We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel! Great location, great pools, great food!”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Amazing hotel stay. The view was absolutely stunning- our room looked right at the Arenal volcano. The size of the room and bathrooms are big and spacious.
They have a great size pool with great drink prices and good food as well. The heated pool is AMAZING, as the water comes straight from the volcano. My husband and I decided not to do the hot springs just because this hotel had a natural heated pool which was less crowded and much more quaint than the hot springs some people traveled too.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room that looks at the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelica s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

871 - 877 of 1,879 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel beginning July 2013. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The view from the small balcony was superb! Looking at the Arenal Volcano and its permanent fumarole early mornings and evenings was just fantastic! The pools both, with termal water and cool, were clean and relaxing.
Staff were helpful and accomodated the four of us even when the hotel was full and we had not booked in advance. We also got a reduced fare because of the inconvenience of changing room during our three nights stay. We enjoyed the beautiful gardens and the whole place over all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia297452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at Arenal Manoa the beginning of July. We had great weather and loved the town of La Fortuna. The people working the front desk were always helpful and friendly. When we wanted to go to town, they would call a shuttle for us. It was $12 each way, which was kind of expensive. The service we received from the drivers, bartender and front desk were terrific. The service in the restaurant was not so good.
I will break down each part:
The rooms: We had two adjoining rooms. They faced the volcano and had a private garden in front. They were amazing. They are very spacious with a sitting area and large bathroom. They even provide a refrigerator and coffee pot. It was nice to sit on our patio and enjoy coffee in the morning looking at the volcano. The only issues we found with the room was when it rained the sound from the metal roof was so loud and the bed and pillows were very uncomfortable.

The pool/bar (cold one): This pool was right near our room and next to the restaurant. It was perfect temperature and nice to relax in at the pool bar. The bartender was great and the food at the bar was great! We had lunch there the first day and it was wonderful. Not expensive. The drink prices are reasonable and happy hour prices are great!

The restaurant: The breakfast was nice, but the service was not great. The servers were not very friendly and did not seem to like their job. We ate lunch in the restaurant one day and the menu was not like the bar menu. It was more expensive and less options. The food was good though. We also had dinner there our last night. The menu looked good, but expensive and small portions. My husband tried to order pork chops and the waitress said they did not have them. He then tried to order something else and they did not have that either. I heard someone else order pork chops at another table and was not told they were out. The waitress did give us a complementary dessert for the inconvience.

Overall, the grounds and rooms are beautiful and we really enjoyed our stay here. I would recommend it to others coming to the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the patio facing a garden. Some room patios face the street and are not private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iluvtwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My experience was very good. The staff were superb, the food well I didn't come down to Costa Rica to eat Salmon or New Zealand Mussels but over all it was good just wish there were more typical Tico foods on the menu. My only complain was that the lighting in the room was too dim to read my book. Put a bright table lamp on the desk.

Room Tip: get a room near the resturant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great Hotel and service
One problem was security around the pool.
We only lost shoes and clothes as we always left money and passports in the safe.
Staff are excellent especially in reception.
Rooms are very spacious with air con and a very useful fridge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I went to Costa Rica on an eco-adventure, and the first two properties were more rustic, but I saw the wildlife I went to see and couldn't have seen the birds, monkeys, etc. without that. When we got to Arenal Manoa, it was like, "Okay, back to a little luxury and amenities. This is really nice!" And it was. The rooms were well-appointed and welcoming; the grounds were like a resort with villas. The restaurant on the property was lovely--you can sit and look at the volcano and the beauty all around you. And the meals delicious...nice service. It was a property I could have stayed at for several days and gone to the spa, but we were moving on. If you are going to that area (and we went to the hot springs at Tabacon from that location), then stay here! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirdWatcher_108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

First the good then the bad. My family had two rooms for three nights in July 2013. The grounds are beautiful with extensive tropical plants and an amazing view of the volcano. We had lots of birds and heard howler monkeys two mornings. I had read that there is some noise between the rooms but since our two rooms were together in one unit it was not a problem. I think for most people shutting the bathroom door would work. The problem was with one of the staff and I considered even a lower rating because of it. We should have each been given a card to allow us towels at the pool but neither envelope with the room keys had them. We did not know that they were required and a call to the front desk was very, very unpleasant. I do not think guests should be told in an insistent manor that cards had been given and there could be a charge. This threat was for small plastic cards after a polite question! We were actually never provided pool towels. The hotel has lots of good features but poor customer treatment would keep me from returning.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 216, 217. These are close to the restaurant and pool but far from the front. We n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slix1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,034 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,343 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#14 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,530 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,903 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $128 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing