We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the night hike but do not sleep here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlife Refuge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I have to first start off by saying that the family who owns this little place are wonderfully nice. They are really trying to make this an eco friendly lodge. The grounds are great and the cause is worth while. With that said, the cabin we stayed in was so inundated with mold and mildew that we had to leave after our first night and cancel the rest of our stay there (luckily for us we had just come from arenal green down the road and they had room for us to stay the rest of our trip). The mold and mildew was so bad that we could not breath, we got no sleep and my lungs filled up with fluid from just being in the room for less than 8 hours. The walls were covered and there was absolutly no ventilation and the windows are locked shut. The fan that will blow mold onto you while you try to sleep is a bonus. We have stayed in dense rainforest before and have never experienced anything like this. Do the night walk it was wonderful. Sorry to say, unless they can get this under control, for health reasons do not stay here.

Room Tip: Stay away from the cabin on the end.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pueho126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlife Refuge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 246 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2012

A very friendly, organised and Eco-friendly resort. The cabins are discreetly distributed in the forested area and the rooms are very well kept and clean. The restaurant, a simple structure, serves good simple dinner and a breakfast where you can watch a wide variety of birds come to feeding tables. The lodge is well located to visit Arenal Volcano and the activities on offer in the area. They are well connected with links and tours to the parks and pursuits. One of the highlights of the lodge is a night walk to search for all manner of creatures! On my walk I saw glass frogs, red eyed tree frogs (virtually guaranteed as they have an area of small ponds in their grounds) and a small snake eating frogs eggs. The guide I used (Inti) was excellent and really knew what he was looking for and where to find it.

A lodge to relax, enjoy and soak up a little of Costa Rican hospitality and nature.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

My fiance and I stayed at Arenal Oasis in August of this year and enjoyed it very much! The staff was warm and welcoming. Our cabin was clean, quiet and through the large back window, we had a great view of plants, hummingbirds, and leaf cutter ants. Every morning we enjoyed breakfast while watching the colorful assortment of birds eating nearby the pavilion. At night, we sat on the front porch of the cabin and listened to the wildlife.

We took the guided night walk tour through the rainforest on the property. Our guide was very informative and helped us to locate many native plants and animals. We even got to see two red-eyed tree frogs! We also took a leisurely walk through rainforest during the day in addition to a visit to their butterfly sanctuary.

From Arenal Oasis, we were able to walk to the La Fortuna waterfall as well as the downtown area. The walk to either location is long, but doable.

Room Tip: Those looking for two beds, the cabin closest to the office was fantastic. It was isolated from all...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We spent 3 nights here in September 2011 and it definitely wasn't enough! We absolutely adored this hotel, the owners, and all the staff. The birdwatching was fantastic and we loved eating breakfast and dinner al fresco in the covered restaurant. Breakfast with the birds is great, watching the chachalacas, tanagers, euphonias, and honeycreepers coming in for the fruit that is put out. They even have a well-worn bird book sitting out at the restaurant so you can look up what you see. Taking a nice quiet walk around the trail on the property led to many more bird sightings, as well as bats and frogs. The night frog walk (its really in the early evening) is great - Inti was a spectacular guide, very fun and knowledgable and speaks excellent English. Andres (son of owner Rosa [who is also a delight]) helped us spot toucans high up in the trees by the reception area, as well as various other birds. Everyone here is so nice, so down-to-earth, and so gracious - it was our favorite place to stay when coupled with the great birdwatching and the frog tour. The hosts also will help set you up on tours that interest you (the Cano Negro river trip was excellent for wildlife viewing!) This fine little hotel comprised of individual cabins is highly recommended if you like quiet locations that are dark at night and have a mellow atmosphere. Simply the best!

Room Tip: Small cabin behind the reception area is great for birdwatching.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emerald_toucanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights in the cozy little cottages of Arenal Oasis in September 2011 and we loved every minute of it! The cottages are sparkle clean in the heart of nature and very private. There is a nice trail on the site where you can walk and enjoy nature (and a neat butterfly farm) at your own pace at any time of day/night. Breakfast is included and every morning, we were greeted by 3 terrific people working in the kitchen and serving us great food while we admired all the birds around the kitchen terrasse. You can stay put and relax on site and eat dinner ate the terrasse if you wish. Or, you can order food or take a quick cab and visit the surroundings at about 15 minutes from the lodge.

Thank you Andrez for your kindest attentions during our stay and thanks to your wonderful family!

Claire and Marc from Canada xox

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

My fiance was staying here with a friend during her visit of the Arenal volcano and she loved it. She loved the setting of the cabins, their cleanliness and the friendliness of the people running the place. We wanted to stay here when I visited but unfortunately it was full. We ended up on the same street at Cerro Chatto "Eco" Lodge, believing it would be a similar place, and were deeply disappointed by it (see my review of that).
I wish we could have stayed here and if we come back to this area we will make sure to make early reservations Arenal Oasis.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndRecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

My friend and I had a wonderful time staying here. The cabins are simple but clean and very pleasant, and the family that runs is very nice. Lots of natural beauty, not at all crowded, a good place for some quality quiet time. Or as a base for day-long jaunts into the surrounding area. The unique attraction of Arenal Oasis is the eco-sensitive series of native frog ponds they've developed, which are fun to explore by day, but also in their night-time guided tours. Beautiful, painted frogs of all colors! Close by are hot springs, the Arenal volcano, a great park with hanging bridges hiking trails, a beautiful waterfall, and swimming inside the crater of an extinct volcano. Arenal Oasis is a very good place for natural beauty, an unhurried pace, friendly people.
Here's one suggestion: for an additional place to eat, with great local food, try Hotel Flores, a 10-minute walk away back on the main road. It's a good compliment to the meals at Arenal Oasis, for some added variety.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank FRansom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,531 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,344 reviews
7.6 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#22 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,882 reviews
3.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,932 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlife Refuge

Address: PO Box 21, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 76 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $79 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlife Refuge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful place is the results of several years of conservation, allowing to a different species of animal a new home; at the beginning of the 80's was a big cattle field and now it is a paradise for Sloths, Mexican Anteater, Gray Fox, Ocelots, howler Monkeys, Toucans, Manakines, Hummingbirds, Turkeys, Tree Frogs, Glass Frogs and Poison Dart Frogs, Snakes, Lizards and much more...Accomplishing this rich natural environment, the Rojas Bonilla family created some cabins out in the woods, restaurant and one thematic trail of a several stations all along the refuge, where the visitors get a speech about natural history of the species. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlife Refuge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Oasis Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Oasis Eco Lodge & Wildlife Refuge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing