We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hotel Manoa - La Fortuna Costa Rica” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hotel Manoa - La Fortuna Costa Rica”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Hotel Manoa is a strikingly beautiful place with little bungalows and duplex type bungalows built into a hillside in the jungle. It is a huge property (really huge) and beautifully landscaped. Our view was spectacular. The fact that the property is so large is kind of a problem unless you are in good shape. Being older, I had to call for a shuttle to take me to the restaurant and to the front desk. The free breakfast was outstanding with loads of delicious fresh fruit, pastries and omelets. The restaurant at night was over priced and not nearly as good as at breakfast. The hotel is probably 5 miles from the town of La Fortuna so just going to the super market or out to eat requires a taxi. One thing I did that I recommend to everyone is to order a sim card from ICE and use a world phone (unlocked) so you can call taxis, etc. The wifi at the hotel didn't work very well and was very slow.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robhankins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    457
    91
    20
    10
See reviews for
486
702
30
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a great value, gorgeous hotel in the Arenal Area (we got our booking on a special rate through Expedia). The rooms are spacious and luxurious, as are the bathrooms. Having access to the hot spring pool at night with the swim up bar and bar snacks til 10 pm was an amazing way to end every night (after exhausting days filled with hiking etc).

The people/staff are very friendly and accommodating to make you trip bookings etc.

We had a rental car which I think is imperative in this area, as things are rather spread out. The hotel is about only a 10 minute drive into town (La Fortuna), and a little further maybe 20-30 minutes to the volcano, ziplining etc. Driving around felt very safe, even at night for dinner.

We traveled to other properties in the area including Tabacon (which we did on a night/day pass to use the facilities). Tabacon was gorgeous however drinks and snacks were double the price at Arenal Manoa which made me very happy we had chose Manoa as a home base. Great place to come back to each night for $6 margaritas.

The daily breakfast buffet included in the rate was good and filling, with varied choices, including healthy options such as fruit and yogurt, as well as rice and beans, and stations to make you omelets or french toast/pancakes. We only went to the restaurant one night but the food was pretty good. I actually preferred the nachos we had at the pool side!

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a direct view of the volcano, without a road in front of us. We were in roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

What more can you ask for? We had a wonderful stay here. The road to the hotel from the main road is rocky, but our rental car was a small suv and it was fine. Our room was large, we had a small patio area with two rocking chairs and a small table, and we had a view of the volcano. The property is very safe. We had clothes and bathing suits to rinse and dry and we left them outside and it was fine. We walked over to the pools and had drinks at the bar. Very relaxing! We stayed here during our honeymoon and it was very honeymoon-esque, which it should be for the price!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripgal926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed there three nights, with a wonderful view of the volcano from our room, and the flowers were so beautiful on the grounds! Was intrigued by the container garden in the bathroom... Perhaps because was there in November, it was not very crowded.

The staff were excellent at helping us find things to do, even if it involved going off the usual path. Because we were usually out till later we ate dinner there which while pricey was also delicious, and the wait staff were very accomodating on the evening we came in after serving had stopped.

I noticed some comments on the plainess of the rooms, but given the gorgeous grounds and the pools (the jacuzzi off to the side of the big pools was totally ours alone on the one afternoon we were there), I only used the room to sleep and the beds were quite nice. I appreciated the tile floors, the room had a Mediterranean feel, rather than Hilton plush.

Room Tip: ask for a volcano view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

A great stay for relaxation. Resort is very quiet and peaceful. View of the volcano is extraordinary. The grounds are very well done and the staff is first rate. The rooms are good and the bathrooms are odd, but large and functional. A very good place to enjoy the pleasures of Arenal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestVirginiaSash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The grounds are gorgeous! The rooms are large, clean and fine though hardly luxurious, a little plain. It would help to have a chair or two to sit on in the room, as opposed to only on the room patio. The hot water pool area is nice, albeit a little smaller than expected: one mid-sized waist-neck depth pool, one whirlpool, and one ankle-depth pool, purpose of which I am unsure. The spa is meh. Though good massage technicians, airy spa rooms are a little chilly, oils were cold, and rather than hot cloths to remove facial creams, dry tissues. Also, no discussion ahead of time regarding desires, probably due to language barrier. Reception desk staff is very helpful and friendly. The pool bar and restaurant staff not as friendly. Plan your visit according to seasons because when the weather is rain, as is common, there is not a lot to do. One complementary feature that all should take advantage of, though I doubt many do, is a tour of the adjacent farm, accessed via a short hike through rain forest. Location is 6km (3.7 miles) from town of La Fortuna which is $20 taxi fare rndtrip. If you want some meal variety, you need to go to town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidwDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel is beautiful and people are extremely nice.
We met Henri and Virgilio who were our special hosts at the restaurant.
Dinner was excellent.
We also had a good time at the hot spring.
People at the reception are helpful too.
I warmly recommend this place.
MHE

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Hélène E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing