We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very solid choice for area, would recommend”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed two nights at Arenal Manoa. The grounds of the property are gorgeous including a nice, mellow hot springs pool area. We also loved the atmosphere of the restaurant and enjoyed most of our meals (a couple were just okay). Rooms were clean, but a bit on the small side. We had a lovely view of the volcano if it had not been covered with clouds. I felt like this was a super solid choice for the area at a decent price. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PassionForTravel42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

791 - 797 of 1,861 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights. Everything was just perfect. Staff was super helpful, facilities were clean, landscape was amazing. Full view of volcano from our room, from pool area and from restaurant. Pretty much everything was perfect.

There's just one thing I would change: food portions or prices of dishes. Dishes on pool menu are expensive. For 12 USD I got a pepito de res (beef sandwich) which was ridiculously tiny, though flavorful.

Hot springs are awesome and I thought they were perfect. Then I went to Tabacon and realized what I was missing!! So I guess you'll have to complement your stay here with a visit to Tabacon springs!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank MexFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Excellent trip! Rooms were cleanly, the view of the volcano was amazing, food excellent, the pool was to die for. The excurisons that we chose were excellent as well. Everyone was amazing. The only downfall was that they have a farm on sight that you can take a free tour of. Not worth it as there were only a few animals but the walk back is amazing but be prepared with proper walking shoes. I literally thought it was next door and wore sandals. Nope its like a 1.5 miles. Just remember the time difference upon arrival and plan accordingly. The town of La Fortuna does not offer much as it a small area so be sure to plan accordingly with your time and tours you may book. Thank you Costa Rican vacations for suggesting this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and I booked a three night stay here for our honeymoon in December. We made the reservation 7 months ago and prepaid in full. We received two confirmation emails for our stay. When we arrived, however, we were made aware that the hotel was full and they had booked us into a different hotel and that they were unable to do anything else for us. Despite having intentionally chosen this hotel, received confirmations indicating that no further follow up was needed, and paying in full, we found ourselves staying in an entirely different, much larger hotel, for our visit. The Manoa made no attempt to contact us prior to our visit despite having our contact information, instead, giving us this surprising news as we arrived after a full day of travel. Although the hotel has many positive reviews, without a guarantee that you'll actually be able to stay here, I don't recommend taking the chance. We didn't expect it to happen to us, but it did, and it seems there was nothing we could have done to prevent it. The hotel's lack of regard and reliability was shocking and although we really enjoyed our vacation, I would never consider staying at a place that would do this to guests.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexcede, Gerente at Arenal Manoa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

First at all, we would like to apologize with you because for a human mistake we were obligated to move you to other Hotel .
Taking in mind this inevitable situation, fortunately we find an alternative for you to enjoy your vacations in this beautiful area of Costa Rica and tried to compensate you for this last minute change.
The hotel that we offered to you is a four stars with very good service and also with variety of thermal pools. From our part we were trying to do our best in order to offer you a memorable vacations.
Please accept our apologies and thank you very much for your understanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Waking up and looking out a huge window at an enormous volcano is breathtaking. The room was large and the bathroom was amazing (though we'll let you in on a fact that surprised us - many toilets in Costa Rica (including those here) cannot handle toilet paper - there is a trash can by the toilet for such purposes. Quite an adjustment. The food was just okay and the service really was not very good. The pools are beautiful (one regular one, complete with a pool bar, and one fed by a hot spring), and the grounds are lush and well-kept. The rooms (cabins, I suppose you would call them) are spread out, so it can be a walk to get around (though they will pick you up on a cart and take you wherever you want).

Room Tip: We stayed in the 100's for our room and that was reasonably close to the pools and the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoalieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

UNFORTUNATELY, we only stayed here for two nights!!! This hotel was amazing and so beautiful. We went over Christmas/New Years break, so I think that's at the beginning of the rainy season? It was very warm, and sunny for most of the day, and then both days we stayed it rained in the afternoon and even at night (but not on New Years Eve - so we had a view of many different towns' fireworks displays!!). They have their own hot springs at this hotel, but we didn't see them and we also didn't make it to the pool :( We really didn't have nearly enough time at this hotel. It's off the beaten path, which makes it very quiet during the day and at night. Each house/unit is designed so there's a HUGE tinted window (ours had a view of the volcano) and you can't see into other people's unit from the street or even the path to the unit because of all of the lush plants that were outside! Really beautiful landscaping. When we first arrived at the hotel, we were greeted with extremely friendly people at the front serving us some yummy tropical juice! They told us the kitchen was closing since we arrived late, but they would call them to stay open for us. The staff there loaded our bags onto a shuttle bus, shuttled us to our room, put our bags inside, and then shuttled us to the restaurant! There is a shuttle at this hotel because the grounds are vast. We walked from our unit to the front desk though, and it only took about 5 mins.. and the walk was gorgeous! I really can't recommend this hotel enough and we will definitely be returning someday!

Room Tip: The 200's all have views of the volcano but the 100's don't. I could totally be wrong a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LebzaNgoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Arenal Manoa for four days and had a wonderful time. The landscaping and atmosphere (many cabins yet felt remote and quiet) among the rolling hills amidst a rain forest area was terrific for the price. Everything was within a short walking distance (spa, pools, dining) so it was large enough to get away but small enough to get around. The views were terrific and each cabin had such great (and beautiful) landscaping around it you felt you had the privacy you would want. The staff was very pleasant and they delivered on the price promised. I loved the bathroom and shower area in our cabin as well. We would stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiveTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,959 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,483 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,319 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,887 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $114 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing