We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful grounds! Special farm tour. Rest is a little above average, not luxury.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds! Special farm tour. Rest is a little above average, not luxury.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The grounds are gorgeous! The rooms are large, clean and fine though hardly luxurious, a little plain. It would help to have a chair or two to sit on in the room, as opposed to only on the room patio. The hot water pool area is nice, albeit a little smaller than expected: one mid-sized waist-neck depth pool, one whirlpool, and one ankle-depth pool, purpose of which I am unsure. The spa is meh. Though good massage technicians, airy spa rooms are a little chilly, oils were cold, and rather than hot cloths to remove facial creams, dry tissues. Also, no discussion ahead of time regarding desires, probably due to language barrier. Reception desk staff is very helpful and friendly. The pool bar and restaurant staff not as friendly. Plan your visit according to seasons because when the weather is rain, as is common, there is not a lot to do. One complementary feature that all should take advantage of, though I doubt many do, is a tour of the adjacent farm, accessed via a short hike through rain forest. Location is 6km (3.7 miles) from town of La Fortuna which is $20 taxi fare rndtrip. If you want some meal variety, you need to go to town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidwDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    433
    87
    20
    10
See reviews for
467
659
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel is beautiful and people are extremely nice.
We met Henri and Virgilio who were our special hosts at the restaurant.
Dinner was excellent.
We also had a good time at the hot spring.
People at the reception are helpful too.
I warmly recommend this place.
MHE

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Hélène E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

On the second part of a honeymoon trip, we stayed at Hotel Manoa. It provided a good off-point to do more adventurous activities in the region, including ziplining, canyoning, etc. The pools are nice, but relatively small given the number of people who could stay at Hotel Manoa. The meals were very good, but a little expensive. The views of Arenal are great when the clouds disappear. We recommend this hotel for a more relaxing trip that can go into La Fortuna or throughout the region.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I had such an amazing time in Costa Rica and loved this hotel. We had our own little bungalow with a stunning view; breakfast was included and the hotsprings/pool were great. The staff was friendly and helpful. They have a list of guided tours that they are more than happy to arrange for you, such as whitewater rafting, ziplining, horseback riding, waterfall rappelling, etc. We would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeenMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We booked a self guided tour through gate 1 tours. They picked this hotel for us. It was much nicer than i had expected. Very nice place and such a wonderful view. The garden were awesome. lots of birds. It was just really nice. It was also nice having the refrigerator in our room. Breakfast buffet was good also with friendly staff. We were so busy sightseeing that we did not get to spend a lot of time there and wish we could have.
I would definately go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rangerdangerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Part of a great Caravan tour across Costa Rica. 2 nights in a spacious bungalow. Large property on a hill side near volcano. Beautiful facilities. Volcano only smoking, wouldn't want to be there when very active - basically on the lower slope of the volcano! Service good, food good. For older folks, the walk between buildings or pool or whatever may be difficult. if have a car, no problem. Howler monkeys in area sounded like dogs barking!

Room Tip: Get a bungalow near the facility you"ll use most; pool, restaurant, etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenC46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Average Bungalows on very large property more for tour groups. The hot springs are more like a pool and I have to question whether the water is really from any springs. Good breakfast included better rates and accomadations close by.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotty99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,963 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,655 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,876 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing