We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay here! Great restaurant and staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved our stay here! Great restaurant and staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We traveled as 2 couples and spent 3 nights at the Manoa. The people were so gracious in every section - the front desk for booking activities and general questions, the restaurant staff, thank you Henry! We partook in a doubles massage and it was great. The groundsmen were out trimming all the lucious greenery one day and went out of their way to show us different things, bring us fruit from a tree, and they even brought us a little green lizard! Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuZQColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The rooms were exceptionally clean and large with superb views of the volcano, the bathrooms large, with a huge open shower with a palm in the room..We had rooms 218 and 219 that also had the open glass windows obstructed from the street by gorgeous vegetation so you could sit on your patio or wake with superb views
The ENTIRE front office staff was incredibly friendly and helpful at all times, especially Juan Miguel, who called from home to help arrange an excursion when he was unble to reach them the prior day
The buffet was centrally located, the food was exceptional, omelets, french toast and/or pancakes to order, fresh fruit and juices--a varietry every morning
The grounds were beautiful and well kept and easy to walk around. The hot spring pool was warm and the bar very convenient
An excellent place to relax and enjoy the beautiful country and the friendliness of the Costa Rican people

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This hotel is a very nice resort. We stayed there for 3 nights and truly enjoyed it. They have 2 pools, one which is so cold, forget it--- and another which is filled with spring water and is very warm and nice. Other than this, don't expect anything else to do on the resort.
Breakfast is very nice, it is a buffet and they'll make you a fresh omelet, pancakes or French toast. The only thing about this resort is that in order to leave it and go to town (La Fortuna) it'll cost you $12 each way.
The staff at the reception is really great. One evening, as my son got burned by the sun we were looking for an aloe plant or some lotion. One of the lady at the reception told us that the hotel had nothing but she would bring her lotion from home the next morning for us to have it before we went on our day trip. And she did bring it. Now that's service:)

Room Tip: If you ask for a room around the 200s, you will likely see more monkeys in front of your room, as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IsaCov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

They should have called themselves resort, not just hotel.
The rooms are large, we had the palm in the bathroom, the real one. Can you imagine the size of the bathroom?

We had very good view of the volcano from our patio.

The grounds are gorgeous - gardens, river, pond, little bridges.
Two pools, one - cold, one - from the hot springs. It was really nice after the long day of hiking.
The service is more than perfect. They really want to make your stay comfortable,
The people at the front desk were asking all our questions, helping us with organizing any tours we wanted to take.

If you stay there, ask for their special deal with Tabacon hot springs. You get two evenings + dinner for the price of one. And it's worth it.

The best hotel we stayed during our whole trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kl_Katrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this resort for 2 nights as part of our Costa Rica Caravan tour. The scenery is beautiful and our room looked right out at the Arenal Volcano - unfortunately the volcano was behind the clouds for the whole time we were there. The resort is very spread out so it was a bit of a walk up to the lobby/office/reception area (they had minivans on call to take you wherever you liked so this resort is fine for mobility challenged people). However we were very close to the main open air buffet restaurant and lounge. Service and food selection were very good in the buffet. Best yogurt ever.

I believe each building had only two rooms. We could hear the other travellers speaking in their room quite clearly so the sound travelled between rooms. Once we turned on our air conditioner, the sounds were then muted. The room was spacious with 2 queen beds and a VERY large beautiful bathroom. The bathroom had a large plant growing up in the middle - very tropical. Large walk-in shower. Nice private area outside to sit and relax.

We really enjoyed this resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calgary-visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

What a lovely hotel. The little cabanas each have their own porches with comfortable chairs with which to enjoy the stars and the inimitable view of the volcano. Each and every staff member was warm and accommodating and responded to our every whim - and acted as if they were not whims! The breakfast buffet was expansive and offered made to order eggs and french toast and waffles. The restaurant is romantic and offers a wide variety of menu options - some more successful than others. The cerviche is to die for! We had massages which made one of my friends feel as if she had an out of body experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theempressrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We just returned from an 8 day trip to Costa Rica and enjoyed our three nights at Hotel Arenal Manoa very much. The scenery is lovely and the clouds lifted from the Volcano several times while we were there. The view from our private patio and from the outdoor restaurant is straight on toward the volcano. Service was extremely attentive with vans at our call if we felt too lazy to walk the short distance to the Reception Area. I recommend the rooms in the 200's rather than the 100's for a better view and more peaceful experience. We stayed in Room 204 and it was a lovely experience. Yes, it is hot and the mosquitoes can eat you alive but this is the tropics and we would go again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gettysburggal35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 985 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,751 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#8 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,021 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,643 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#4 of 68 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa

Address: Head northwest on Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing