We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was really peacefull”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kokoro Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose
1 review
“It was really peacefull”
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Our trip to Kokoro was really nice, the place is very pacefull, and it was amazing the volcano in front of our room...
I can´t wait until the next time....

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyfeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    206
    66
    26
    18
See reviews for
199
310
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2010

My wife and I were very impressed by Hotel Kokoro. We planned to only stay 2 days but ended up doubling our time there and we didn't want to leave. The owners were very attentive to our needs and helped make our stay truly special. Felico was incredibly helpful in locating tours to fit exactly what we were looking for and his mom should open her own restaurant--the breakfasts were that good. We stayed in a cabin with a king-sized bed (very comfortable) and deck area where we could relax and watch the birds. We heard and saw a toucan on our second day! Our cabin also had a fridge, A/C (which we didn't use), flat-screen TV, and a massive bathroom. The attention to details carried down to even the fresh towels, which each day were folded into a different animal!

The weather held out for us on two of the days and we were treated to stunning views of the volcano from our cabin and from the dining area and pool. We did not have a car but transportation was no problem: it was a short taxi ride to La Fortuna for dinner or shopping and Felico gave us a ride a couple times when he happened to be going into town. Most things are close by and tours will pick you up straight from the hotel. One day our tour left very early but the hotel was willing to shift breakfast even earlier so that we wouldn't leave with an empty stomach.

We couldn't have been happier with our stay and would recommend the hotel to anyone--singles, couples, and families would all feel relaxed here and at home.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latinamericafan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2010

I think that if I look back at my experience in Costa Rica, my boyfriend and I will agree that Kokoro Arenal was by far our most memorable experience. We arrive there late at night after a long ride from Manuel Antonio and we were greeted by the owner Felico at MIDNIGHT! He generously helped us with some food and beverages as we were pretty hungry from a long ride.

After a great nights sleep in their heavenly beds, we woke up to see the volcano right in front of us. It was absolutely amazing, and their grounds are beautiful. The common area where we had our breakfast was so nice, open and fresh. The breakfasts were made to order and the fruits were just extremely fresh. We saw countless birds early in the morning and were impressed by the hotel gardens. I was able to do an early morning yoga self session by the pool with the volcano in front of me. WOW! We also walked down to their private little jungle and it was a good morning work out, while its not a long walk, its enough to let you enjoy the grounds even more. It wasnt until the morning that we were able to love the room we were in, as it was quite spacious and the wood work was just incredible.

Felico helped us book a few tours and they turned out to be just what we needed, especially the hike up the volcano and to top it off we finished at the hot springs. Not having a car was really not an issue, as the tours we were on, the tour agencies provided the transportation. Felico even took us on a private night tour to volcano gaze, and this was an incredible experience, thanks to him we were able to see a full view of the lava flow at night.

We were there for 3 nights when we originally booked for only 2, but wished we had stayed longer. The attention that the owners provide is just spectacular. During the third day we had an early morning (5:30 am) tour and the owners provided us with breakfast sandwiches with a banana to go! We really appreciate all the time they gave us and helping us plan the tours, we really had no idea what to do. Its rare to have an owner sit down and provide you with so much information, and he even let us choose between tour companies as they all had more or less the same prices.

Just a suggestion, ask them when they will finish their hot springs swimming pools because that would just be icing on the cake. Definately going back

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fangchunexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Really nice place and great value. We had great views from our room of Arenal Volcano. The kids loved the two parrots near the reception area. Large rooms, a bit rustic but very comfortable.. Anita the host was great. Made us feel like family. would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poontang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Family owned and operated. Nice setting. Reasonably priced. Staff extremely helpful. Nice view of volcano, conditions permitting, which is never.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickeringford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountains
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

We were there on a cloudy day so we didn't get to see much of volcano. We got in late one night and didn't want to go out to find a restaurant so owner ordered take out for us that was sooooo good!!! We kept trying to find that same food the rest of our trip. Rooms were fine, woke up to birds every morning. We were in room 3 so it wasn't right next to restaurant(bad review from fellow trip advisor to have room next to restaurant :)
The owners called zip line company for use and gave us a 2 person voucher but when we got to the zip line company they did not have any availability :( Call ahead yourself and make reservations!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wannatravelworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2010

The friendly family who run this hotel take hospitality to another level.
Fabulous lodges with fantastic views over the Arenal volcano. Great breakfasts!
Above all the amazing service and help from the owners and their son Felico. Nothing was too much trouble and you really feel part of the family.
Great advise on tours and activities.
Go there now and spread the word!
Stijn and Dieter, Belgium

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StijnDieter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#23 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,260 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,300 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
808 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#27 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kokoro Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kokoro Arenal

Property: Hotel Kokoro Arenal
Address: 500m oeste de la Quebrada la Palma | 7km Northwest, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#24 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kokoro Arenal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest of the northern hills of Costa Rica, Hotel Kokoro Arenal is the perfect hideaway retreat blessed with untouched flora and fauna and a panoramic setting overlooking the majestic volcano of Arenal. At Kokoro Arenal, each of our carefully designed eco-villas offers a stay in a cozy family oriented style, with charm, and a service approach prepared in a joyful, attentive, and sustainable way. The lodging grounds also invite you to dip into the hill-top swimming pool, tropical hut with hammock, and explore our tucked away rainforest trails. With our Kokoro ‘heartfelt’ ways, we aim to revitalize your senses and share with you a vibrant experience in the Costa Rican tropics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Kokoro Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokoro Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Resort Kokoro Arenal
Hotel Kokoro Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing