We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property and Generally Good Stay.”
Review of Arenal Manoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property and Generally Good Stay.”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We just returned from our first ever trip to Costa Rica and Arenal Manoa was our first stop. The property is absolutely beautiful and set back off of the main road by at least 1/2 mile, so it is very quiet and secluded, which we loved. It's clearly very well maintained, and our room/villa had an AMAZING view of the volcano....literally from bed! My biggest complaint would probably be the staff at the hotel. Aside from one very nice woman at the front desk and the man driving the shuttle around the grounds, we didn't really feel that we received much personal attention. The food at the restaurant was decent. We had one dinner there which was much of a let down, but the breakfast included in the room was perfect for our needs. Overall, I would recommend the hotel to those looking for an option that's not at Tabacon prices (which is clearly the gold standard in the area).

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's across the bridge from the main lobby. Those rooms had patios with unobst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parker146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,173
    517
    99
    23
    11
See reviews for
548
809
39
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This was our best hotel throughout our Costa Rican trip. The views are magnificent and the hot springs are great when the sun sets. This is a great quite escape with a good restaurant. The rooms are set out beautifully facing the volcano Best Hotel in La Fortuna

Room Tip: No.1 next to the hot springs and best view of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LymmLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed two nights at this hotel, the room was really far from reception...a golf buggy ride...but the view of the volcano from our porch was worth the ride! The room itself wasn't special, but it was large and all the amenities were of decent quality. The grounds of the hotel sprawl over many acres and are picturesque. Breakfasts were nothing great but the restaurant just outside the hotel gate is decent and we ate there on a couple of nights. The staff were all polite and gracious and though I was disappointed by Costa Rica, La Fortuna and its volcano were quite superb. This hotel gets a thumbs up from me!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

This was a luxury hotel in so many ways. The rooms were immaculate; the service impeccable; the views astounding. We stayed here for two nights and were more than happy. The breakfast each morning was excellent. On our last day we were rushing to catch our taxi and they were so generous in packing a to go breakfast for us from the buffet. Don't bother going to Baldi or Tabacon for the hot springs. These guys have one right at the hotel and we lounged there with a wet bar. It was such a relaxing experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jewgips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Family of five stayed in 2 Junior Suite rooms. The hotel is actually individual duplexes with porches. Each positioned so there is a stunning view of the volcano out the large glass windows. The rooms are nicely decorated. The bathrooms are ridicuously large. The staff was amazing. Extremely helpful and personable. Everyone loved the restuarant. I thought it was average and pricey but it is a resort restaurant. The pool was very nice with gorgeous views. There is a hot spring there but I never made it there. My daughter enjoyed it though. If you are looking for peaceful and private this is a great place to stay. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: I don"t believe there is a room with a bad view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Arenal Manoa is a beautiful resort with an amazing view of the Arenal Volcano. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and the rooms are are quite nice as well. I enjoyed almost everything about the resort except a few things. The hot tub by the pool was not very hot and the hot springs by the reception were not very hot either. So I feel that could be improved. And as well the restaurant menu was over- priced. But the service in the restaurant was excellent and the food was quite tasty. The staff at reception were very helpful and accommodating as well

Room Tip: When booking a hotel room ask for a room with a view to the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Relaxing and peacefull enviroment to stay. Agreable and competitive customer service.
Our suggestions pay attention to details, we expect to hear more about Manoa Hotel in he near future.

Best regards,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,858 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,494 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,849 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Manoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Manoa Hotel

Property: Arenal Manoa Hotel
Address: Route 142, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arenal Manoa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Manoa Hotel is a beautiful Arenal hotel to relax and enjoy the marvelous view of Arenal volcano in Costa Rica. Surrounded by gardens, pastures and animals, our rooms have been designed so that each one offers you a panoramic view of the Arenal volcano. Our visitors can take advantage of our spacious gardens for walking and meditation as well as the opportunities to see the daily operations of a typical Costa Rican farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arenal Manoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Manoa Hotel And Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Manoa Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing