We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“amazing stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“amazing stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Was here 2 nights in February with Carvan tour! loved the property! loved the service at the desk, loved the pools! loved the view out my patio window of the volcano! loved the landscaping, the hotel is spread out on many acres, so you get excercise walking to the pools, restaurant, front desk, if you are not comfortable walking, they will come pick you up for free in a van. I found the food to be good, clean, with a nice view, wait staff, all over costa rica struggle with service, it wasn't horrible, but it lacks compared to us standards, The rooms were large with nice large bathrooms, I was able to get a hot shower ( not always in some places in costa rica) clean room, a little fridge with ice cubes even! loved that, free computers and internet in the lobby, so nice for me to be able to connect as I didn't have phone service down there, nor did I want to haul my laptop around. ended up taking a taxi from town and shared the taxi, it was $10, reasonable, lots of nice shopping, little eateries in town with view of volcano. I loved this property! upon departure, I even tipped the young man at the front desk. Room maid did some cute thing with the bath towel and bed cover :) yes, she got a tip as well. Highly recommend this hotel. Wish the cool pool didn't close at 6, the heated pool was open till 10

Room Tip: I think they are all nice, no water view here, mountain views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    996
    449
    88
    20
    10
See reviews for
480
681
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

From the friendly greeting we received upon arrival, we were impressed with this property. The grounds are meticulously maintained with lovely foliage and flowers throughout. Most accomodations here including ours consisted of only a two unit dwelling with perfect view of the volcano. The buffet breakfast in the lovely open air dining hall was delicious and also overlooked the volcano. The rooms were spotlessly clean. Sonya from the housekeeping staff should be commended. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 240 and 241 and both had perfect views of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gregory0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel was, don't let the driveway fool you, this is a top notch hotel with a very good restaurant and spectacular views. My only regret is that we didn't stay here longer. We booked some nights out on the Pacific coast, but with the pool and hot springs, I wish we had just stayed here instead. This was the best stay we had in Costa Rica, and there is so much to do in the Arenal area that I would recommend three days here at a minimum.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Arenal Manoa is a decent property, with pleasant rooms and adequate food. If you are easily impressed, you will love this place! Our room did not include a chair (there were two outside) nor an alarm clock (they managed to forget our wake-up call, and all they said was "we screwed up" - not really very helpful IMHO.) meals are acceptable, but hardly memorable. other than one or two waitstaff, we felt that service was grudging: we don't believe we should have to flag down a waiter to ask for a refill of our water, or a second golf-ball sized dinner roll, and the food was very ordinary. several dishes were so over-salted that they had to be sent back - and should have never been served in the first place.
once again, if you are easily impressed, go for the $20 dinner buffet, but otherwise we recommend ordering from the menu. we understand that this is the only hotel in the area which charges $20 per person for a shuttle ride to the nearby town; we suggest you look into this for yourselves.

you share a two-unit building with another traveler; walls are paper-thin.

Room Tip: rooms are probably fairly consistent. there are two pools (hot and cold) and one restaurant; the pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruce h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We are just finishing up our stay here, and I figured I'd use the free wifi to write a review. This is. Very peaceful sprawled out resort very reasonably priced. Lovely property, friendly staff. We stayed in room 205 which was great! Our room overlooked the volcano uninstructed with a nice private little patio. Other similar rooms are 203-210. Next best would be 220-235. The 100s have lower views and some rooms are less private with the patio abutting the road. The room interiors are nothing special but clean and not rundown. Ac was great too for hot days.
We brought our 11 month old baby and found the resort very accommodating (also seemed very wheelchair accessible). 2 great pools, which we often had all to ourselves! Very quiet here this time of year (early feb). Close enough to la fortuna and the volcano although not walking distance.

The food was ok. Not amazing. The presentation is much better than the taste. I'd go elsewhere... Like don ralfinos

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boynehausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a really great place to go in La Fortuna, I use to go every year and I definitively would like to visit this hotel again in the future.

The rooms are fabulous and built in a way that we do not hear noise from the other rooms. The food was nice and the staff was very friendly and assisted my boyfriend (now husband) with the proposal which I never expected!

The tours were good and the view of the volcano was amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivi0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
325 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a great hotel with the rooms consisting of two rooms in each building in extensive grounds so that you are well away from other sounds. The pool is great with views of the volcano which can also be seen from the room. A huge shower room is there with a mini-garden in it! Everything is very clean in the room and the grounds. There is a shuttle servic between rooms, the pool, restaurant and reception, but this is not really a necessity as they are all only a short walk apart.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iceman123EastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,048 reviews
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,383 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,699 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,879 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing