We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kokoro Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2007

We loved our stay at La Selva. The hotel is a few miles outside of La Fortuna. It is small, quite, and every cabin has an amazing view of the volcano. The staff here was outstanding, from the owner, to Jessie at the reception desk. They couldn't do enough for us from calling taxis to restaurant recommendations. The pool and hot tub are small, but lovely, and we had it to ourselves the two times we were there. Breakfast was great with cereal and yogurt to start while Jessie cooked our made to order eggs. The only negative was minimal lighting in the bathroom, and the cabins do get hot during the afternoon, despite the AC. I would highly recommend this hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SugarCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

598 - 604 of 727 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2007

This was an amazing place to stay (authentic feeling but clean and super comfy), and the Arenal area was one of my most favorite destinations. There were so many things to do, it could be your only destination in Costa Rica and you'd be happy. It was very helpful to stay at La Selva because the staff are so friendly (and English speaking) and seemed to really enjoy taking the time to suggest what to do and where to go - restaurants, tours, hiking places, whatever. I would definitely go back and stay there again.

Stayed: April 2007
4  Thank EvyDoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2007

Stayed only one night but wish we had stayed longer. Very nice cabinas and landscaping, pool, hot tub. Staff was exceptionally nice and helpful. Rooms were large with sitting area and huge bathroom, and an outside porch. One improvement could be made for lighting in the bathroom. Saw 2 bdrm cabins that would be great for families. Absolutlely great view of the volcano (but cloudy when we were there). Said they had been open only a few months so I expect it will only get better!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ammw55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2007

The hotel wasn't bad, except it's a bit far outside of town -- you have to take a taxi everywhere. And, it's the one hotel that doesn't have a restaurant, so you either have to order food to be delivered or take a car / taxi.

Biggest downside: there was a "vampiro" in our room for two nights. Now we have to have rabies shots :(

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2007

We were pleasantly surprised by this little resort. We had booked this hotel through the website [--] which I recommend. We requested a different hotel, but we were booking late and it was already full. Since La Selva had just opened several months ago, it still doesn't have the notoriety of some of the other hotels. However, I suspect this will change as this place was great. Each of the rooms are a separate cabin that is spacious with a large bathroom. Beds are very comfortable. I totally believe that there are amazing views of the volcano, but we were unable to see it due to the clouds and rain. We were there during the dry season, but in this area it still rains frequently. We still enjoyed our time in the area. Scott is the owner and is originally from California. We had already booked a canyoneering tour (rapelling down waterfalls) and found out he had started this company. He took care of all the transportation and was very helpful in recommending things to do. The staff was awesome. The female receptionist even called a hotel in Manuel Antonio to book our next night's stay for us. No complaint from us!!
On a side note, we were originally trying to book a room in the area through [--]centralamerica.com. We requested a hotel and faxed our credit card authorization form when we were told it was available. It turned out, rooms were not available. I inquired if another hotel had availability but never requested a reservation. The website's travel agent Randall Mora was assisting us and decided to book a different hotel using our credit card authorization form for the first hotel. He acknowledged that I never asked him to reserve the room and the credit card form we sent was for a different hotel but refused to refund us the money. We told him this was fraud and it needed to be fixed. He finally agreed to refund us the majority of the money in the next 48 hours but this was 3 weeks ago and we haven't seen anything yet. We used this website before and everything worked out fine, so it may just be this particular travel agent. Apparently, he is ok with using fraudulent means to make money!! My advice is to stick with arenal.net!!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Spikeadoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2007

We stayed here for 4 days and it was the best sleep I got in the whole two + weeks we were in CR. Nice Jacuzzi and pool, few people, excellent volcano view (on the right side) and super staff and owner. Cabanas are made from very neat woods, really clean, have fridges and excellent breakfasts. There was homemade breads of various types every morning, cereal choices, fruits, yogurts, coffee (with a smitch of cinnamon to make it interesting), tea, milk, juice, etc. The staff is very helpful about everything to do in the area and will book things for you also. This is a brand new place so take advantage now!

Stayed: January 2007
2  Thank fnkdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2007

My husband and I stayed at La Selva Resort during our honey moon and just loved it!
The grounds are beautiful and lush, we were so impressed with our cabin (beds were so comfortable) and the view of the volcano was amazing.
The staff knew the area really well and were so helpful when it came to offering suggestions on different things to do and restaraunts to eat at.
We liked the location since it's private and quiant - almost like having your own private oasis, but your so close to town where there's tons of restaraunts and most of the attractions are only a few minutes away.
There's no restaraunt at the resort but they do provide a little breakfast with fresh fruit and pastries, was fine for us since we wanted to try out different restaraunts in the area.
No clocks in the rooms, so bring a watch or portable alarm clock with you - we took for granted there would be one in our room and were always wondering what time it was.
We would definately recommend it and hope to go back soon.

Stayed: January 2007
3  Thank Gustopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
5.2 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
834 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,573 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,997 reviews
1.0 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#19 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kokoro Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kokoro Arenal

Address: 500m oeste de la Quebrada la Palma | 7km Northwest, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#24 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $69 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kokoro Arenal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest of the northern hills of Costa Rica, Hotel Kokoro Arenal is the perfect hideaway retreat blessed with untouched flora and fauna and a panoramic setting overlooking the majestic volcano of Arenal. At Kokoro Arenal, each of our carefully designed eco-villas offers a stay in a cozy family oriented style, with charm, and a service approach prepared in a joyful, attentive, and sustainable way. The lodging grounds also invite you to dip into the hill-top swimming pool, tropical hut with hammock, and explore our tucked away rainforest trails. With our Kokoro ‘heartfelt’ ways, we aim to revitalize your senses and share with you a vibrant experience in the Costa Rican tropics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Kokoro Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokoro Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Resort Kokoro Arenal
Hotel Kokoro Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing