We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended!”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The hotel has beautiful views of the Arenal volcano throughout the grounds! Staff were friendly, suites were well kept, and the food options provided the chance to try local foods or stick to the US basics. The pool area and hot springs were wonderful, especially on sunny days with clear views of Arenal. If you want to venture out in the area, most destinations/activities are within a 10-20 minute drive. The grounds were spaced out enough to give you ample privacy. We would stay here again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,852)
There are newer reviews for Arenal Manoa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

745 - 751 of 1,852 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

Unique setting with the individual side by side rooms. Loved walking around the entire grounds with the landscaping of flowers, trees, etc. Room was spacious and small patio with the rocking chairs was a perfect way to have a cup of coffee in the morning. Even though the bathroom was big, the only negative was the "gurgling" in the bathroom. Seems that something needs to be worked on for the septic system. You could smell a slight odor of sewer gas. We ate the buffets for breakfast and dinner. The food was good, but not a huge variety.

As for the spa, WONDERFUL massage. I asked for the deepest she could go, and it was perfect other than our communication barrier. Definitely would recommend to anyone who has the time!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The hotel and grounds are stunning, the staff are all accommodating and very friendly. They really went above and beyond to make our stay a memorable experience. The only thing I would add would be more umbrellas around the pool area. We would return again without hesitation.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This hotel was the perfect location for our visit to Arenal near the volcano. All rooms have views of the volcano (we were lucky enough to have clear days with no clouds). The resort is quite large with lush vegetation. Both pools, the hot and cold have bars and food service. Staff was generally friendly and helpful. You can arrange all tours directly at the hotel. We did a zip line, waterfall hike and hanging bridges tour. We had our own car, but if you dont, the hotel arranges transportation or it is provided by the tour company you book with. The onsite restaurant serves a complimentary breakfast that was good, and has a beautiful setting. We did not eat there otherwise as we were told by other guests that the food was not so great and overpriced. Would certainly stay here again!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickiew54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed near la Fortuna for 2 days to tour the Arenal volcano area, an experience that is central to enjoying the CR interior. Manoa is not the easiest to find but is a beautiful well kept property that was excellent in most every way. Incredible landscaping and setting, well kept rooms with huge glass sliding doors and even the bathrooms were notable. Food was very good, maybe not the very best on our trip but very close. Friendly staff too. You are a long walk from the road to exploring on foot,. but in 2 days we had no desire to leave other than for our tours.

Room Tip: All rooms face the volcano. What else would you want?
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I don't understand why Arenal Manoa is only ranked #19. If I went back I would stay there again!

We stayed in five hotels over the course of ten days in CR, and this was our favorite.

The grounds are expansive and beautiful. There is a shuttle service if you would prefer not to walk from your room to the main reception area. We stayed in room 241, which had a beautiful view of the volcano. The weather was absolutely perfect the first week of March 2014. Each room has its own private patio with beautiful landscaping and sort of a "duplex" feel that makes you feel like you aren't staying in a hotel.

You can see the stars at night and a variety of birds hang out on the grounds.

The breakfast was fine - if you are looking for an American breakfast, don't come to CR. Every morning there was Gallo Pinto, plantains, fresh fruit, toast, coffee, and an egg station, among other things.

We did eat at the pool for lunch both days we were there. The food was actually better than expected given reviews. Our bartender, Mario, even ordered something special for my boyfriend, who doesn't eat meat, as he had eaten the one seafood dish the day before. Mario was fantastic - great service, helped us practice our spanish, and told us where to go for dinner.

We ate at Don Ruffino (more of an eclectic restaurant) and at Soda Viquez (traditional food), which is the BEST and cheapest food we had in CR the whole time we were there. A cab into La Fortuna is only $12 each way, and the hotel will arrange the shuttle for you and charge it to your room, if desired.

Rooms were very clean, there is A/C in the room, and the bathrooms are nice and big. There are two pools at the hotel - a regular pool, and a hot springs pool. The regular pool was extremely clean and had a swim-up bar. They also had beer specials - 2 for 1 at the pool, and was the only hotel whose drink prices were reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for the 200's level rooms - they are in the back of the property and I think, have the best...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollyt919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This place exceeded our expectations. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. The view of the volcano from our room was spectacular. We would recommend this place to all ages. The on site restaurant was outstanding. Our 13 year old twins enjoyed both the hot spring and regular pools and pool bars. The hotel uses a local man for shuttle service. The hotel made it very convenient to get to places. Overall this is a great place to stay. Loved every minute of it!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,933 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,532 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,312 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,882 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $112 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing