We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Independency”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2014

All kind of projects are usually connected with a good planning. Translating that to a hotel, we will have the Manoa hotel at la Fortuna, in front of the Arenal volcano. ¿Why? Because the basic idea of this hotel is to locate within a big garden several bungalows, with own access, nice view to the volcano, own garden, good construction and good services (all the bungalows are far from the neightboor, except one with good artifitial separaration; the connection is by means of a small navette available by phone calling in 2 min). The rooms are all first class and seems brand new and clean.
Buffett for breakfast is also excellent, including an own cheese from the farm close to the hotel
If you enjoy a certain privacy, thats your hotel. Same feeling is at the nice swimming-pool or at the "termas" in free air.
On top, the personal of the hotel are all very nice.
It is one of the best hotels we have enjoyed. If we would have opportunity to return, no doubt to select this hotel in La Fortuna, Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Close to swimming pool and breakfast; good view to the volcano and logistically better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,947)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

783 - 789 of 1,947 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

My family of three including 9 year old daughter stayed here at the end of March for 4 nights. The room was fairly large but missing a dresser, the three of us had to stuff our clothes in the nightstand drawers or desk/vanity drawers. But on the plus side there was a closet, pretty big shower and sink/vanity area, two comfy queen beds, a small patio with rocking chairs and the view was outstanding.
When we arrived we were met with a glass of juice and welcoming smiles. We told the front desk staff that our daughter wasn't feeling well, they were very kind and immediately offered to arrange an English speaking doctor and a taxi to get to his office in La Fortuna. As well as send chicken soup to our room at no charge. She was bummed that she might miss the zip lining we had arranged with Sky Trek the following morning but the front desk staff were again very kind and helpful in contacting our agent and the Sky Trek people to re-arrange our zip-lining to later in the day (which my daughter thoroughly enjoyed and was a good way to take her mind off her not feeling 100%). However, she tired quickly and we returned to the hotel for dinner even though we had thought we would try a restaurant in La Fortuna for a change from the hotel food.
This is really my only complaint as the food choices weren't great, and as we didn't have a car and as our daughter was too tired in the evenings to go out for a meal ($12 taxi ride to La Fortuna each way) we were more or less trapped into eating at the hotel. The one bar meal we had was good but dining room food was just average and after two mornings of the same breakfast offerings on the fourth morning we really wanted something else other than the same three fruits, cereal, rice, beans, bread (at least they had a toaster) and eggs. They did offer pancakes which my daughter had a couple of times and eggs to order which was good. But my husband didn't enjoy the fish he had and the burgers were just OK (served with fried egg).
Other than the food (and the long bumpy road to get to the hotel) I can't say enough about the excellent service we received and the landscaping around all the rooms making them totally private from others and most with fantastic views. Our daughter enjoyed the towel animals that the housekeeping staff left on her bed each night.The dining room was also situated in a gloriously beautiful spot with views of the volcano and many birds fleeting between the lush foliage surrounding the dining deck. The location is pretty good, only 10 minutes from town but with a secluded feeling and all the tours we had arranged met us promptly at the front desk.
I would definitely recommend the hotel and if food isn't a priority for you or if you can drive into town to eat then it could be a 5 star stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buccij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Amazing hotel with great pool and hot springs. It's a large complex so you can be carted around in golf buggies if required (or if it's rains!) but it's a perfect little paradise just outside of fortuna. Reminded me of the sort if complex in Jurassic park. Carefully constructed but plenty of wildlife to see including different types of birds. Breakfast is great and dinner, although quite expensive, was fantastic!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Carys E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We have traveled the world and stayed at some pretty amazing hotels and resorts. The Arenal Manoa Hotel ranks in our top five. Wish we could have stayed longer! It is a paradise.

The hotel rooms are bungalows, which line several blocks of streets surrounded by colorful plants and trees. You can’t go far without enjoying a spectacular view of the Arenal volcano and seeing magnificent tropical birds and wildlife. The breakfasts are outstanding, with great open views again of the tropical surroundings and the volcano. On our walk to one of the swimming pools we passed a small lake with many egrets resting on surrounding bushes. We ate one dinner buffet at the hotel; it was adequate but nothing special.

Room Tip: I doubt that there are any bad rooms. Our back porch faced the Arenal volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

What a wonderful resort. The word "hotel" does not describe it at all. The property consists of several streets lined with beautiful duplexes, each with a view of Arenal Volcano itself. The rooms are fantastic; huge and well appointed, with a gorgeous bath that has, strangely enough, an ornamental garden in it. Sounds weird, but it's awesome. The grounds are filled with lovely ponds, trees, and wildlife. The only slight downside was that we weren't overwhelmed with the food. Perfectly edible, just not as knock your socks off as the rest of the experience. Highly recommended!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank DoubleBock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Coming in late and seeing the volcano in the morning was amazing. Food just OK and you could hear the guests next door which kept this review from being 5 stars. But, we were rarely in the room and it delivered for what why we were there. We came with Adventures by Disney trip and the staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FaithS914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Our visit was arranged by Horizontes and we loved this place! We stayed in Room 235 and our view from our bungalow room was fantastic. We sat on the porch and listened to the birds and watched the steam flow from the volcano! The room was spacious and the bathroom was bright and airy. The open air breakfast was wonderful and the grounds are meticulously maintained. We enjoyed the hot springs pool and drinks; (even during Happy Hour, they are pricey, so be prepared and either don't drink at the pool bar or decide to splurge.) If you don't have a car, you will be catching cabs to go everywhere, but it's a fair exchange because this resort is quiet and doesn't have any of the traffic or noise that you can find on the main road or in La Fortuna. Recommend!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Shari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,406 reviews
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,146 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort &...
#25 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,945 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,519 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $136 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing