We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location, great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kokoro Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2009

I really loved this place. Stayed there with my girlfriend in Feb, and can recommend to anyone. The location is beautiful, sorrounded by all this lush green, which is perfect when you lie in the nice pool or great jacuzzi. The rooms were super nice, a perfect retreat after coming back from a days adventure in the area. And the beakfast area is lovely, always offered a wonderful start into the day. all in all, i look back very fondly, and would be sad to have missed staying there

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DominikVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (725)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kokoro Arenal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 725 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2009

A beautiful lodge with charming staff, in a great location. The views of the volcano are wonderful and the hot springs nearby are not to be missed!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GegeNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

Kokoro Arenal was a wonderful boutique hotel experience in the middle of an enchanted forest.

The price was excellent for the service. The cottages were built sustainably with materials from the land and I think to the best of their ability the developers did their best to reduce the environmental impact. That said, the rooms were still clean, with really nice tiled showers. There was a perfect view of the volcano and the hot tub and pool were nice respite after a day of horseback riding and rapelling.

The breakfast was delicious and healthy (local food, so extra sustainability points there). The staff were more than willing to hook me up with some activities in the area with better deals that if I had booked them myself.

I want to go back here. And never leave. If you go, please leave some space in your suitcase for me!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slfreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

Mystical place....rain in the afternoon, the sound of nature, the amazing setting, the excellent quality of accomodation, the view of the volcano, food and beverage services, and the kindness of the staff and owners... one of the best trips of my life.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davanenflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

I went to the hotel with a group of friends and we all loved it! The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff was incredibly friendly and helped us arrange horseback riding, canopy and waterfall tours. We loved the fact that the hotel was set away from the downtown and was surrounded by beautiful gardens (very relaxing!) yet still close to get to the city with no problem. THe best part of the stay was watching the volcano erupt from the jacuzzi. This place is a great value!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msunyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

I had a wonderful stay at La Selva with a group of friends. The hotel is set back in a quiet part of town, giving a more relaxed feel. Rooms were big, clean and comfortable. Our cabin had an amazing view of the volcano. And in the evening, we enjoyed the view from a different vantage point --- the jacuzzi! The staff was very helpful and accommodating as well. Would definitely stay there again if I ever make it back to Arenal.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biglittleworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the lodge for two nights. We could see the Arenal Vocalno puffing from the lodge during day time and lava flow the first night when the sky was clear. The host lady, Anita was very generous and caring. She would take extra step to accomondate our need. It's a very pleasant and memorable stay for our first two days in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinelake4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
5.2 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#22 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
828 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#31 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,850 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#23 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kokoro Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kokoro Arenal

Address: 500m oeste de la Quebrada la Palma | 7km Northwest, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#24 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $81 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kokoro Arenal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest of the northern hills of Costa Rica, Hotel Kokoro Arenal is the perfect hideaway retreat blessed with untouched flora and fauna and a panoramic setting overlooking the majestic volcano of Arenal. At Kokoro Arenal, each of our carefully designed eco-villas offers a stay in a cozy family oriented style, with charm, and a service approach prepared in a joyful, attentive, and sustainable way. The lodging grounds also invite you to dip into the hill-top swimming pool, tropical hut with hammock, and explore our tucked away rainforest trails. With our Kokoro ‘heartfelt’ ways, we aim to revitalize your senses and share with you a vibrant experience in the Costa Rican tropics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Kokoro Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokoro Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Resort Kokoro Arenal
Hotel Kokoro Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing