We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more do you need?”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What more do you need?”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Your own little modern house in a village that looks like it was the film location for "Lost." The friendliest and most courteous staff I have found in years! And let's talk about how true this location is to it's surroundings. You are engulfed by the rainforest, and it just feels great. Please be sure to note--this is part of the "wet" rainforest! So definitely pack a raincoat with hood as it really does actually rain (unless you want to spend $50 for a hotel logo raincoat?? I think not!). Laundry service is totally affordable, and done in one day, so no need to air out your belongings and wear damp stuff-just get it washed! The adventure tours are amazing, my favorite being the "EcoGlide." 1.4 mile zip line? Wowzas. Be still my heart. The ac in the room worked great, and they had a few American movie channels for those late nights. The restaurant on the premises is also great, breaky included!

Room Tip: you'll want a view of the volcano room--even though it's usually clouding 340 days out of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Up4seeingthisglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    511
    99
    22
    11
See reviews for
538
799
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

My family of four adults stayed at the hotel and enjoyed the peaceful and beautiful grounds and the great view of the volcano from the back porch (every room has this view). The top of the volcano is often shrouded in clouds, and this region gets quite a lot of rain. So hiking within the volcano park is a poor way to see it. Having a clear view of the volcano and the surrounding valley is therefore a great deal. The rooms were clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant food was fine but a bit overpriced. Take the free farm tour offered by the hotel, and ask to hike through a dense forest on the property during the tour. We saw toucans and monkeys during this hike. Do not take the guided volcano hike booked by the hotel: at $52/person, it was expensive and not worth the money. Our tour was cut short by the rain, and our guide was inexperienced.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyOtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2011

The hotel was everything we had hoped for and more. The room was beautiful, with a great view, the grounds are beautifully maintained, and the pool and "hot springs" (these are heated pools here, Manoa does not have a natural springs on its grounds) area are fantastic, with a wonderful swim-up bar and outstanding drinks and service.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I love LOVED this hotel. It's not really a 'hotel' per se, more like a resort. Every room is connected to ONLY one other room. You have a porch and a yard to sit out and look at the AMAZING view. You have to get a ride to you're room since they give every room so much 'yard' space but every time we called for a pick up they were there in about a minutes or less. Everyone was so friendly and the front desk knew our names and helped with everything we ever could have needed. For us, breakfast was included and it was a healthy beans, rice, plantains, eggs, sausage and so many other things. Dont let the pictures sway you from staying here (they seem dark and unwecloming) but its actually very VERY spacious, giant glass windows so you can see the volcano in its entirety as you lay in bed and a huge bathroom!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the front desk or the hot spring pool(that has a wet bar)- it makes for a very r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I ended up booking this hotel b/c of the location but I didn't think i would enjoy it very much b/c I didn't like the look of the hotel room. However after staying there, the hotel amenities and the layout of the facilities were top notch and made me completely forget about the room itself.

First, the hot springs pool at the front was convenient and always perfect for unwinding after a day full of local tours/adventures.

Second, the grounds/facilities were very nicely laid out, well kept, and the staff was friendly and attentive. Everyone was helpful and the view of the volcano from the porch was wonderful!

The beds were clean and comfortable. The only recommendation I have is that they need to change the lighting from the bright white light to a softer, warmer light.

Btw, the walls are thin. Be ready for it.

Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zhu_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Our room here was great. Spacious, with an incredible view of the Arenal Volcano. At least for our first day. The second day the volcano was hidden by clouds. But our stay here was still wonderful. The food was good, and the dining room had great views of the surrounding forest. I really enjoyed the way the hotel was organized. Rooms were scattered in pairs along a main road. It was a very peaceful and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nphipps76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in our recent visit to Costa Rica and the hotel overall was really nice. I like the staff which was really friendly and helpful, loved the decoration in the room and the uniqueness of the bathroom design (it has a real tree in there!), but there are some things they need to improve.

We had dinner in the restaurant twice and the food was great, but we all noticed that the portions were kind of small for a regular adult. I'm a small girl and I don't eat a lot, but the amount of skirt steak in my sandwich was not even 2 ounzes, that doesn't compensate paying about $20 per person. In the other hand, the breakfast is complementary and very good.

The other thing that we noticed is that they have to work on the entrance, you have to drive about half a mile away from the main road to get to the hotel entrance, but the road is not paved, which makes it really hard if you're driving a small car like the one we rented for the trip. Also the rooms are individually located, like cabins, but the lighting outdoors is a little poor at night, which might be a little dangerous because there are snakes and frogs in the are. A good thing is that they offer free transportation inside the hotel facilities (the place is huge!)

Overall is a great hotel, very clean and with a wonderful view to the volcano, the only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is because of the things I pointed out in this review

Room Tip: Choosing a room near the restaurant is convenient if you don't like walking long distances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YAMILE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,825 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,439 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing