swim up bar on lower level and another gorgeous pool w/bar on upper level. Meals were delicious and served in open air restaurant. Very clean. Bring flashlight to walk to restaurant and on property in the evening, as there is minimal out door lighting.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,158
    511
    99
    22
    11
See reviews for
538
799
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
188 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The facilities and lay-out of this hotel are fantastic. The lodges were the best and most modern we stayed in, beuatifully spaced out in extensive grounds with both Hot Springs and a swimming pool, each with swim up bar. The restaurant and bar have an amazing view of the volcano and the food is good. We had a really nice a la carte evening meal with a lovely bottle of Chilean Red.

So why not 5 stars? For us the resort felt a bit too sterile and corporate, out of keeping with the more rustic places we stayed in Costa Rica. People whizzing round on golf carts, an electronic safe that kept breaking (compared to the simple key versions we found elsewhere) and a slightly off-hand attitude of the staff didn't really do it for us. Two specific examples - as our group of 10 checked in, rather than the open welcome we received everywhere else we were lectured on the $10 and $20 fines respectively for losing our plastic room key or slightly bizarre pool towel tokens. Not necessary! Also, some of the bar and resturant staff seemed to take great delight in closing off various sections or telling us at 10.00pm that the bar was shut and we needed to leave. We were a group of well travelled 50 and 60 year olds and felt that this attitude just spoiled what was a lovely stay

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeH98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here last week, a family of four with a 14 y/o and a 12 y/o. The grounds were beautiful, peaceful, and quiet. Views are breathtaking. We enjoyed watching the birds that are everywhere. So many species! The breakfast buffet was good, and we ate dinner at the onsite restaurant one night and it was delicious. We also grabbed lunch poolside one day and it was good. The maid staff made our kids smile each morning by arranging their blankets and towels into animals. Very festive! It is slightly remote to the various attractions in Arenal, but many of the nice hotels are. the roads in the area are one lane each direction so it just takes a little while to get around. Part of the Costa Rican charm, if you care to look at it that way. :). I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Just stayed there this past week on a family vacation. Landscaping between rooms is stunning. Many tropical plants with a great view of the Arenal Volcano (when it's not cloud covered). Rooms were very nice but it could have used some shelves for clothes. A/C worked great. Minibar fridge. Bathroom very spacious and even had a square meter of plants between the shower and the toilette. Awesome to bring nature into your room.
Breakfast was included but was very average to weak.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahovagim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

A nice hotel, one of the many hotels in the area, most of which seem to offer hot springs etc.
Staff are very friendly an the grounds a very well maintained and landscaped.
Our room was of a good size for the 3 of us and like all rooms at this hotel had an excellent view of the volcano, even though it spent a lot of time hidden by clouds during our stay.
The breakfast was good and the restaurant had a decent selection for other meals.
The hot spring pools are very relaxing and a great place to meet other guests and share tips and experiences.
Taxis to the town are easily organised and cost $12 each way.
We would certainly stay here again if we came back to this area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I read a lot of reviews before deciding a hotel, and was happy with this choice. The best part was the hot springs pool. It was so relaxing to take a warm but not hot swim at night. Both the springs and the pool were very attractive and both had a swim up bar with attentive service. The kids enjoyed it. The rooms were pretty spacious, huge bathroom. There weren't screens on the sliders but we kept them closed with air anyway. I saw 0 bugs in the rooms in spite of a plant in the bathroom, and had really no problem with bugs on the porch either. The a/c units were a bit noisy - and we could hear the one in the next room when ours was off.

Although it was the week of easter, it never felt crowded anywhere. There are two for one happy hours at the hotel - three every night with the last from 8-9 pm at the hot springs pool so we pretty much went there every night. We had 6 people, two rooms, and in spite of the happy hours we racked up a pretty good bill of extras at the pools as the drinks and most snacks are around $8-10 but on the other hand we only went out for dinner one night as generally we were just too tired. The mixed ceviche at the pool - served in a coconut was excellent and beyond my expectations. We did eat the free breakfast every day - it closes at 9:30 - and there is an omelette bar where they also made the kids pancakes and fried eggs. The breakfast was good not necessary excellent because it was pretty simple and a bit repetitive but it was more than enough to fill us up.

Also the service was very good - my daughter twice left her retainer with her dirty dishes and it went into the trash. Everyone pitched in and looked, including one guy who insisted on checking every inch of the disgusting food trash twice (and found it). When I offered to tip they said 'no not necessary' but of course I did anyway. The one odd thing was the pool cards - you get one per person and must trade them for a pool towel and return the towel at the pool to get the card back. There is a message on the card that if you lose the card then you owe $25 so I was in fear of kids dropping one the whole time. I found it odd as there is no way the little flimsy pool towels are worth more than $5.

The views of the volcano are very good although when we stayed the weather wasn't great to see it. I did see hummingbirds and lizards on the grounds but not much more, but they are pretty lush - it feels spread out but nothing too far away. We didn't do the farm tour although I liked the idea of it. We didn't use them to book any excursions.

Note we had decided to rent a suv and glad I did. Although some of the roads were rough, the flexibility was really nice and it was easy to get around. This hotel is a bit far out, I'm not sure I would have wanted to stay here if we didn't have a car. We found the hotel from google maps ok except we first stopped by the volcano inn which is the same driveway but closer to the road, you have to go down a unpaved driveway to find the manoa.

I'm rating a 5, for price/value.

Room Tip: We stayed in 134 and 135 and had good views and were halfway between the springs and the pool/restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momofzimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I spent two wonderful nights here on a Caravan Costa Rica tour. It was difficult to leave this very special place!

Our tour guide had been telling us this hotel was "local" and quite "rustic." Not even close! The rooms were large and well-appointed; bathroom was over-the-top; grounds were filled with lush plants and sometimes vocal wildlife (birds and howler monkeys); buffet meals provided to tour members were very satisfying; two-fers (during happy hour) in the restaurant bar at sunset were perfect; volcano views from our porch were incredible.

This was a wonderful accommodation in La Fortuna!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWriter48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,822 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,438 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,820 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing