We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Loved It!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kokoro Arenal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Kokoro Arenal
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We Loved It!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We rented one of the eco-cabins and really liked it. I have read numerous issues that people had with the hotel, and can't say that we experienced any of the same issues. You are out in the middle of no where, that is true. The location is a bit of a pain in the butt, however the hotel makes up for it with beautiful grounds and adorable, clean, and comfortable cabins. We didn't find ours musty at all. If you choose to stay at this hotel, know that you are communing with nature. It is likely that you will find a bug or two in your cabin. Get over it.

The staff were brilliant and helped us book our tours, provided information and were overall really lovely. The service we got was top notch.

I have seen plenty of comments about the pool. We used it and thought it was just fine. We laughed our butts off at the review that goes on and on about the pool "waterfall" that didn't work. It wasn't working while we there either but who would notice or care in such beautiful surroundings with an awesome volcano view?? We also used the hot springs every night. Not all the pools were full and the water was indeed a little murky looking (some just are - not the first time I have seen this), but they felt great. The hot spring pools are filled for 4 pm but don't attempt to get in until about 7pm - they are darn hot at 4!

Breakfast is included and we found it delicious. The only downfall of this place is that they are located so far from town so that meal planning is a bit of a pain. It would be nice if their restaurant was full service. We did take out and it was fine. In reflecting on our experience, we felt that in spite of the distance from town, we were happier to have stayed here. The town is just alright. I am happy we made the choice to stay in this beautiful location instead.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indigocat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    194
    66
    26
    15
See reviews for
190
301
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

I will start by saying that while I do appreciate the finer things in life, I am not a snob if I come across that way. This place is not what it's advertised to be, and maybe if you only sleep and eat there it's ok, but not what we were expecting AT ALL!!! The place is in need to some TLC.

We arrived late one night and were led to our casona, only to find that the latches on the windows had come off and the windows couldn't close... which would've been fine if there was a safe in the room (I had read that there had recently been some theft at Kokoro so we were concerned about our important belongings). While some may say that you shouldn't bring expensive things on vacation, when it comes to my camera and passport and cash... well.... Also, the room was in DIRE need of updating. It smells horribly of must, and then when looking aorund, I saw that the wood that was used to build it and decoration was covered in white mold. NOT OK. The shower doors fell apart and on me in the shower. NOT OK. 3 strikes in the first hour.

The next day we asked for another room and were upgraded to a cabina (at our expense), which would've been awesome if I didn't hear every move that the people in the next cabina made. It was a family with young children and I was traveling with my boyfriend. Not great, but better than before. Still, we weren't able to get a good night's sleep here because we were awoken by our neighbors.

Hot springs? No. Try a murky yellow opaque pool that is questionable to go in. The other pools were left empty. They pump it every day, but still... I would like to see my feet, or at least my hands. We went in the first night because we were so beat but upon looking at it the next day, we decided to go to Tabacon which cost us a pretty penny. Whatever made the pool yellow and murky also stained our bathing suits.

Hiking trails? Nope, try one trail that just goes alongside the main drive.

The only saving grace was breakfast every morning. It was fresh and typical tico fare: gallo pinto (rice and black beans), scrambled eggs, fresh fruit (YUM) and veggies. I'm gluten intolerant so I didn't try the pancakes but I was very happy with breakfast and there are a ton of birds that like to hand near the pavilion. Unfortunately they only serve breakfast, and don't tell you that if you order food to be delivered, you also have to pay for the cab driver to deliver it (which was like an additional $10).

Also, Natalie at the front desk was super kinda and helpful and understanding.

Room Tip: go somewhere else for this $
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSigal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

A lovely serene place efficient and great staff. Good local tours! Loved the hot springs. The gardens are excellent and beautiful a step back into the tropics! Food excellent! the cabins are comfortable if a little spartan! An oasis in its own right!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MickeyBoyWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Good base to visit the volcano, canyoning,etc,...but dont expect chilling in your room as the dampness in the area is very visible, in your room. You can smell damp everywhere, not nice.
I hear it is the same everywhere in the area, to be checked.
Service was friendly, dont get your expectations too high.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jean marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koege, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Nice and comfortable hotel, in beautyful surroundings and close to vulkan tracks. Go to the hot spa and then swimmingpool in the pool and then back again, and you Will sleep like a baby. Nice breackfast and tip top service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gitterita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

The staff at Hotel Kokoro are really nice but the place is worn out and needs some care and attention. The website is deceiving, it isn't like the impression you get from the pictures. The pool, for example, has seen better days and doesn't look like an inviting place to swim or hang out.

We weren't impressed when we had a look round on arrival and a builder was smoking on one of the paths near the hot springs (which don't open till 4pm). It didn't get much better than that.

We stayed in a 'eco-cabina superior king' which was $20 more a night than we were quoted in the reservation. The room was large and looked out on the volcano but also onto the road into the hotel. We discovered a couple of worms in the bathroom which grossed us out a bit and the bed was damp. The breakfasts were terrible - the only thing edible was cold pancakes. We were so disappointed after our first night of three that we checked out and into another hotel down the road which was luxurious - for $100 more each night it was like travelling to another stratosphere of hotel. The staff at Kokoro were understanding but only gave us a refund for one night of the three, even though we only stayed one night.

The hotel doesn't do dinner so you have to go to the reception and order take out from the menus there. It's quite far out of town so you have to get taxis everywhere, which gets expensive. We decided to hire a car from Alamo in La Fortuna town and use it to get to the airport at the end of the trip too. This was great because we had freedom to explore the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We followed the Tripadvisor's recommendation and were not disappointed. Very nice service. The place is basically a family-run operation (the owner's family has some Oriental background since kokoro means "heart" in Japanese) and the atmosphere is indeed family-like. Very nice happy hours in the open lobby. Dinners were rather slow to serve, so after the first one we preferred to eat out.

The room was very much OK. However, having to throw the used toilet tissue to a bin rather than flush it reminded me of some hotels in Greece and the Balkans and raised some eyebrows. I understand they are using septic tanks, but really?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrk011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
4.4 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#21 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
4.8 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#27 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
1.3 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kokoro Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kokoro Arenal

Property: Hotel Kokoro Arenal
Address: 500m oeste de la Quebrada la Palma | 7km Northwest, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#24 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kokoro Arenal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest of the northern hills of Costa Rica, Hotel Kokoro Arenal is the perfect hideaway retreat blessed with untouched flora and fauna and a panoramic setting overlooking the majestic volcano of Arenal. At Kokoro Arenal, each of our carefully designed eco-villas offers a stay in a cozy family oriented style, with charm, and a service approach prepared in a joyful, attentive, and sustainable way. The lodging grounds also invite you to dip into the hill-top swimming pool, tropical hut with hammock, and explore our tucked away rainforest trails. With our Kokoro ‘heartfelt’ ways, we aim to revitalize your senses and share with you a vibrant experience in the Costa Rican tropics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Kokoro Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokoro Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Resort Kokoro Arenal
Hotel Kokoro Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing