We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Amazing resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this resort for 2 nights as part of our Costa Rica Caravan tour. The scenery is beautiful and our room looked right out at the Arenal Volcano - unfortunately the volcano was behind the clouds for the whole time we were there. The resort is very spread out so it was a bit of a walk up to the lobby/office/reception area (they had minivans on call to take you wherever you liked so this resort is fine for mobility challenged people). However we were very close to the main open air buffet restaurant and lounge. Service and food selection were very good in the buffet. Best yogurt ever.

I believe each building had only two rooms. We could hear the other travellers speaking in their room quite clearly so the sound travelled between rooms. Once we turned on our air conditioner, the sounds were then muted. The room was spacious with 2 queen beds and a VERY large beautiful bathroom. The bathroom had a large plant growing up in the middle - very tropical. Large walk-in shower. Nice private area outside to sit and relax.

We really enjoyed this resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calgary-visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    457
    91
    20
    10
See reviews for
487
702
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

What a lovely hotel. The little cabanas each have their own porches with comfortable chairs with which to enjoy the stars and the inimitable view of the volcano. Each and every staff member was warm and accommodating and responded to our every whim - and acted as if they were not whims! The breakfast buffet was expansive and offered made to order eggs and french toast and waffles. The restaurant is romantic and offers a wide variety of menu options - some more successful than others. The cerviche is to die for! We had massages which made one of my friends feel as if she had an out of body experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theempressrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We just returned from an 8 day trip to Costa Rica and enjoyed our three nights at Hotel Arenal Manoa very much. The scenery is lovely and the clouds lifted from the Volcano several times while we were there. The view from our private patio and from the outdoor restaurant is straight on toward the volcano. Service was extremely attentive with vans at our call if we felt too lazy to walk the short distance to the Reception Area. I recommend the rooms in the 200's rather than the 100's for a better view and more peaceful experience. We stayed in Room 204 and it was a lovely experience. Yes, it is hot and the mosquitoes can eat you alive but this is the tropics and we would go again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gettysburggal35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

newer 5yr old property with accomdting staff; larger rooms with adequate A/C; and good beds. Very nice view of the volcano when you could see it - the clouds obscured it at night. Humidity is a nice word if you like a tropical rain forest. This is a very nice p[oeperty with helpful and prompt staff. Would return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert3360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Great place to rest, the view to the Volcano is spectacular. The rooms are quite comfortable, and the gardens so nice.
The hot springs are so relaxing, sitting there enjoying a pina colada at 8 pm! That´s life!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

A simply perfect place to stay and experience! All of the staff was the most welcoming and friendly I have ever experienced. From welcome drinks at check-in to handshakes and hugs upon departure, each employee was genuinely warm, helpful, considerate, caring and strived to make my stay the ultimate best. I stayed for three nights in late November and frankly had the best room and view on the property. It was quiet and private and the room was extremely clean and well cared for each day. The huge sliding glass doors and private patio offered a perfect place to take in the breath taking views of the volcano. Breakfast, which was included, was wonderful with a perfect view of the volcano and open air seating making you feel a part of nature. Make sure you book a spa treatment as it is the most relaxing and serene area on the property. The property shuttle was always only a phone call away with no wait time and nice drivers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the restaurant and spa, this way you can walk to both and you will not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPhotoBug_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
348 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We arrived when it was dark so we didnt know what to expect really?! When we woke up we saw an amazing view of Volcan Arenal from our rooms huge window!! The grounds are gorgeous, the pool area too and the hot pool with the natural spring water was super especially with the swim up bar and Eddy the night bartender! The rooms are like individual cabins, large sized with a patio area to enjoy the beautiful outdoors, the bathroom is very neat with a separate shower area with skylight! Wi Fi worked great! Breakfast there was good fair amount to choose from.We did eat dinner at the restaraunt La Saca also tastey! The staff through out our stay was kind and helpful! Close to get to the Arenal Volcano Park as well.

Room Tip: 230 gorgeous view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing