We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent View of Nature + Volcano”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
1 review
“Magnificent View of Nature + Volcano”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our family of 3 stayed in room 240, with double beds, spacious, and very comfort. Outside the window/patio was a beautiful view of the Arenal Volcano. The staffs here are courtesy and friendly. Especially, Liz and Andres at the front desk really went out of their way to find a driver who can deliver our camera's battery and charger which we left it in the room after arrived in Monteverde. Once again, I want to say "Thank you"!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thanh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    511
    99
    22
    11
See reviews for
538
799
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
302 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a hotel that does an excellent job of maintaining the grounds in spectacular condition. The hotel staff was very friendly, the rooms are vary spacious and located with easy access to the Tobocan hot springs and to La Fortuna for shopping and dining. The breakfast was also very good and included in the hotel price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrodriguez2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
331 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed in August in room 240, great comfort, very good restaurant and beautiful setting just in front of the volcano.
Breakfast was not the best, but they make up the difference with lunch and dinner, at the restaurant or the pool bars. Very nice

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toomuchtravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here for 3 nights. We were in room 226/227. 2 adults in a king in one room and a 11 & 15 yr old in the other adjoining room. Loved the beds, the set up, having 2 bathrooms, AC and 2 TV's. The hotel bed was really comfortable and hotel amenities were great. We had a perfect view of the volcano from our room/patio, which was awesome. We were close to the pool and restaurant, which was also great. For sure, go to the pool for happy hour, drinks are 2 for 1 and bar food is discounted. MARIO at the main pool bar is fantastic. The hotel transportation is fast and you can call for any reason. Restaurant food is good, a bit pricey. Hit the happy hours instead. A cab to get into La Fortuna is $12 each way. Bummer. If you do a tour that goes thru la Fortuna, ask them to drop you off in town and save yourself one way cab fare. A few hotels are closer to town, not sure if they are nicer though. Fromt desk staff was lovely.

Room Tip: A family of four would love the adjoining rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbun22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Nicely kept grounds, great view of Arenal volcano, well kept rooms, free standing bungalows, two connected. A/C, tv, etc. All functioning, this time of year(late August), not many crowds, relatively quiet. Our room was 205, recommend this part of the complex in the back, pretty quiet other than the neighbors noisey 7am (I guess they were leaving or going on an early tour). The jets in the Jacuzzi at the thermal pool as well as the Jacuzzi in the 'cold' pool were rather weak, in my opinion. The breakfast buffet didn't offer a big selection, but it was of good quality, including oatmeal and fruit. We got a 'deal' through Expedia, saved about $30 a night. reception staff friendly and helpful. I would stay in the hotel again. (P.S. I don't understand about those people who complained about 'long walk' to certain parts of the complex. Unless you are handicapped, I didn't find any long distances to any of the restaurants or pools. Of course, I like to walk, no more than 5-10 minutes anywhere to walk in the hotel.)

Room Tip: Rooms in the 200's are quieter, get one facing the volcano and gardens, not the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Our room was spacious and comfortable with an incredible view of the volcano. The pools were really nice, but not as large as we were expecting from the photos we saw online. The tour company for our activities met us right at the front desk, and all taxis we took knew exactly where the hotel was - which was nice. The only complaint we had was with the hotel restaurant. It is relatively expensive and some of the items on the menu are really not very good. We recommend paying the fee to take the shuttle into town for lunch and dinner. That being said, the area is breathtaking and the hotel made us feel very safe and comfortable.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back of the property and had a spectacular view of the volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, Connecticut
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We loved this hotel! Don't be fooled by the drive in - the dirt road leads to paradise! We had two great rooms near the hot springs that let us see the volcano while we were lying in bed. The staff at the reception desk couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. She helped book our tours and gave us great recommendations for dinner and shopping. We ate at the restaurant one night and the food was great. Breakfast was included and was excellent. We would definitely come back to Manoa.

Room Tip: Ask to be near the hot springs - views are great and you never hear any noise from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,822 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,439 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing