We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely LOVED this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely LOVED this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and before that we stayed at Tabacon for two nights. I wish we had stayed at Arenal Manoa the whole time! I absolutely loved this place. There are small buildings on the hillside that have only two rooms side by side in them, so they are very private and quiet. Each room has picture window sliding glass door going to a private patio with an amazing view of the volcano. We were lucky and had pretty clear skies for our stay. I could have sat on the patio with a delicious cup of coffee (can make it in your room) and watched the clouds pass over the volcano all day. We also saw monkeys, lizards, and birds outside our room. Hummingbirds visited the flowered bushes around our patio. The rooms were very large, beds were comfortable, and bathroom was really nice. The grounds are large and very pretty. There is a shuttle that comes right away when you call the desk to pick you up if you like, or you can walk to the lobby or restaurant if you want, which we did most of the time. It is nice to walk around and look at the little pond, waterfall, various trees, etc. They have an operating farm on the property too which you take a free tour of. We saw a couple Oropendolas on the walk to the farm. They also have a spa on location if you are so inclined. They have a thermal pool and a regular pool - both have bars, food, and views of the volcano with the regular one being the best view. We ate breakfast (included), one lunch, and one dinner at the hotel during our stay. The breakfast buffet is great with the typical food and an omelet bar. Lunch was good and not as expensive as some hotels, but still more than you will pay in town. Dinner was also good. I think you can get better meals in town, but if you don't feel like going out, it is not a bad choice. They will arrange tours for you at the front desk. The staff was friendly and helpful. It is only about 10 minutes driving from downtown. If I am ever back in La Fortuna, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 204 is amazing. It sits right above the spa and pond, so there is no room or road in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenGirlH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    457
    91
    20
    10
See reviews for
486
701
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hellertown
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Hotel was very nice. Having only two rooms to a building made it more enjoyable. The view of the volcano from the porch of our room was fabulous! All of the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel to other travelers,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lora P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Lots of nice things about this hotel, some not so nice. First, if it's a clear day, you'll get a great view of the volcano -- see the picture, which was taken from our hotel room. Each room is in a 2-room bungalow, so there are few neighbors to make noise -- but the walls between the two rooms are paper thin. The bungalow layout means that the hotel grounds are very spread out. If you are near the restaurant and the traditional pool, you have a 10 minute walk to reception and the thermal springs pool. However, there is a free shuttle service. They recently replaced their beds, but the new beds are way too hard to be comfortable. Warning -- the air conditioning is on a remote control, so don't look for a wall switch. The restaurant is pretty good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MenloMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

After a great stay in the (hot and humid) Manuel Antonio area, we eventually (after a tiring 6.5 hour shuttle ride) arrived at the Manoa to spend a few nights in the cooler Arenal area.

The hotel grounds are stunning – it’s laid out like a small village with single-storey lodges dotted around some small roads, and surrounded by exotic trees, lakes and rivers teeming with all manner of birds and animals. One thing I should point out is that, unless you are infirm or just downright lazy, you should only ever need to use the shuttle bus twice (arriving and leaving with your luggage). We walked from the restaurant area right at the back, to the reception at the front, in about 10 minutes at a fairly slow pace - so anyone who complains about this needs to get a grip.

Unfortunately, my biggest regret from our trip to Costa Rica is that we didn't stay longer at the Manoa. As we only really had one full day here (and half of that taken up by a great trip out to the hanging bridges), we only experienced a fraction of what we could have but we did try..
we made use of the restaurant for both breakfast and lunch, we spent our final evening having drinks and lounging in the hot pools by the bar and we walked around the grounds snapping pics of the wildlife.

One thing you have to remember is that although the hotel occupies a lot of space, it doesn't actually have that many rooms (due to the way they are laid out) so there isn't a high enough guest count to warranty multiple restaurants. The one that is there is fine – in fact, it’s actually very nice with some incredible views over to the volcano, and the food and drink were of good quality (if a little pricey). However, sometimes it’s nice to have other options. Not an issue for us due to our short stay but I’d imagine anyone staying a week or longer would probably want to hire a taxi for a trip into La Fortuna for some dining alternatives.

The rooms were fine – extremely spacious, very comfortable and with all the facilities that one could want.. although the safe is on the small side (you won't fit a 13” laptop or a large DSLR in one). All rooms have large sliding glass doors that face out to the volcano and if you can get a room where this view is not facing the road, you end up with a fairly private little seating area (rocking chairs no less) to sit and watch the birds and the volcano when it emerges from the clouds).

One other thing I was very impressed with was that, unlike the other two hotels we had stayed at during this trip (one in NYC and the other in the Manuel Antonio area), the internet connection here was great – a strong signal wherever we were in the hotel grounds and fast/reliable at all times. Why can’t every hotel manage this?!

I would certainly recommend the Manoa for anyone looking for a relaxing/peaceful stay during their time in the Arenal area – it’s no party zone (so if that’s what you are looking for, try somewhere closer to town) but it’s definitely a great place to stay anda perfect base to explore the area.

Room Tip: Try and get one where the volcano view is not facing one of the roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MProudfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great place to view the volcano....lovely rooms....very private. Lots of beautiful birds. Has great pool an spa. If you go stay in the rooms numbered 200. Breakfast good, buffet was awful! Go into town as there are many great restaurants there.

Room Tip: For great views stay in rooms #200!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaOSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I had a short stay for myself on a business meeting. I did not get to try the spa. In general, the Fortuna area in Costa Rica has a lot more to offer than this hotel. There are much better hotels for a better price.

The place is very peaceful. Big rooms, with a nice bathroom. The beds are not that comfortable. Very in touch with nature because you can hear the bugs and frogs at night... these makes a great sleep. The food is average. Breakfast fine. If you order from the menu it is much better than if you order from the buffet. I sincerely don´t recommend the buffet.

The pools are nice. They have a hot one and cold one. It has very nice place to walk or run with a beautiful small lake inside the property.

It is a nice option. But there is a better choice of hotels in the area for the same price. I will stay there is other hotels around the place had no vacancy, if not I will find another option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabyI1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed four nights at this hotel & it was great. The staff are very friendly and will all say "hola" as you pass. We had a beautiful room with great picture window and a view of the Volcano (mostly in cloud). The children were particularly amused by the flowerbed in the large bathroom. Facilities in the room are quite basic & would benefit from a drying rack.
The site is beautiful and very well kept. We loved the flock of egrets that roosted over night on the tree over the lake, turning it white.
I had a complementary mudmask at the spa, which I thoroughly recommend.
There are two pools - a colder pool & a hotsprings pool. We mostly stuck with the cooler pool as the hot pool really is quite warm.
Food was good, although evening service in the restaurant was quite slow.

The hotel is quite a way out of town, and the hotel will arrange transport in to town for $15 each way. We generally picked up a taxi at the taxi rank to return (which was easy) & on the meter it was still about $15 for the trip.

We went on the complimentary farm tour, which was OK. It's about 1km walk up a track with a guide, who chatted about wildlife & life in Costa Rica on the way. At the farm we milked a cow, and saw chickens and pigs. The chickens provide all the eggs for the hotel & the pigs eat some of the hotels food waste. The milk is sent for processing & not used by the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ness321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing