We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a bit noisy”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Superior, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice but a bit noisy”
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Nice place. Beautiful grounds. Fantastic view. Beds comfy. HUGE bathroom. But we hated the gravel road in (some might call it rock!) The breakfast was nice but otherwise skip it for lunch and dinner. Limited menu and way too expensive. When it rained (like it does in the Greeen season!) it can be terribly loud in the room. Also got tired of hearing the shuttle bus zoom back and forth at night when I was trying to sleep. AC loud too so room was hot and stuffy at night since no window with screens or ceiling fan.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjc62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,185
    520
    100
    23
    11
See reviews for
556
815
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2008

Absolutely loved the place! Will go back no question about it. My family and I are Costa Ricans, so their discount when paying using a certain brand of credit cards was excellent. We were a party of 3 adults, and 1 child.

The place is simply awesome... beautiful grounds, the landscaping is spectacular. Great views of the volcano. Amazing Hot Water Jacuzzi- you may not even have to visit the hot springs...hahaha. A large swimming pool, and one for children. Beautiful rooms. Lots of privacy. Peaceful, serene setting. Great staff. Delicious breakfast. Nice restaurant -albeit pricey (so pricy we never ate there except for breakfast -because it was included), but lots of restaurants in La Fortuna, the neighboring town. Apparently the place only opened 4 months ago, but already they are GROWING. An excellent destination. Close to everything around. Be sure to take their free tour to their dairy farms. Kids will LOVE IT, and you will too. Rooms were very clean - everything is brand new it seems. Water pressure is great in the bathroom, and excellent temperature too!

Awesome place for a honey moon for sure! It tends to rain a lot in this area, but hit the hot water jacuzzi and you will want it to rain forever. Weather typically is sunny and beautifil till about 2pm, then it rains for 30 minutes or so, then clears up again, and rains again in the evening.

Attractions in the area include the Arenal Volcano, the hot spings, and Lake Arenal.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Restaurant was too pricey
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ticojulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katy,texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2008

We spent three nights here and really enjoyed our stay! The rooms were large and VERY clean. My kids loved the towel animals they would leave in the room for us.

The view of the volcano was wonderful from our room in the mornings! In the afternoon, the clouds would come in and cover the top, so the view was not as good. We enjoyed sitting on the porch in the rocking chairs and watching the volcano (which is very active). It was cool to hear the loud rumble and then see a huge puff of steam!

The staff were very nice and extremely helpful!

The restaurant food was tasty, but pricey. We had dinner there only one night, but enjoyed the free breakfast buffet.

We were in the front section, so we had a super view. If staying here, ask for a front room as the rooms in the back probably don't provide a nice a view of the volcano and it would be a long walk to the restaurant and pool area.

  • Liked — the view of the volcano
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pkltmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2008

If you choose to stay in la fortuna area you will see that you have many many options to choose from. Arenal Manoa may be one the best hotels available for the money - about $100 a night in the off season. Manoa is comparable to hotels two and three times the price - the difference is they do not over charge but perhaps cater to folks who enjoy alot of activities - alot of people in the their 30's and 40's without kids who like to have fun and hang in the communal hot tub, rafting or zip lining in the day time.

The rooms are very nice, cool showers, awesome view (ask for unobstructed volcano view), great pool and hot tub, and very accomodating staff. I will definitely return for longer next time.

Just a few minor things: the complimentary breakfast is very good, but the lunch/dinner menu's are odd - they range from 10-15$ for pasta, to 30-70$ for meat and chicken - i kid you not. so we didn't eat there but went into la fortuna for dinner, where the food was always excellent.

also, the hotel actively discourages you to contact tour guides directly to privately arrange tours - of course they want you to book through the hotel and pay 30%-50% more. i could not even call out to sky trek from the phone in my room directly, as the # was actually blocked. when i called front desk to call for me, they put me on hold and ............... so that was odd, but that was the only thing.
save money and go into town and book your own tours. try rafting with a guy called danny, also the hanging bridges and la fortuna waterfall were both awesome. save $ on food and tip the front desk people well. the other thing is that i was expecting the locals to rip me off mexico-style, but after a while i found that they were very trustworthy, even the cabbies - the people of la fortuna i ran into were very nice to tourists and not out to steal money from you- so this was a cool learning experience for me.

contact me if you want more info: andrewcraigguthrie@yahoo.com

  • Liked — view, pool, value
  • Disliked — dinner menu prices
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank heytherecool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2008

We had a lovely stay at the Arenal Manoa last November. The service was incredible. Let's start with the fact that we were late leaving San Juan and didn't get there until midnight AND Travelocity messed up our reservation. The night guard put us in a room NO QUESTIONS ASKED. The next morning we had scheduled a tour and the manager told us to go, have a good time and we could correct things later in the day.

We had some lovely meals at the restaurant. The included breakfast was always extensive, fresh and delicious. Dinners were also delicious, attractive and the service was good. We became well acquainted with the wait staff and our last night when our son was feeling poorly and left dinner early, they hopped into a golf cart to take him dessert in the room!

The rooms aren't luxurious and the beds on the firm side, but they are very clean, and everything works. The room service was lovely; we paid a small compliment to housekeeping on the pretty towel art she had done the day before and came back later that day to a complete menagerie. The kids were delighted.

HIGHLY recommend this as the place to stay in Arenal.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Beds!
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank COSpgsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2008

Just returned from a week in Costa Rica during which we stayed in four different hotels, and the Arenal Manoa was our favorite! Rather than one building with lots of rooms, the grounds are set up like a small neighborhood with little bungalow style units. Ours was #103 which had the most amazing views of the volcano. Despite the floor to ceiling windows on two walls, it felt very private and peaceful.

My friend and I loved sitting in the wood rocking chairs on our porch and watching Arenal puff smoke into the air, or listening to the rain pour down.

The people at the front desk were very kind and helpful. I really enjoyed dinner at the restaurant, though the prices were a little bit higher than I expected. Probably the result of Arenal being a touristy area and because I ordered seafood.

Overall, loved this hotel and would definitely stay here again when I visit Arenal and La Fortuna.

  • Liked — Beautiful room and grounds with amazing views of Arenal Volcano
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastBayGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2008

The hotel was a pleasant surprise.
Our group arrived at this hotel after our 2 day rafting adventure.
Most everything here was great to have available.
The rooms are rather spacious. The AC works fine. The showers water pressure was fantastic. The beds were comfy. The bathrooms are just as they show in the pix, they're great.
The people who work here are really nice and try to do what they can for you.
Watch the prices on the menu. There were differences on a couple of the menus.
It was raining most of the time. They have umbrellas available. What was even better is they have a couple cars that will pick you up or drop you off to your room.
There was no clock in the room. Didn't really care too much as I didn't even turn on the TV.
I needed a 1a.m. wake up call. That never happened. Luckily I set my cell phone alarm.
The lobby closes at 10p.m. I'm not sure what time they open. If you are checking out early, settle your bill the evening before.
I can't wait for my next journey to CR.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,888 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,440 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,513 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,870 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing