We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manoa Hotel”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Fantastic place. Beautiful lush tropical grounds, large rooms, AC,patio with view of Volcano. Great swim up bar with 2 for 1 tropical drinks. Open air restaurant served delicious food. Staff very friendly, made up room beautifully with fresh flowers daily. Need taxi to get to town $12.

Room Tip: If you are in the # 100 rooms,closer to volcano and reception, the# 200 rooms closer to pool dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

923 - 929 of 1,863 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

We spent two nights at the Arenal Manoa Hotel and Spa while touring Costa Rica with Caravan Tours. We were immediately impressed by the service of the hotel - the check-in was well orchestrated for our tour of 46 people. Our bags were promptly delivered to our beautiful villa. We stayed in Unit #20, which was a fabulous location near the main building, hot pools and a beautiful view of the Arenal Volcano.

The room was very clean and I was immediately impressed by the bathroom - spacious, clean and well designed. Loved the touches of the folded toilet paper!

We ate two dinners and two breakfasts during our stay. The food was delicious, fresh and nice variety.

We were fortunate that we had beautiful blue skies during our stay at Arenal and were able to enjoy the views of the volcano and the meticulously landscaped grounds.

While at the Arenal Manoa we enjoyed the naturally heated hot pool and bar in the evening - great service and wonderful way to end the day!

Room Tip: We stayed in Unit #20 - excellent location to the hot pools with a beautiful unobstructed view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our bungalow with patio and pretty view of the volcano! We stayed with our adult daughters; the 2 queen bed room was roomy with fridge, coffee maker and large bathroom. We enjoyed the patio with rocking chairs and view to gardens and Arenal - so relaxing! David at reception was welcoming on check-in and very helpful with contacting our canyoneering trip on our behalf. Wifi was easy to use along with their computers in the lobby to check email - made it easy to stay connected. We really enjoyed the breakfast! Good variety of fresh fruit plus rice, beans, sausage, potatoes, yogurt, granola, oatmeal, toast, muffins & eggs on the buffet. You could also have a made-to-order smoothy, omelet or pancakes / french toast. Service was great for breakfast and so was the coffee at a pretty setting! We ate at the restaurant for dinner 1 night and it was good but not great; service was a bit slow and drinks were 'meh'. We really enjoyed the pools and hot tubs (we tried both the 'warm' and 'cool'. We may be younger than some of the folks staying here but honestly it's only a block or two to walk to the restaurant or to the pools - and it's a BEAUTIFUL walk - so that shouldn't deter you from staying here! As my 82 year old mom would say 'use it or lose it'. And, there are the shuttles if you need them. There is a real nice hiking trail that you can reach by walking down the farm road (go left at the 'y' and look to your right for the trail sign). It was a beautiful morning walk and we saw multiple monkeys in the trees along with cows and a pretty countryside. We would stay here again if / when we return to Costa Rica. Overall a very nice stay, with great service and great breakfast!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 210 which was next to a pasture with mares (and a brand new foal) and also great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynnkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I absolutely loved the customer service I received at the Arenal Manoa Hotel. The room was BEAUTIFUL and the view was even more SPECTACULAR. There is a great deal of walking you have to do if you want to get to the front office. However, you can call and a drive will pick you up at your room. The only downfall to this is that I felt guilt for not tipping them each and every time they came to pick me up...so in the end with all the tipping Costa Rica became rather expensive...much more than I ever expected. I would, however, definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family. It was great. Another disadvantage was the fact that there were very few young and lively people. The guests were on average older than 55...and lastly the hotel was very far from the city, so you were forced to call a cab because walking was not an option. This great distance from the shops was disappointing.

Room Tip: The further in the back your room, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarmaesha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Arenal Manoa is a beautiful hotel with stunning grounds. The rooms are superb [we've never had a garden in our bathroom before!]. One of our reasons for including Arenal on our itinerary was to see the volcano - as it poured with rain for the two days we were there, this was covered in thick cloud, so we only spotted the bottom of it. Maybe we'll have to come back one day to see if it really is there!
We had an excursion to the Arenal Hanging Bridges which [again despite the rain, which created atmosphere!] was a real highlight of our holiday. Danny, our guide, was so enthusiastic that our two hour guided trip extended more to three hours and even then, we were reluctant to leave this amazing place. We'll never forget the bridges above the canopy in the forest and the wildlife we saw.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy and Denni... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The rooms were spacious - designed in a bunglalow style & even had a plant bed in the bathroom,Lovely thermally heated swiiming pool with bar area & jaccuzzi.The food was great,not too good on the meal offer.The gardens were exceptional throught the whole grounds within the resort & blended in nicely.Look out for the roosting group of white herons that roost in the tree overlooking the lake.We stayed 3 nights,on the last night,we managed to get a good look at the volcano from just outside our room as it was mostly shrouded in mist.Hanging bridges trip worth doing - we booked that from the hotel.Friendly staff.Golf style cart will transport any luggage for you.

Room Tip: As only one restaurant on site,if cant be bothered to walk too far,ask for room fairly near the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Arenal Manoa Hotel during our Honeymoon in Costa Rica. Our first stop was a very small hotel on the Caribbean coast, so this hotel - being a big resort - was quite different from the first one.

The first afternoon we stayed at the pool area, which was nice and had a small wet bar. For the next day, we booked a Hanging bridges tour via the hotel, and the tour was really nice. The jungle was very beautiful with amazing views from the bridges. After the tour we stayed the afternoon in the Tabacon hot springs. It's simply an amazingly beautiful outdoor natural spa with hot springs heated up by the vulcano and well worth the visit.

We were definitely among the youngest guests (30+) in the hotel, the majority of the guests being "senior citizens". Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay here as well. The room was spacious and clean, and it had a beautiful view of the volcano. We found the room a bit "unpersonal".

The breakfast buffet was really good with a variety of different things - fresh fruit, an omelette station, hot and cold dishes and so on. We also ate in the hotel restaurant during the evenings, and the food was good, but not outstanding (and a bit overpriced).

If you're looking for a comfortable resort style stay, the Arenal Manoa will probably be a safe choise for you. Perhaps we would look for a smaller, more personal hotel the next time, but this is our preference and not the hotel's "fault" ;)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,967 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,489 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,324 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,887 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $126 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing